We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel excellent service”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had the most wonderful 4 nights at Ellenborough Park, the hotel gardens are beautiful, the rooms lovely, very comfortable and well appointed. The service was excellend, everyone was friendly and helpful . Our meals in the Brassiere were fantastic. We hope to return again and again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for your reviews concerning your four night stay here. We are always pleased to hear when guests particularly enjoy their experiences especiallly mentioning the service, rooms and dining.
We look forward to seeing you here again and again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

975 - 981 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We loved our stay at the Ellenborough Park Hotel. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the room was beautifully decorated in a traditional syler without seeming fussy or dated, not to mention enormous. The bathroom was also huge, and we loved the bath products provided.

We travelled with our three-month old, and in addition to a crib, they also provided a diaper pail which was a huge help. They also provided a baby bathtub which was a nice touch.

Service at the front desk was great, as it was in the brasserie.

The food at the brasserie and at breakfast was outstanding.

A few quibbles -
Despite it being so new, I was surprised that there weren't more ramps around the property, and our room was one floor up but there was no elevator (for our stroller). We ended up leaving the stroller in a little vestibule right inside the entrance, which was fine.
Service in the restaurant was good, but a little aggressive with trying to clear plates when I hadn't finished eating.
Mattress and pillows were not of the same quality as the other furnishings - not super comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for the very positive comments concerning the Hotel and grounds.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and the baby facilities which we provided.
Thank you too for highlighting your 'quibbles,' due to the age of most of the buildings that make up the Hotel and the strict guidelines within which we had to work we are unable to provide lifts in all areas of accommodation. We hope that the space at the bottom of the stairs was adequate for your stroller. We will investigate your comments regarding your dining and sleeping experiences.
We hope that these do not deter you from visiting again and look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Last week I booked for three of us to visit Ellenborough Park for an afternoon of pampering (massages and jacuzzi) and indulgence (that's scones and cream!). It was a friends' reunion, so we wanted somewhere really lovely and I had heard that Ellenborough Park is now very nice.

From my initial call to the Spa and being talked through what's available by Vicky, I knew this was a quality establishment. The day before arriving we were called to check everything was okay and that the Spa were looking forward to welcoming us (nice touch, thank you). On arrival a lovely receptionist from the main hotel escorted us to the Spa. Wow, what a gorgeous place, quiet, very swish, you feel relaxed before the treatments even start! We loved the changing rooms with the gorgeous bits and pieces in the posh lockers and all the Penhaligons products. The cleanliness of the Spa is exceptional, lots of clear glass, but no finger marks anywhere, I really did look for some, now that's impressive!

All three of us booked a 50 minute full body massage and this was awesome. Both of the Vickys who did the massages were delightful, a real credit to your establishment, thank you. They were so utterly professional, calm and I was really impressed by the way my Vicky moved around the room whilst she did the massage (does she float on air?!). To then move on to another room to sample fresh fruit and mint tea whilst wrapped in a fluffy blanket was pure decadence! We met with Michelle the Manager of the Health Spa who took the time to introduce herself and chat with us in the beautiful garden... even the weather made a huge effort for us! Thank you Michelle for popping in to see us in the Great Hall later, such a lovely gesture.

Afternoon tea in the Great Hall... Wow, wow, wow. I have been fortunate to visit Le Manoir aux Quat Saissons on a few occasions, but Ellenborough Park is up there, I'd chose Ellenborough Park if I had to decide. The scones, the sandwiches, the silver tea pots, the service, absolutely exceptional. Not intrusive, just good professional charming service, we loved it. I did leave reflecting on the fact tea tastes better from a china cup and saucer, I am putting my mugs away after our visit!

We hope to be back. I am planning to come with other friends before Christmas for the same again, we loved it and my husband is bringing me for our 20th Wedding Anniversary next April (so he says!), so we'll be back for more. I CAN'T WAIT. Thank you Ellenborough Park, you have one very beautiful hotel with staff you should be proud of. Thank you for making us so welcome, it was a very memorable day indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legaljulie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are always delighted when our guests truly love their experiences here. It is always a pleasure to hear wonderful comments about our teams.
We look forward to welcoming you here again with your friends before Christmas and then next April with your husband.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were extremely well looked after throughout our two-night stay. Attention to detail means that it's a perfect place to unwind and we felt thoroughly spoiled. The staff are incredibly helpful (we ate in the brasserie on both evenings and could not fault the service or the food) at all times. Our luxury room was quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed lounging by the pool. The only problem with our stay is that it means anywhere else will now seem disappointing in comparison!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were able to fully relax during your two-night stay here and are very pleased. you were able to unwind. Thank you too, for your positive comments regarding your food and the service you received in the Brasserie. If everywhere else seems disappointing you are always welcome to return here.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Advertised as a 5 star hotel, it isnt . Arriving on Sunday the 25 August for a one night break in a Duplex suite we encountered a surly receptonist who when we enquired about getting access to our room at 2.15pm was unwilling to ring housekeeping to see when it would be ready . The brasserie manager who was clearly concerned at the time we had been waitng and also enquired , but got the same short response. Eventually when we were shown to the room the member of staff walked past it and it was only when we said what had happened did she realise . Only one toweling robe was avaiable in the bathroom which had a low ceiliong ( we are both tall ) which made the shower awkward and one tea cup had Lipstick on it from we presume the previous occupant . Both matters were brought to the attention of management ( nicely ) at dinner , but when we got back to the room still only one robe and now only one tea cup . this should have been attended to at turn down . Dinner was excellent , but service in the dinning room was clealry under pressure .We orderd breakfast in bed for the next day , with cereal and fruit , which arrived minus any spoons to eat the same !!! Not acceptable at these rates . Room service were apologetic but doesnt anyone check ? unlikely to return as we prefer Lucknam Park in Bath a true 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sq318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry that on this occasion our service fell short of our usual high standards. We work extremely hard to ensure we provide the best possible experience for our guests and this time we did not manage to do this.
Would you please contact me personally at your convenience.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our second visit.. Initially we were in ellenborough gate room 64. This was a lovely room, great view and huge bathroom. unfortunately the bathroom fan was broken and wouldn't turn off. We spoke to reception who after sending us a porter suggested moving us.. We were given the istabraq suite it's in the house.. Wow what a room. 4 poster bed.. Enormous bathroom. we had dinner In the main dining room on Saturday.. Service wasn't great initially. We had to ask for menus and then for someone to take our order.. However the rest of the evening was excellent. Breakfast is lovely, great choice and the yogurts are the nicest I've ever had. We had a late lunch on the patio by the brasserie, again excellent standard and dinner in the brasserie. The service and the food were of a high standard. We love this hotel, I think the staff really make you feel very welcome and clearly enjoy working there. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NickyPHughenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for returning to Ellenborough Park and we are sorry that your initial room in Ellenborough Gate had a problem. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you in one of our suites and that you enjoyed the experience. Please accept our apologies for some slightly erratic service initially, however, I am pleased to note that we redeemed ourselves and that you enjoyed all subsequent meals.
We look forward to seeing you here again for your third stay soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I endorse everything that has been said positively in previous reviews and I thought it would be appropriate perhaps to give some recognition to the man behind the management of this fantastic hotel. I have never met John Hanna but his staff think highly of him and it is abundantly clear that he sets and maintains very high standards. As an introduction to a nigh on perfect English country hotel you will not do much better than Ellenborough Park.
We appreciated the handwritten notes from John in both our room and in our car on departure. It made us feel special and made our celebratory stay at the hotel memorable!
For our American readers, I would recommend that you make a stop here as part of a tour of the Cotswolds. You will not be disappointed.
I think John has set the bar with Ellenborough and I look forward to another stay there during the winter months.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old stable block with very pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. I head up a team that is committed to providing our guests with the best possible service and to ensure that each guest has a truly memorable stay here at Ellenborough Park. Each department works incredibly hard and we are very pleased when we recieve praise such as yours. So thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on me and my team we all appreciate it.
We shall look forward to welcoming you here again in the winter months.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
289 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,064 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
36 reviews
12.1 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,412 reviews
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £155 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing