We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retirement Dinner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Retirement Dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Excellent! A fantastic place to stay,I was their for a retirement. The staff couldn't be more helpful. They provided us with a room, for a presentation, the dinner was amazing.
A wonderful location. I would highly recommend for a special occasion. We stayed for two nights. The next day we had a day at the races, where we was taken from the hotel to the course. Perfect :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 66Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    183
    85
    39
    10
See reviews for
198
675
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Very impressed could not fault my two night stay in any way, highly professional staff, brilliant food and lavishly appointed rooms, didn't go in the spa but judging by everything else you will not be disappointed. A real classy, high end hotel, pricey but one of the best hotels I have stayed in the uk. Great views of the racecourse too

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at Ellenborough Park Hotel last weekend (22nd Feb 2013) for 2 nights.
Having read other people's reviews I figured I would request a room in the old part of the hotel.
Lovely rooms, great bathroom with rolltop and cavernous shower.
Bed was a little dissappointing, huge canyon in the middle sheets very starchy.
I can´t comment on the meals, i had breakfast and cream tea. Both were pretty good. If I am going to be picky poached haddock was a little wet on the plate, and poached egg could have been cooked with a litte more attention. otherwise great, served in a beautiful space.
Very attentive friendly staff. Gym and pool looked sufficient, I was a little lazy so didnt partake.
Close to Cheltenham town and the racecourse, and great walks which can be taken immediately from the hotel. Boots kindly provided.

Room Tip: Request a room in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

What a treat for my family last weekend, afternoon tea was booked for a very special birthday and Ellenborough Park did not disappoint! As soon as we walked throught the door of this beautiful hotel the experience was superb. We ate delectable delights served with friendly, helpful efficiency, Nothing was too much trouble and the whole afternoon was relaxing and a joy. We will certainly revisit - hopefully for longer than afternoon tea!
I would happily recommend anyone to book afternoon tea at this gorgeous venue. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said about Ellenborough Park. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days after Christmas and New Year. Whilst it's not cheap it was defiantly worth every penny!!

Staff, rooms, fine dining, afternoon tea, brasserie, cocktails,wine, spa and pool were all absolutely fantastic. Would highly recommend and would defiantly go back.

Thank you Ellenborough Park for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Exceptional from start to finish, from the drive into the hotel and the porter service to the room and facilities. We were aiming for a romantic and relaxing weekend out of London after a rather hectic few months and ellenborough park delivered in every way. Our first night was a great and relaxed meal in the brasserie followed with drinks in the snug above the great hall with the waitress more than attentively popping up the stairs to ensure our wine glasses were never wanting. The next day we ventured into Cheltenham and with a recommendation from the hotel for dinner at the daffodil we had an exceptional meal, with yet again drinks to finish in the great hall. As others have said the hotel is at the more expensive end and can only comment on our room (luxury room) but having stayed in a number of more expensive hotels in the UK and around the world, I think this outstrips them all. Congratulations to all staff at the ellenborough, this is a new hotel and has already delivered an outstanding and well rehearsed performance. I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel, the spa the restaurants as all faultless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamuelljackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

A beautiful hotel in a truly picturesque location, as soon as I pulled my car into the car pack the porters were there to pick up my bags, we were taken straight to reception to check in. It was a really shame the check in girl didn't have the same enthusiasm as the porter, everything was very sterile, no smile or conversation, which was a shame.

We had dinner in the Beaufort Room, the selection of food and wine was excellent, the only trouble was the sommelier was dreadful, firstly I had to ask to order wine, then when it came it was placed on a shelf just out of reach, twice we had to help ourselves. It was a really shame as this took the shine off an excellent meal, the next day we were talking about the poor service when we should have been talking about the excellent food.

The bar/brasserie were great, good selection of snacks, beer, wine and champagne, the staff were more than happy to keep the bar open until well after midnight.

Lovely breakfast the following morning, apart from I had to ask for tea twice before it arrived.

In summary an excellent hotel with great staff, I would suggest additional customer focused training for a couple of members.

And a special thank you to Rodney Gallagher the head porter for arranging shooting lessons at Ian Coley's shooting school.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munsy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing comments about Rodney we are pleased that he was able to help you. We are sorry that we disappointed in a couple of areas. Next time you come we hope that you will find all areas to be of a consistently high quality.

Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
20.6 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing