We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea in ellenborough park”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“afternoon tea in ellenborough park”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I took my son and his girlfriend today for an afternoon tea .I had booked in advance .Guided by the reviews and living nearby we thought it will be a great choice.Well,I have to admit I am a bit disappointed.We had been asked if we want tea or coffee and we said tea thinking that they will give us the opportunity to choose from a large variety of teas and flavors .They only brought the teapot with loose tea ready made ....so my advice will be do not expect much ...sorry ellenborough park is civilized not extraordinary

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julianneBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenborough, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
We are sincerely disappointed that your experience did not live up to expectations. We have a range of teas available for you to select so we are sorry if we fell short on this occasion.
Should you wish to contact us directly we would be pleased to discuss in greater detail.
In the meantime we wish you and your family a very merry Christmas.
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
Gl52 6PU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    201
    92
    41
    15
See reviews for
216
723
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Ellenborough Park and it was fabulous. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the place has a lovely ambiance. We can highly recommend the afternoon tea which was absolutely delicious, served in the beautiful 400 year old lounge area. Very festive with the Christmas decorations and log fire. We dined in both the Brasserie and the Beaufort Restaurant, The evening meal in the restaurant finished off the perfect break. Cocktails to start with, followed by smoked salmon carved at the table, Chateaubriand, once again carved at the table and baked Alaska which I could have eaten again and again. The food was delightful and the staff made you feel very special.

Our room was beautifully laid out, tastefully designed by Nina Campbell, very traditional and comfortable. The bathroom had the biggest shower I've ever seen and the bath was huge. Masses of hot water though and the water pressure is great so no waiting around for ages.

If you want to walk around the 90 acres of grounds, the hotel provide dubarry boots and coats, if you need them. There are some lovely villages to visit, all within reasonable driving distance. Bourton on the Water was our favorite, so pretty but there are lots of others to see as well, all of them full of tea rooms and antique shops.

We can highly recommend the breakfast, lots of choice and my husband loved the Stornaway black pudding.

All in all a fabulous break. I just have to come up with an excuse to visit again, soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Wonderful service here, it feels like the staff genuinely love their jobs and want to make your stay special. Such attention to detail, such as when we left they had put mineral water bottles and mints in our car for us. We brought a dog who was also well treated with a special pen and bowls for him in the room. They ring you just before room service breakfast arrives - so thoughtful, I wish more hotels did this. A lovely place to stay; even though it's so big you get warm personal service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed two nights at ellenborough Pk while attending Cheltenham races , accommodation , food , service 5 stars , nothing in the area comes close as I've been coming to Cheltenham races for last 10 years and have tried numerous hotels ,not cheap but the best things aren't , will definitely be back can wait , 10 mins drive to racecourse , free wi if every where ,

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We are have stayed in some special places but as far as the Uk goes this has to be the best.
It was midweek and maybe a little quieter than the weekend which we loved. The whole experience was magic. Everything for our stay was superb, room, the food, (we tried both restaurant), the breakfast, but the most impressive were the staff.
We had a few problems during our visit(nothing to do with the hotel) but immediately they were there to help. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We felt like royalty.
In addition the local taxi company they use for the hotel were as courteous & helpful as everyone in the hotel.
The final touch, when we left, our car hire was delivered to the front of the hotel, luggage loaded together with a bottle of water and a tin of mints for our journry ahead.
Now we just need another excuse to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Took my mum out for a birthday lunch with brother and sister in law. Right from taking the booking the lady on the phone noted that I had stayed with them before which is a nice touch.
Pre-lunch drinks in front of the fire in the Great Hall. Orders for food taken here and a visit from the sommelier to discuss the wines available. Taken to the table when the starters were ready.
3 course lunch in the fabulous fine dining restaurant was only £30 per head which for such great food and service is very reasonable. I've paid more in pubs.
The food was exquisite. Portions just right so not left hungry or feeling you'd overdone it.
Fantastic service throughout the meal which was very attentive yet not intrusive, a fine balance to strike.
After the meal the duty manager gave us a very nice tour of the hotel including the amazing Ishtabraq suite where I have stayed before and is stunning and also Room 14 in the tower with commanding views from large picture windows on three sides of the room including a large pair of binoculars looking out over the racecourse.
I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff are superbly trained and seem to really enjoy their work with more than a touch of "Upstairs Downstairs" about the atmosphere but in a good way. They are a credit to such o beautifully restored 16th century English manor house.
Please keep it up, and, thank you.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nam777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We spent a night at Ellenborough Park to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This hotel definitely ticks all the boxes - fantastic food, beautiful surroundings, extremely comfortable rooms, lovely spa, etc. The two things that stand out the most are the attention to detail and the staff. Everything is of the highest quality and well thought out from the ammenities in the bedroom to the boot room where you can help yourselves to wellies and jackets. Every member of staff we met was friendly, professional and highly efficient. It made for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The management have done a wonderful job with this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 64 overlooking the race course. It has a lovely, big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricPDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,034 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,193 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing