We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel & Excellent Staff!”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel & Excellent Staff!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had such a wonderful three night stay at this beautiful hotel in October. Delicious breakfast, beautiful hotel and views across to the racecourse. My sister and I shared a classic room but found both the bedroom and the bathroom extremely spacious. The staff were all lovely, friendly and welcoming. I hope to return again, and soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for the review from you and your sister, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your room with its beautiful views. Thank you for your comments regarding the teams that work here we will ensure they see this review. We hope to see you again soon too!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    203
    94
    42
    15
See reviews for
218
730
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed at Ellenborough Park since re-opening in 2011 on six occasions. The last stay being July/August this year.
We had enjoyed staying at the hotel until our most recent visit. As a couple we felt the Hotel to be aiming at the more Corporate clientele.
Having eaten in the Brasserie my husband commented to the waitress that his couscous was 'too oily', the waitress returned shortly afterwards and stated the chef has said 'no one else has complained', she then walked off.
Perhaps not the correct way in which to address his comments!!
Despite being a stunning hotel we feel this is no longer one for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrainyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review we are disappointed that you found your recent stay not up to your expectations. We have a variety of guests ranging from individual business guests to leisure guests here for a weekend or longer and wedding guests and day conference guests throughout any week in the year. We are also sorry that you did not like the Cous Cous, thank you for your feedback regarding this and we are sorry that we might of appeared more off-hand than we intended to be.
Should you wish to reconsider we look forward very much to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celerate our anniversary Our room oveelooked the racecourse and the views were stupendous. Staff were extremely helpful and the food was refreshingly different. The spa treatments were excellent and my wife made full use of them during our stay.

Room Tip: 119 was a lovely room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Firstly, congratulations on your anniversary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your three nights in your room with the wonderful views. We will tell chef that you enjoyed his style of cooking and that your wife in particular, made excellent use of The Spa and the treatments.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Beautiful building, stunning grounds and superb attention to detail. The bedrooms are furnished to a high quality standard, the bathrooms are fabulous - great water pressure, lovely tiling, excellent walk in shower and a speaker for the radio (why don't all hotels do that??!).
But the icing on the cake is the staff - without exception knowledgeable, polite, charming and very helpful. People who obviously like their job.
The whole experience was a complete delight!

Room Tip: The Classic Rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJohnson139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here. We are delighted that you consider this to be one of the finest hotels you have stayed in and that you consider our teams polite, charming and helpful. You are correct in your thinking; we all love working here and as General Manager it is always good to hear that this shows through witht the level of service you recieve.
We looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here 31st Aug to 1st September and had a wonderful time. The spa facilities are great and the hospitality is exceptional. Me and my Girlfriend had a lovely dinner and the room was huge. As we booked via Mr & Mrs Smith there was a complimentary glass of bubbly waiting for us. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for saying that you would recommend us following your recent stay here, we are very pleased that you had such a good break with your girlfriend. We are also delighted that you both enjoyed the Spa, as well the hospitality and your room. We look forward to seeing you hear again to enjoy another glass of bubbly ot two.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

To celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary, our family booked a ‘lazy Sunday’ treat for us. We had a superb weekend. This is a lovely building, well furnished with well kept park land. We did not make use of the spa facilities. On arrival the staff immediately took our luggage to our room & parked the car. We had a wonderful relaxing time. The staff dealt with every request quickly. We had a most enjoyable lunch, the food & service were excellent. Ellenborough sets the standards that others should aspire to. We hope to make a return visit. Congratulations to the management & all the staff for the high standard of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review following a stay for your Lazy Sunday, we are very pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay including the service and Sunday Lunch and that you consider our management and staff to be of a very good standard; next time you visit you must try The Spa. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed an excellent one night stay and this immaculate hotel. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, service very good and the meal in the bar brasserie was just the ticket for an informal but enjoyable dining experience. Highly recommended and we will be staying again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review citing us us as one of the best country house hotels, it is very kind of you to say this. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom, the service and food and that you also enjoyed yourselves in The Brasserie.
We shall look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
794 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing