We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL FOOD AND LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Booked a weekend break on the package they offer,this gave us £50.00 to use in restaurant [faultless meal] and breakfast for both days eat as you like.Our room was faultless and gave a good service,Will use again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabthesaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2010

A 4* that behaves like a 2* with only it’s location going for it. The first room they gave us (in a hotel that was empty) was so small there was no space for anything other than the bed, a bed with a quilt that didn’t fit because it was half it’s size. It was just after Xmas, very cold, and the room had no heating. The staff didn’t look into the problems just changed our room to a bigger room but still the décor left a lot to be desired and certainly did not reflect a 4* hotel. Breakfast consisted of imposter Cornflakes, could they not afford Kellog’s? The cooked breakfast also left a lot to be desired. The sausages were strange tasting and the bacon was over-cooked and dry. The whole dish was tepid warm except for the hot but greasy eggs. One evening we had a meal, only because it was included in the initial price of the stay, which was not edible, The starter was ok but I couldn't eat the main meal even though I complained and they brought the same out again. The pudding was inedible with strawberries so old they were brown and tasteless (leftover from Xmas?). I ate nothing that evening, maybe just as well as one lady staying in the hotel told me she had suffered from the quality (or lack of) of the food and could not leave the hotel for a day! Such a shame and a waste, it was once a very grand hotel that served the aristocracy in it’s hay-day. I won’t be going back there and will certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NoddyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

we arranged to stay at the Queens for new year and their package including tickets to the races was ideal.

The location and look of the hotel from the outside can not be beated and you are not dissapointed on entering. I agree that in places it is a little tired but its an old property which they restore to the original decor so takes time.

we had 2 evening meals and 2 breakfasts here and none of the party could fault the quality and service. we did have minor issues but they wer dealt with si quickly and without fuss that it was to their credit.

would stay again when next in cheltenham and so handy for the January sales

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Attended a family wedding at this hotel.
The whole day was extremely good and everyone really enjoyed themselves.
We stayed overnight and had a lovely, very comfortable room. The breakfast next morning was one of the nicest we have every had. Can,t wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Stunning looking from outside, a bit worn on the inside. Stayed overnight as part of a huge group with a wedding party, trying to prebook the room was a bit chaotic, not all desk staff are knowledgeable or polite. The room was OK but bathroom needed attention to floortiles & bath panel tatty. Cobwebs on ceiling! Car parking a bit steep at £10, and it was a lethal sheet of ice on morning of departure. Breakfast good though

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed at The Queens earlier this year to do some Christmas shopping in Cheltenham. I found the hotel very comfortable, with very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. I would highly reccomend this hotel to others - I am not normally someone to write a review but I enjoyed my stay so nuch I feel the need to share my experience with others.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Just come back from a Christmas Shopping weekend in Cheltenham, I have stayed at the Queens a couple of years ago, and can I say how much it has improved, The Reception staff were helpful and friendly - even helped me park the car as the Hotel was so busy with a fayre of some sort on Saturday afternoon. Room was lovely, and clean - hard to do in an old building but adequate to our needs. Dinner was nice in the room on the 1st floor, would have prefered the conservatory but there was a party on. Can't wait to go back, great location, lovely people, and really looked after.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaiugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England (Formerly Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £96 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Centre of town, easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - MGallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing