We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Exceptional"”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have just spent the most amazing weekend at Ellenborough for our anniversery. This hotel has really excelled at all levels in terms of service, food and hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble and staff are just exceptional - the cream of the crop. Would not hesitate in returning, this time for a longer stay to take in the beautiful surroundings. Wonderful, really wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, a traditional four poster, with an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have visited this magical place (think Jane Austen, mr Rochester) end of Summer, it was just warm enough to enjoy their heated outdoor pool. We absolutely adored the furnishings, the amazing staff, the wonderful foods and the gorgeous rooms. Breakfast is perfectly served every morning. We can absolutely recommend to stay here at least a night or 2, it is well worth the price. Just one little thing, we stayed in a normal room which was - due to the buildingstructure I think - a bit loud. We could hear people walking and some creeking noises during the night (people walking down the wood stairs and floors). Next time I visit I would like to stay in a higher level in a suite or something which would solve this 'problem'

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisatheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We usually stay in Bath for our anniversay but due to the hotels we usually use being full we chose Ellenborough Park for a change. Our first impressions as we drove up to the front of the hotel were very good its beautiful and full of character. The service as soon as we parked was first class. They upgraded our room which was a lovely surprise and I think this would always influence my return. Our room was perfect from the petals on our bed to the amazing mattress!!! We had our best burger ever in the Brasserie for lunch and wished we had dined there in the evening as the atmosphere in the fine dining resturant was rather stuffy and very quiet though the food was outstanding. Breakfast was excellent but again was slightly ruined by the lack of atmosphere and you could here a pin drop. The spa was lovely and the treatments we had were very good, its such a shame there isn't an indoor pool as this would make the spa perfect.
Overall we would return as we had a wonderful time, the food was first class as was the service. Not a place to bring the children in my opinion. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

the place: incredibly well done - fine attention to detail
the food: damned delicious and good choices
the staff: wonderful, i miss them already
the rooms: so well turned out you don't want to get out of bed
the quandry: it's in the cotswolds so you should want to explore the area but the hotel is such a great place to be that you don't want to leave.
we would return in a heartbeat. especially the staff who were a perfect mix of professional and friendly.

Room Tip: ask politely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

On 6 November 2011 we had a small family and friends "Sunday Lunch get-together" in the Bar Restaurant of the Ellenborough Park hotel, Cheltenham, Glos. This was, for me, a fourth visit to the Restaurant and I found that the excellent quality of both service and food was being maintained. The hotel has fairly recently been beautifully restored and developed, so that eating there has become a very enjoyable and highly recommended experience. Service could possibly have been a little quicker, but this was probably acceptable as Sunday lunch is normally regarded as being a very relaxed occasion - and the restaurant was full, which is something that speaks for itself in the current difficult financial climate.

Room Tip: I am unable to comment on bedrooms as we were not staying there, but I looked generally round the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margotcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stunning location, beautiful buildings and everything you could wish for in a country house hotel. The food in the Beaufort Restaurant was exceptionally good and we enjoyed a cracking cocktail before dinner and coffee afterwards beside the roaring fire in the lounge. All in all, highly recommended and you will not be disappointed if you pay a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepy_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Booked an overnight stay at Ellenborough as an anniversary weekend away after reading a few of the excellent reviews already listed here.

The hotel is in an area we have visited before so already knew the location, the nearby Cleeve Hill is an excellent place to explore if you like walking & taking in some of the best views of the Cotswolds.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we had just about got out of the car in the car park when we were greeted by a young man who offered to drive us up the the main reception in the shuttle car (think golf buggy but bigger !)
The view of the hotel is very impressive, traditional Cotswold stone set the building off well & the grounds are immaculate
.
Arriving at reception out bags were carried in & the receptionist welcomed us to the hotel.
Within seconds our bags were taken to our room & we were given a guided tour of the hotels amenities & features, culminating in arriving at our room (Number 27)

The room was better than expected, although we were told at reception we had been upgraded it was still better than many other hotels that I have stayed at when having the top rooms.
The attention to detail in the rooms is what sets this place apart from others. As I had mentioned when booking it was an anniversary,petals had been placed on the four poster bed in the shape of a heart while other were spread around.
The TV had already been set to play music, & the heating was set just at the right level.

The rooms specifications are impressive, Wi-FI, Ipod dock LCD TV, all as standard. The room also had a well stocked mini bar, although prices are a little expensive. A safe is also in the room should you need one.
Without doubt though the star of the room is the bathroom, heated floor is a great addition, separate toilet, huge roll top bath which you could have swam in & a walk in shower which could accommodate several people if required !
The quality of the fittings throughout is the best I have come across at any hotel I have stayed at.

Dining in the Beaumont Room was a fantastic experience, the service was first class, attentive, polite, & super efficient all without feeling that they were hovering around you.
The menu had a fine selection for even the fussiest of eaters, all presented to perfection.
The wine list again had a great selection ranging from £30 to over £1000, along with the usual beers & cocktails.

While here we also managed to sample the spa, again the level of service & standard of the facilities is first rate.
The changing rooms for example we a work of art, fabulously laid out with every extra you could imagine.
The spa although small was just right for us & we were the only ones in there. The sauna & steam room was just the place to unwind then a dip in the jacuzzi to finish off. We really didn't want to leave.

This isn't the cheapest hotel you will ever stay, but if your looking to treat that special someone you can't go wrong.

My congratulations to all the staff at Ellenborough as they really have created one of the best hotel getaways possible.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robzere31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
14 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £125 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing