We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Attended a family wedding which was held here. Nice venue in nice surroundings. Downside no lift in the main building and we struggled with the stairs being elderly. Very overpriced for Bed and Breakfast did not feel that what we were charged was justifiable would not stay again due to cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redjoy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that your stay was not as you expected. The main house dates back to the 15th century and due to planning regulations we are not allowed to have a lift in this part of the property. I hope this did not take away from your enjoyment of your family wedding.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for Ellenborough Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a wonderful 5 night stay. It was everything my wife and I had hoped for. Terrific staff, great meals, and the most comfortable room. From this location, we were able to visit all of the incredibly picturesque villages and countryside we came to see. I don't like to drive in the wrong lane and navigate the roundabouts so we hired Kevin Medcraff of K.C.M. Executive Chauffeur Service for 3 days and he shuttled us back and forth from the London airport to Ellenborough Park and our London hotel at checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your for your very favourable review. We are delighted that your stay here in the Cotswolds was so enjoyable and that everything about the Hotel pleased you.
When you come back to the UK we look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When staying at older hotels with "character" we often find that this really means "tired". This is definitely not the case with Ellenborough. The Owners took an older property (with character) and then totally gutted it and started over with the most modern facilities, rooms and bathrooms. The end result was perfect for us as we love "new" but dislike uniformity. Our luxury room had two comfortable single beds (this was my only complaint - why can't UK hotels offer two double beds, after all there was ample room) and was well furnished with good linens and pillows. We had a patio area just outside ( overlooking the outdoor pool which is heated to a comfortable level) which incorporated a table and two chairs. The bathroom was very large, modern and functional with a freestanding bath and walk in shower with excellent water pressure. We ate in the brasserie on our first evening and the food was good and plentiful. The second night we ate in the attractive main dining room and enjoyed an excellent meal with good service. Breakfast was again excellent with everything that one could wish for. I'm not sure I would have paid the normal rate for the room but the two nights for one offer we booked offered excellent value for money and we will definitely return if they repeat this offer.

Room Tip: we were advised that non luxury rooms were smaller but that amenities were the same so you can save...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments concerning your stay here.
You are correct, the owners carried out a complete refurbishment inside and out and increased the land from eleven to ninety acres. The interior design was managed by Nina Campbell which is why there is good mix of old and new and original designs. We are pleased that you enjoyed this aspect of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My future daughter in law treated us all to afternoon tea at this stunning hotel. It's was sheer delight. The service was excellent, the food sublime and presented beautifully with just the right amount of fuss to demonstrate its 5 star status.

Obviously not the place to go if you want a quick cream tea in jeans - but for a special occasion in the Cotswolds regardless of the weather (as the tea is served in the Great Hall or on the terrace) it's the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Firstly, congratulations to your future daughter in law.
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience here and hope to see you all again to enjoy everything else we have at the Hotel.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My friend and I stayed a couple of nights and had a terrific stay.
Pros:
- Spacious, clean, elegant accommodations, with fine linens and toiletries
- Outstanding cuisine
- Outstanding hiking with some of the best views in the Cotswolds. Do not miss the hiking if you stay here.
- Nice spa, don't miss this either.
- Two restaurants for choice
- Spectacular great room for tea, drinks or conversation
- Gardens, enjoyable to walk through, and the restaurants and spa use their veges, herbs and flowers.
Cons:
- Pricey. The price sets expectations high, and disappointment quickly sets in with the slightest service glitch or unwillingness to accommodate a request. Our glitches were minor, but mostly service was splendid.
- The casual dining restaurant requires advanced reservations even for guests. You will need to plan your dinners in advance, including arrival night.

The town of Cheltenham was less than I expected... there were a few restaurants and a promenade for walking about, but nothing particularly exciting. Everyone raves about it, but I did not discover the excitement.

The Cotswolds is best seen by car. While minicabs are affordable (e.g. about 10 pds to Cheltenham), once you are there, you question whether or not you want to spend 40 pounds to see a new town for the sake of it or go on a picnic. All the more reason to choose a hotel that can meet your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your interesting pros and cons regarding your stay here. I am pleased to see that you say some very nice things about Ellenborough Park.
As the Hotel is nestled in truly beautiful surroundings the walks in the area are stunning with plenty of choice on difficulty and distance depending on how you feel.
Cheltenahm comes alive during its many festivals and if you come again try to combine with one of these, you then may enjoy the town and country contrast more.
We look forward to seeing you here again and if you would like more detailed information on the festivals please do contact me.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in the tower in a beautifully appointed and faultless room. The service throughout our stay was excellent. We took pre-dinner drinks in the Great Hall before going through to the Library for dinner. The food was excellent. Posh nosh at its best. To stay at Ellenborough Park is expensive and to be reserved for a special treat, but you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in your Tower room and that service was excellent throughout your stay. Chef is always pleased to hear good comments about the food and so thank you.
We look forward to seeing you when you next want to reserve a special treat.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked a table for 12 for a Birthday celebration. We had a room to ourselves. Every aspects of the visit was fantastic, menu, service, wine list, atmosphere. Ahead of the visit, we were ale to make special requests to the chef who did a brilliant job on the night.

Despite the hotel being busy with a wedding, we hardly knew their was anyone else in he building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable Birthday celebration here at Ellenborough Park and that you all enjoyed the food, wine, service and atmosphere. Chef David Kelman, is always happy to help as much as possible to ensure everyone has the best experience.
We look forward to seeing here for your next special event.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
814 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £155 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing