We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhhhh, don't tell anyone..."” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Bistro

Star Bistro
Ranked #6 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: StarBistro is a joint venture between The Wiggly Worm and National Star enabling young people with disabilities to gain real life work experience. We offer a quality dining experience for our customers using the finest local and seasonal ingredients and in so doing develop a truly local and sustainable supply chain. Our food is prepared simply, tastefully and in season by The Wiggly Worm team and students from National Star College.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shhhhh, don't tell anyone..."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Much as I want to keep the place to myself, Pepper Crescent is the best cafe in cheltenham. They have just got it right, great atmosphere, peaceful and bright interior, friendly but non-intrusive staff. The menu is delicious, great cakes (even gluten free), lovely salads and hot lunches, my favourite is the antipasti. Great eco-friendly ethos too. Definately worth the visit, but don't tell too many people about it please, I'd like to still be able to get a table! ;-)

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicegould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    23
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It makes me smile just thinking of it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Although its been a while since I was there, the memories are as clear as day and by far the happiest during my 2 years stay in the UK. It's fresh, it's clean, it's happy, it's all delicious and it's my inspiration! The festive season would not have been the same without them and from the private parties/work functions to the amazing personalised cakes they produce, nothing is too much or too hard for these guys! Highly recommended if in the area and even worth a little drive just to meet the wonderful owners, their skilled staff and of course devour a few gluten free marbled brownies or very special Pepper Crescent Cake whilst sipping on a refreshing home-made rosemary lemonade!!

Visited March 2010
Helpful?
Thank Robsdovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
1 review
“A great place to meet friends and enjoy fantastic food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Pepper Cresent is a wonderful place to relax with friends whilst enjoying wonderful, fresh, homecooked food. The central location means that it is a great place to stop after a shopping trip. The staff are amazing, friendly, helpful and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CVMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic friendly service and lovely fresh food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Visited Pepper Crescent while out sale shopping following a friends recommendation and it certainly lived up to their hype. The restaurant was very busy but we were greated by a lovely girl at the door and shown to a table straight away. Despite the number of people our food arrived quickly and was nicely presented. I had the confit duck salad and have since been back to order the same for a take-away. Really lovely place well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregevans23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Hidden gem in the heart of Cheltenham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We have visited Peeper Crescent on a number of occasions tucked away behind the Royal Well Bus Station.

The atmosphere combines modern decor, fantastic food and amazing personal service from staff creating a great experience.

Well worth seeking out!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Bistro also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Star Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing