We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Went for a weekend to get way from it all!!. Standard of service and attention to details was excellent. Food in both restaurants was very good, and there are plenty of things to do in the area. Room was very nice. Came home unwound an relaxed. I would go back again.

Went shooting at the Ian Coley shooting school on there "have a go package" which was really good fun.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel it was cheaper than any of the tarrifs offered online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_TLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    204
    95
    43
    15
See reviews for
219
734
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was looking for a hotel to propose to my girlfriend and booked the Ellenborough Park. The staff could not do more, arranging for flowers and dressing the room for me. From the moment I parked up in the car park and was met by a vallet I felt I was the number one priority. The attention to customers is amazing and the staff all make you feel important to them. The room was great and had an incredible bathroom. Overall Fantastic.
P.S Dont forget a swim in the outdoor heated pool!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmAnt1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our first trip to the Cotswold area and we wanted luxury in a rural setting. Ellenborough Park delivered on both counts! The staff is extremely attentive. Special kudos to Sarah...I believe she is one of the managers......she made sure that we were happy with our accomdations and she was a genuine delight to deal with. Also, Jose, the sommelier, was fabulous...extremely knowledgeable and passionate about wines. Great ambiance, food and service in a manor-like setting. This is not a country bed and breakfast but, considering all that you get, is actually a good value! Loved it!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephpalermino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wonderful the most amazing hotel, staff just great they took great care of us and I would recommend it to anyone

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I booked Ellenborough Park through Mr and Mrs Smith for a birthday treat for my husband and we had a great weekend.

I couldn't believe how beautiful our room was. It was better than it looked in the photos on the website which is unusual. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in with a massive comfortable bed and huge bathroom with underfloor heating lovely standalone bath and double shower.

I thought that staff were excellent. As soon as we pulled into the car park an attendant appeared from nowhere standing at my door with an umbrella and took all of our luggage (.I felt quite sorry for him as although we were only staying for 2 nights I had managed to pack for 2 weeks as usual). Our luggage was in our room when we arrived after a painless check in.

It was a shame that the weather wasn't too nice because the grounds were beautiful and we would have like to have taken advantage of them a bit more. There is actually a boot room where you can borrow wells and rain macs for your walk which I thought was a really good idea.

The first night we took a taxi into Cheltenham and had dinner at a lovely restaurant called Monty's brasserie which we thoroughly enjoyed. Nice cocktails and lovely food.

The second night we planned to eat at Jamie's Italian restaurant but we were so tired that we decided to relax in the hotel and booked dinner in the hotel restaurant. Well- I'm so pleased that we did because the food and service there was great. We perused the menu over a fantastic cocktail in front of the fire in the lounge and placed our order before being seated. The food was really lovely and the service very good.

I would really recommend a trip here. I hope to go back one day when hopefully we have some nice weather so I can use the outside pool and enjoy the grounds.

The breakfast that was included was also very nice. A buffet of cold meats, cheese, cereals etc... plus a cooked breakfast of your choice.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My new Husband and I got married at the Ellenborough Park on 22nd June 2012, I really don't even know where to start with the praise. Throughout the entire planning stage the events team were incredible, nothing was too much trouble and they literally covered off everything, which when you are planning a wedding its great to have that piece of mind.
From the moment we arrived the day before the big day we were treated like royalty, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff are so welcoming and can't do enough for you.
The rooms are to die for, the beds are the most comfortable beds I have and probably will ever sleep in, the food is incredible and I think reasonably priced for a 5* hotel.
Our guest were quite simply blown away by the venue and are still talking about how fantastic the food, wine and service was.
We stayed an extra night and had a 3 course meal in the evening, I had the beef as my main and it was the best beef I have ever tasted!
All in all my husband and I had an faultless experience having our wedding at the Ellenborough and everything was perfect. I would without doubt say this is the best hotel experience/stay I have ever had.
Thank you to all the staff at the Ellenborough for making our wedding day the best day of our lives.
Hopefully see you all again on our 1st anniversary!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, we stayed by the gallery. It was quite and gave us a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brereton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband, 2 yr old son and dog stayed at the hotel in June 2012. We wanted a king size bed, a room that took a dog and advice on how big the cotbeds were for our son. The staff could not have been more helpful. They sent dimensions of their travel cots. it was too small so they explained that a mattress on the floor could be arranged if we were worried about him falling out of a z bed. All of this was resolved before we even arrived.
We were in room 58 in the new section. It was expansive, luxurious and extremely comfortable. A bed , bowl and poop scoop had even been supplied for our dog. A baby bath and nappy bin was also supplied. If we only rated the hotel on its' service for children and dogs it would still get a 5 star. As it turned out we couldn't fault anything. The pool was lovely and warm. Service around the pool was great. Staff were friendly and professional. The brasserie was an excellent place to dine with a 2 yr old and had a great childrens menu. The breakfast buffet was incomparable. Everyone , from the gardener to the receptionists, were faultless. This place is a real treat and we left feeling rested and spolit rotten.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms in the new block. Rooms 57 and 58 have patio doors and a place to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ggandtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
798 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,209 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing