We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of an annual trip”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthy of an annual trip”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Other reviews are accurate in terms of high quality of service and the quality of the hotel, spa and dining options. I was delighted by how welcome they made my boyfriend and I feel! Special thanks to the reception team who took care of our muddy boots post an exhilarating but somewhat muddy trek on a stretch of the Cotsworld Way. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripHappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    201
    92
    41
    15
See reviews for
216
721
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights just after New year . We took advantage of their 2 for 1 offer and were not disappointed . The meals in both restaurants were very good and the service attentive .
we booked 2x 55 min spa treatments and were very pleased , relaxing, and again attentive. I slept properly for the first time in weeks afterwards!
We did not use the outside pool but the jacuzzi and relaxation areas were fine . Also we shared an afternoon tea which was adequate as we having dinner that evening . We were offered a selection of teas automatically .
Both the room which we were given a free upgrade and the public areas were well appointed and comfortable . The room was spacious enough to hang out in .
My only criticism is that the porter left our car unlocked when he parked it ! After that we parked the car ourselves nearer to our room .
Even so all the staff were obliging and friendly. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again .

Room Tip: We were located by the gym across from the pool , not in the main building but it wasn't a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

If cost isn't too much of an issue and you want a romantic getaway, you'll struggle to go past Ellenborough Park. The setting is amazing and you really feel like you've been taken back in time. Our room was huge with a massive bed and an incredible bathroom with heated floor and speakers. That you couldn't really see the tv from the bed was about the only mark against this place. We also had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next day - couldn't complain about a single thing, with attentive service a particular note. The Great Hall was our favourite part of the hotel: our night cap on a massive lounge with a huge log fire burning took us back 200 years. We just wish we could have stayed for longer!

Room Tip: Try to get one in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

A stunning hotel, the perfect place for a couples weekend. Pristine and welcoming. Highly recommended. They offer amazing deals off peak, so good infact that I double checked the confirmation price once I had arrived. 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

"Simple, elegant and easy" might seem like an odd combination to describe eating experiences but that is what I think of when I think of Ellenborough Park. To explain; the food is understatedly simply and delicious - not fussy or pretentious - just delicious. The presentation throughout the building is elegant and sophisticated - which is not always easy in a building which has so much heritage and retains so much historical integrity.
And "easy" the staff make eating here so easy - they are professional, friendly and knowledgeble, nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely seem to want to help. I have wonderful memories of being pregnant and turning up at Ellenborough Park to eat - without booking. Of course they were welcoming as always, but then when I didn't fancy anything on the menu and all I wanted was a typical cream tea (I was pregnant) they just smiled and said "that's no problem of course we can sort that out for you" - now that's service. The cream tea was delicious too - of course!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I came here recently for drinks but would love to come back when there is a race meeting at the nearby Cheltenham racecourse (I hear there is a private entrance). The hotel has a wonderful setting and manages to feel like the middle of the countryside whilst being close to the racecourse, Cheltenham town centre and the local villages (such as Winchcombe). The hotel has been transformed from its previous incarnation as the De La Bere and standards have risen dramatically. A lovely place for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Following a 'wow' rating from my daughter who stayed there last year, the three of us decided to try Xmas lunch there this year. Massive stately pile, dating back to the 1500's in Southam village, just outside Cheltenham, with extensive views over Cheltenham Racecourse and the Severn Valley. Ample parking in the extensive grounds, and a smiling welcome at the door. Beautiful interiors extensively renovated and decorated.
Champagne in the brasserie and warm canapes, then escorted in the De La Bere dining room, a white pillared room, with a large glassed atrium flooding it with light. All the tables full, and friendly, unassuming and efficient service. Food was well portioned, presented and cooked. Menu include a parsnip soup starter, choice of salmon blinis or duck rillettes followed by turkey or bream, then Xmas pud or creme caramel, then coffee and mince pies. It was excellent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing