We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea heaven”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“afternoon tea heaven”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My future daughter in law treated us all to afternoon tea at this stunning hotel. It's was sheer delight. The service was excellent, the food sublime and presented beautifully with just the right amount of fuss to demonstrate its 5 star status.

Obviously not the place to go if you want a quick cream tea in jeans - but for a special occasion in the Cotswolds regardless of the weather (as the tea is served in the Great Hall or on the terrace) it's the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Firstly, congratulations to your future daughter in law.
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience here and hope to see you all again to enjoy everything else we have at the Hotel.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    199
    90
    40
    14
See reviews for
213
712
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My friend and I stayed a couple of nights and had a terrific stay.
Pros:
- Spacious, clean, elegant accommodations, with fine linens and toiletries
- Outstanding cuisine
- Outstanding hiking with some of the best views in the Cotswolds. Do not miss the hiking if you stay here.
- Nice spa, don't miss this either.
- Two restaurants for choice
- Spectacular great room for tea, drinks or conversation
- Gardens, enjoyable to walk through, and the restaurants and spa use their veges, herbs and flowers.
Cons:
- Pricey. The price sets expectations high, and disappointment quickly sets in with the slightest service glitch or unwillingness to accommodate a request. Our glitches were minor, but mostly service was splendid.
- The casual dining restaurant requires advanced reservations even for guests. You will need to plan your dinners in advance, including arrival night.

The town of Cheltenham was less than I expected... there were a few restaurants and a promenade for walking about, but nothing particularly exciting. Everyone raves about it, but I did not discover the excitement.

The Cotswolds is best seen by car. While minicabs are affordable (e.g. about 10 pds to Cheltenham), once you are there, you question whether or not you want to spend 40 pounds to see a new town for the sake of it or go on a picnic. All the more reason to choose a hotel that can meet your needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your interesting pros and cons regarding your stay here. I am pleased to see that you say some very nice things about Ellenborough Park.
As the Hotel is nestled in truly beautiful surroundings the walks in the area are stunning with plenty of choice on difficulty and distance depending on how you feel.
Cheltenahm comes alive during its many festivals and if you come again try to combine with one of these, you then may enjoy the town and country contrast more.
We look forward to seeing you here again and if you would like more detailed information on the festivals please do contact me.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
322 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in the tower in a beautifully appointed and faultless room. The service throughout our stay was excellent. We took pre-dinner drinks in the Great Hall before going through to the Library for dinner. The food was excellent. Posh nosh at its best. To stay at Ellenborough Park is expensive and to be reserved for a special treat, but you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in your Tower room and that service was excellent throughout your stay. Chef is always pleased to hear good comments about the food and so thank you.
We look forward to seeing you when you next want to reserve a special treat.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gower Peninsula, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked a table for 12 for a Birthday celebration. We had a room to ourselves. Every aspects of the visit was fantastic, menu, service, wine list, atmosphere. Ahead of the visit, we were ale to make special requests to the chef who did a brilliant job on the night.

Despite the hotel being busy with a wedding, we hardly knew their was anyone else in he building.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable Birthday celebration here at Ellenborough Park and that you all enjoyed the food, wine, service and atmosphere. Chef David Kelman, is always happy to help as much as possible to ensure everyone has the best experience.
We look forward to seeing here for your next special event.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ellenborough Park for two nights in late August. The grounds are lovely and having eaten in the "fine dining" restaurant one night and the brasserie the following I can say the food is very good. Staff are exceptional and go out of their way to please, I'd go so far to say the Italian (I think!) brasserie manager was one of the best in his trade. The barmen also knows his stuff and I have to say the Espresso Martini was one of the nicest drinks I've ever had post meal (so good I had to have two!).

It's not cheap but ultimately you get what you pay for, the room was lovely (and very large) and if you want to recharge the batteries its a lovely place to stay.

The only slight negatives (and I'm being picky!) was that the room wasn't ready until 4pm which meant hanging around but the staff were (again!) excellent and both apologetic and offered refreshment whilst we waited. Also we didn't use the valet parking (never trust them!) but whilst there I witnessed one VERY near miss in a DB9 and another time when the car was actually driven into another car (which the owner saw!). Perhaps a little more care by the older chap is in order as it was the same culprit on both occasions.....

Overall a fab place hence the 5* review and would stay again.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay during August. You saw the grounds looking beautiful following this wonderful summer. We are pleased that you enjoyed dining in The Beaufort and The Brasserie and that you were particularly impressed with Antonio, The Brasserie Manager.
We have researched the incidents of the valet parking which you alluded to in your review and have dealt with these so should you want to try the valet parking on your next visit you can feel reassured that your car will be safely parked.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived at the hotel had our luggage taken from us and our car parked for us. Checked in and was given a tour of the hotel, very impressive. Taken to our room to find our luggage had been delivered to the wrong room. The room was a standard double but it was very nice for a standard, bath, separate shower, duel sinks, slippers and beautiful white robes. We had fresh fruit and tea & coffee facilities with enjoyable shortbread biscuits. Breakfast was very nice and lots of choice. Afternoon tea was very expensive, at £40 per head for an assortments of sandwiches and pastries. We booked a table for the evening meal in the brasserie, what a let down. We waited a long time for our meal to be served, although the staff did apologise for the delay, when it did arrived mine was under cooked and my husbands was cold and it wasn't cheap. Didn't have time to try the outdoor heated pool but the spa was great. Didn't try any treatments as the therapist was very off hand when I wanted to look around. The hotel, the surroundings and the breakfast were beautiful but the hotel staff were exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments, though I am concerned that you thought the Afternoon Tea to be expensive at £40 per head. We sell Afternoon Tea for £20 per person so please contact me directly if a mistake has been made. Our apologies too, for your wait in The Brasserie.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your surroundings while here and that you considered the Hotel staff to be exceptional and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we couldnt have been happier with our stay here. the property is beautiful, the service good and most importantly the rooms were fresh, clean, big and child friendly. we have 2 toddlers and the stay was as smooth as possible. will definitely be back and highly recommend it. Great food BTW.

Room Tip: the luxury rooms are great. havent seen the other types...we were in #55
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for choosing Ellenborough Park, it is good to hear that you enjoyed yout stay in your luxury room with your two toddlers and you enjoyed your food while here. We shall look forward to seeing you all here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing