We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and will be back!”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it and will be back!”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for one night getaway treat. We weren't disappointed. The car was parked and luggage taken care of. The bedroom was huge with a modern bathroom- super comfy, relaxing and quiet. There are touches of luxury everywhere eg; nice milk in the fridge, luxury hot chocolate in your rooms, separate shower and toilet, binoculars in the wardrobe. The spa is great with large comfy rooms that you would expect for a first rate spa. Breakfast was tasty and lovely with a quiet, seamless service. The only slight improvment they could make is in the bistro. We had dinner in the bistro ( we'd have gone into the main dining hall but this was booked up) where the service was ok, but somehow not as effortless as the rest of the hotel. The food was amazing, however we couldn't help thinking they were slightly overwhelmed with the number of covers. Could have been a one off.
If you are after a relaxing and discreet place to relax, this will tick all the boxes. It'd be a great place in the winter with the roaring fire in the main lounge area. We spent a few hours drinking cups of tea and coffee there after our meal- lounging on the sofas surrounded by grand, comfy furniture, and wonderful paintings..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandino2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    199
    90
    40
    14
See reviews for
213
712
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

On recent trip to the UK we stayed at the Draycott in Slone Square in London. While in the Draycott I saw they had a sister property in the Cotswalds. As we have two sons living in Oxford we decided to treat the whole family to a trip to the countryside. We had high expectations knowing the standards achieved at the Draycott. We were not disappointed. Even though the hotel was running at full occupancy on the weekend we visited the service was faultless. The attention to detail was extraordinary as was their F&B service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fundionafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Beautiful hotel, lovely room and very friendly staff. However, expected to be able to get a table in the restaurant when paying these prices. Ate in Brasserie - food not great and service even worse. Had to ask for service 5 times including clearing plates, bringing menus, requesting to order etc.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPark, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Hi Paul, Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the service you received from my team and the lapse in our highly regarded reputation for service. I completely understand your frustration and I would like to ascertain how and why it occurred. In order to do this, please send me an email with further details so I can look into the matter for you. With sincerest apologies, Graham Vass, General Manager. email info@ellenboroughpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

It is a breath-taking place! The views are stunning, the rooms are beautifully designed, the food is sensational and the service, exceptional. Everybody had such a great time that we stayed another night - even the two teenage girls wanted to stay longer!

Never have I dealt with such friendly and kind people - I have recommended Ellenborough Park to all my friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

On a slightly smaller budget than some, I opted to organise just one night at Ellenborough Park rather than have two nights elsewhere. It was a good decision.

As others have said, the staff really do make this place better than most hotels. They are friendly and do seem to care about your stay, they also seem 'normal' and not over-trained... keen to help but without tripping up over themselves to fuss over you! Little details like putting bottled water and a chocolate out for turn-down, having a complementary paper organised, fresh milk in the room for coffee, and music in the bathroom all make the stay very pleasurable.

We had to move rooms in the evening because the air con stopped working and the room was too warm. We were quickly shown two other room options to choose from and helped with our bags. The air con problem was so quickly sorted that it was not an issue in the slightest.

The other thing I appreciated about the hotel was how English it was with Penhaligons products throughout and Gainsborough Silverware you felt every effort is made to get the best British produce. I liked that!

The grounds were beautiful and we were able to spend the day after check-out using the outdoor heated pool and the spa. This made all the difference to our stay.

In short I highly recommend this hotel, either blow the budget with a top of the range room for the full weekend or stick to what you can afford and make the most of your time here. You will be made most welcome!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the beautiful pool which was fine for us but specify if you require a country vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejennyren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I'd read the reviews on tripadvisor before visiting and so Ellenborough Park had a lot to live up to. I was not disappointed.

The service is the best I have ever come across in England and this alone puts many other 'luxury' hotels to shame. The staff were all polite, quietly helpful and extremely well trained. You can tell rhus us an enjoyable place to work and the staff seem to take a genuine pride in their work. The hotel is full of thoughtful touches, there's golf umbrellas and a boot and welly store if it's wet, there's free valet parking and we were able to stay and enjoy the facilities even after checking out. The copy of the 'Radio Times' in the room even had a bookmark in the correct day!

The spa is lovely, the Restraunt genuinely excellent and the surroundings beautiful. Ellensborough Park has restored my faith in the British hotel industry. I would thoroughly and unreservedly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrJPSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

What a lovely hotel, staff were very attentive, rooms were very clean and fresh, we didn't have dinner there as we went out but we experienced breakfast which was nice. My wife used the spa facility (excellent) Afternoon tea was also very nice. We returned late to the hotel and the bar staff were very accommodating. My wife wishes to visit more often and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffsfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing