We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding and stay”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucetershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding and stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel and wedding venue was exceptional the manager and his staff were very polite and helpfull which made this wedding and stay no 1 in our book.
I have stayed in lots of hotels through business and would rate this hotel as one of the best 5 star hotels in Europe.
We were fortunate to have sampled both fine dinning (Sunday lunch) and the bistro restaurant and again would certainly recommend you try this fantastic hotel with its spa and heated outside pool with exceptional views.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for your very positive comments regarding the team here at Ellenborough Park.
We are pleased that you enjoyed both The Beaufort Dining Room and The Brasserie as well as the Spa and our outdoor pool.
We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy all of this again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
Gl52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    197
    90
    39
    10
See reviews for
204
704
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My partner and I celebrated a birthday at ellenborough park and from the moment we arrived we felt like royalty. We received a free upgrade to the top floor tower room which was just breathtaking, panoramic views of the beautiful grounds, exceptionally clean, well decorated and with a free standing roll top bath - just perfect. The concierge and reception staff very attentive, all luggage was carried to our room, nothing was too much to ask for. We dined in the brasserie for lunch, then went to the spa for treatments in the afternoon then booked in to the fine dining restaurant in the evening. Everything was just brilliant, attention to detail, great selection of wines, the food was to die for and staff in the spa were very accommodating. Deserves every award it receives - I cannot wait to return for a second stay, we will definitely be going back. If you are thinking of booking just do it, you will not regret it! Although it was quite costly it was definitely worth every single penny, a really gorgeous romantic getaway!!

There was only one thing that was displeasing - after dinner myself and my partner went to the bar for a cocktail and both were refused service unless we produced ID - which meant my partner had to go back to the room and collect some form of ID, luckily we brought some. Quite insulting considering we were celebrating his 26th birthday and had been drinking wine and champagne all evening!!!! It was only a minor hiccup though and hasn't affected my overall opinion of ellenborough park.

Room Tip: Number 14 tower room! Fantastic views, although a little hot during the night!! Roll top bath was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback including the need to produce your ID.

We are sure you appreciate that we have a legal obligation to ensure guests purchasing alcohol are over 18. I know many of our guests would be flattered to be asked their age, but do accept my apologies for the inconvenience. We shall look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

All I can say is Ellenborough should enjoy the awards they are receiving for outstanding Customer Service and overall experience.
My husband and I stayed in May 2013 as a pre-baby getaway (we have a 2 year old also) and it didn't disappoint. The glowing reviews on Tripadvisor swung my choice, I had to see if indeed it lived up to the hype. We felt so special for the whole stay, like we were regular guests! The a la carte restaurant was superb with cheeses to blow your mind and wines to match!
We had some spa treatments which were bliss and as a heavily pregnant lady I was always well tended to; I could have got quite used to it :)
Literally nothing was too much to ask, and the staff moved heaven and earth to ensure we felt like royalty. The rooms were not only beautiful and historic but clean to the utmost degree. The rooms so well thought out and the beds to die for!
I checked out reluctantly after our weekend to enter the real world again; we will treasure this time forever and hold Ellenborough very dear as a result.
Not just a hotel; that's for sure.

Room Tip: 56 away from the house but all are equally amazing; we just enjoyed being in a little outbuilding to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VideoMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your very kind words we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
And we are pleased that you were able to have a truly relaxing stay before baby No 2 arrives.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your family to enjoy another relaxing escape.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A very impressive manor home with service to match. We stayed in the main building while our friends were put the new part of the hotel. Both rooms were beautiful and clean with nice modern bathrooms. The service is amazing here, the staff went out of their way to help us get dinner reservations and we were so thankful because the food was fantastic. We all agreed this was our favorite stop on our trip through the Cotswolds and by far our best meal!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are delighted that you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay here and that the food and service exceeded your expectations. We are also very pleased that you considered Ellenborough Park to be your favourite stop while in the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a romantic birthday weekend for my partner and I in December 2011. A late review but meaning to do this one for a while. 5 star luxury that is a delight from the greeting on arrival to the fabulous a la carte restaurant to the log fire and an excellent wine list. If you want pure elegance and luxury to a very high standard the this is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodyrugrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable and romantic weekend in December 2011. You must come again to celebrate, as since you stayed we have won the Tripadvisor no 1 luxury hotel in the UK and gained 3 AA Rosettes we would love to see you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed one night, had fantastic spa and treatment then a long and leisurely meal, the staff were excellent and very happy to accommodate what ever we asked for. The room we had in the main house was large and clean, everything we wanted was there. The bathroom was second to none, large roll top bath, wooden encased toilet and large shower, also 2 basins!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your one night's stay here. The team in the Spa will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatment, followed by a long leisurely meal.
Next time you visit we hope you can come for two nights and maybe explore Cleeve Hill or even come to one of the many Festivals that Cheltenham has throughout the year.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing