We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Real Burger

Real Burger
Ranked #163 of 439 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: American, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: All our handmade burgers are cooked to order using the best cuts of locally sourced Gloucestershire beef, which we combine with crispy salad, freshly baked bread and your choice of delicious toppings
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic burgers, beautiful, tasty and homemade. I came with my friend one Monday evening and we ordered a New Yorker and BBQ and shared half and half. The chips are great too. Had a lovely organic cider whilst waiting for our food, I think the prices are well justified and not too expensive. You pay for quality, they use butchers mince and local bacon I believe. The only downside is there can be a wait but this is fine when you get such tasty food and see it being cooked in front of you. The meal deal is good value, wouldn't go anywhere else for a burger in Cheltenham. Staff were friendly too. I will definitely go again, might make it a monthly treat!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    55
    19
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Burgers are spot on, chips OK but don't bother with delivery...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

With a name like 'Real Burger' you would expect that the Burgers need to be spot on and to be fair to this hidden gem, the burgers are mightily tasty!

The burger selection on offer should cater for most people with some interesting combinations that I am slowly working my way through. The meal deals are fairly good value and the staff are always polite. The chips are OK, first time I had them they were nice and fluffy, whilst a couple of other times I have been they have been hard and greasy - a tip - par boil the potatoes before frying and make sure the oil is hot enough!

With regards to delivery, I rang up one Friday night and they said it would take 90mins till it would be delivered...what?! I live less than 5mins away so not sure why it would take this long so I politely declined and it seemed like it was a good option after reading some of the other entries on here! It is fair to say they have bitten off a bit more than they can chew with regards to providing a decent delivery service.

Overall, the burgers are the real draw with this place - good balance of flavours and well cooked patties, which is what you would expect but they need to have a look at improving the fries and figuring out whether delivery is really working for them.

Another bonus is that they stay open quite late, which means on a drunken stumble home, it is a much better option than the standard pizza and kebab fare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Tasty and authentic homemade burgers, the best we had in Cheltenham. Plus, the homemade fries were delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrPerche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't have the home delivery!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Home delivery to 10 minutes away and the burgers were stone cold. We had to microwave them.Phoned to complain and were offered 20% off our next order - there will not be a next order! Never had a stone cold burger and such poor customer service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great early hours snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Ditch the dirty kebabs and grab one of these fab burgers. A perfect alternative after a big night out. Would always go for the biggest one though, you won't regret it!!
For drinks would recommend one of the local seven ciders.

Helpful?
Thank dearmanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Burger also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Real Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing