We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a weekend away from it all.”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“a weekend away from it all.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

arrived in cheltenham looking for the ellenborough park hotel only to discover it is not in cheltenham but in a little village nearby called prestbury. maybe a disappointment for those who think they're going to be able to walk in to the centre of town, but that's the last thing to disappoint you about a visit to this gem of a hotel. parked the car at the front door and somebody came out, took our car keys and our luggage and showed us to reception staff who booked us in to our beautiful bedroom in the main building. some of the bedrooms are in a courtyard nearby but the superlative quality of decor and furnishings will ensure you are not unhappy with your accommodation. the staff were trained to within an inch of their lives and knew how to be exceedingly attentive, and the quality of food was unbelievably high for breakfast and dinner in the brasserie or in the fine dining restaurant. the one down side might for some be the small bar area which was never busy when we were there but might be if the hotel were full. overall I can't fault this hotel and can recommend it for a wonderful weekend away from it all.

Room Tip: rooms in the old building are handy for the dining rooms and lounges and have beautiful cornicing, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitesheilagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    204
    95
    43
    15
See reviews for
219
734
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed for a few nights at the hotel in the lead up to and on the night of our wedding. Ellenborough Park is a fabulous place to hold your wedding reception.

The hotel is beautiful, and grounds (although needing a few more years to truly be at their best) are lovely. You could probably say the same for all the well known and long established Cotswold wedding venues but what sets Ellenborough Park apart is the staff and attention to detail. We were never treated as one of a number - but always as a valued guest. The staff in the hotel in general are just superb. But mention for us has to be made to Louise, Miranda and Gillian who looked after us and all our guests wonderfully. There was nothing on the day that could be faulted and everything (food/tables/rooms) was beautifully presented by the hotel.

For those who live in the area I would recommend their Sunday lunch – we took our parents up on various weekends to show them around the hotel/try the food. The food was always delicious. The waiters in the main restaurant were very attentive and are very good at remembering people - Jonathan served us on a number of Sunday lunches/our menu tasting and he was knowledgeable not only on the food/wines (as would be expected) but on the renovations of the hotel to its current form, and other events being held at the hotel.

My regret on the day after my wedding was that we hadn't booked to stay another night… as the hotel and rooms are just divine. This is the perfect place for an anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely I liked the rooms in the main hotel as they have the features that are expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Let me begin by saying that I am a business traveler and stay at 4 and 5 star hotels around the world for half the year from the States to the Maldives and most places in between.
I booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary as I was interested to see the extensive refurbishment that this property has gone through in the last couple of years. We only live a couple of miles away! We booked the Beaufort Fine dining package which includes dinner for two in the fine dining restaurant and a full Cotswold breakfast the next morning.
On arrival we were met at the car by staff who carried our bags into the hotel and parked the car for us. Our things were spirited up to our room and placed/ hung I the wardrobes.
To prevent repetition, I will say now that without exception every member of staff we met were outstandingly polite, friendly and superb at their jobs. The hotel has a real and genuine "upstairs downstairs" feel to it, even down to the way the staff greet each other on passing. You get the feeling that
they too, enjoy this role play and love their work.
We upgraded to the Istabraq suite which was stunning. Every little detail had been thought of. Tea and coffee in room were of a luxury standard I.e cafetiere and real milk. The toiletries were abundant and luxurious and the bed was heavenly. Fresh fruit on arrival and on return from a walk in the grounds, a bottle of champagne.
If you want to walk, the hotel has a boot room stocked with dubarry leather wellies, hunter boots, jackets and even socks. All sizes (I am a 13!) which you can borrow. A footpath will take you across fields to the racecourse or to a lovely pub called the Royal Oak in Prestbury.
The spa was delightful although a little small but plenty of treatment rooms.
Dinner was sublime. The Sommelier (Tobias), very knowledgeable and friendly and the sous chef (Peter) came out for a nice chat with us.
When we got back to our room the bed had been turned down and sprinkled with rose petals as a concession to our anniversary but none of which I had specifically requested. Again, just really lovely touches which go down so well. Stunning nights sleep followed by a beautiful cooked breakfast. Checked out at 1200 but used the facilities until 1430, freee of charge.
Every conceivable effort has been made with this hotel to make it truly 5+ stars. The staff have been trained incredibly well but more importantly seem to have been selected on their intelligence and great personalities from a variety of countries which makes it so interesting to talk with them.
As a base to visit the Cotswolds it is superb and is ideally suited if you enjoy horse racing due to it being walk-able with no hassle of parking.
We had a truly memorable time in a lovely hotel. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nam777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for three night over the new year holiday,our stay included the New Year Eve Gala dinner.The whole experience starting with Champagne before the dinner through to the Piper at midnight then on to dancing to a swing band was the best we have experienced.
We have over the last 8 years always travelled abroad to the best hotels in Europe,this tops the lot.
The only thing that they could improve on would be to have the swimming pool indoors.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwattyHaverfordwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here on a 2 nights New year gala package, had an amazing time, staff very friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble. Our room was fab so comfortable! Had excellent food/wine, service excellent. Had fun at the New Year gala, but also found the rest of our stay very relaxing. Stayed here in October and would definately recommend and stay again. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Beautiful hotel, stayed here overnight in October. Cannot fault a thing...beautiful room, excusite restaurant and wonderful breakfast. Not cheap but very good value for money.We also had a spa treatment which was good. Had a room in the main house wtih a lot of character. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in old main house have lots of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonswLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding at the hotel, we stayed in room 41, from the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel welcome. The hotel room had everything we needed, the only comment I could make is that if you wanted to watch TV in bed for a period of time you may find this awkward due to the positioning of the TV. It was as you would expect spotless and in very good decorative order.
We had a very good nights sleep and the bed and pillows were some of the most comfortable I have slept in. Breakfast was very good. The staff here are attentive without being intrusive.
This would be lovely for a quite weekend to relax and just re-charge the batteries.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaganagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
798 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing