We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic food and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fantastic food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

we arranged to stay at the Queens for new year and their package including tickets to the races was ideal.

The location and look of the hotel from the outside can not be beated and you are not dissapointed on entering. I agree that in places it is a little tired but its an old property which they restore to the original decor so takes time.

we had 2 evening meals and 2 breakfasts here and none of the party could fault the quality and service. we did have minor issues but they wer dealt with si quickly and without fuss that it was to their credit.

would stay again when next in cheltenham and so handy for the January sales

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    420
    186
    87
    62
See reviews for
146
597
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

Attended a family wedding at this hotel.
The whole day was extremely good and everyone really enjoyed themselves.
We stayed overnight and had a lovely, very comfortable room. The breakfast next morning was one of the nicest we have every had. Can,t wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Stunning looking from outside, a bit worn on the inside. Stayed overnight as part of a huge group with a wedding party, trying to prebook the room was a bit chaotic, not all desk staff are knowledgeable or polite. The room was OK but bathroom needed attention to floortiles & bath panel tatty. Cobwebs on ceiling! Car parking a bit steep at £10, and it was a lethal sheet of ice on morning of departure. Breakfast good though

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed at The Queens earlier this year to do some Christmas shopping in Cheltenham. I found the hotel very comfortable, with very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. I would highly reccomend this hotel to others - I am not normally someone to write a review but I enjoyed my stay so nuch I feel the need to share my experience with others.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Just come back from a Christmas Shopping weekend in Cheltenham, I have stayed at the Queens a couple of years ago, and can I say how much it has improved, The Reception staff were helpful and friendly - even helped me park the car as the Hotel was so busy with a fayre of some sort on Saturday afternoon. Room was lovely, and clean - hard to do in an old building but adequate to our needs. Dinner was nice in the room on the 1st floor, would have prefered the conservatory but there was a party on. Can't wait to go back, great location, lovely people, and really looked after.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay, check in was quick no problems, room was located on th top floor, lifts to all floors never had to wait for one, room was average size, bed was comfy, must say we never heard any noise at all during the night very peaceful, breakfast was good. loads of choice all hot, didn't have to wait for a table, can't cpmment on the restaurant as it was full. Location of the hotel is very good, loads of quality shops and restaurants close by. must stay at this hotel again no problems.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilleydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed for one night and the service was awful. They mixed my booking , over charged me and charged me twice. I am sure the room I had was not a Classic as paid for, and the manager has totally ignored my letter of complaint to date.
Wouldnt recommend to anyone and wont be going back again.
Such a shame as it is in a prime location.
Oh nearly forgot. £10 to park your car in their car park, not mentioned anywhere on their web site or when you book, but it is on your bill!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cainyatclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. Newly refurbished in late 2015, one of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (12 GBP). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing