We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently stayed at Ellenborough Park for my brothers wedding. What a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and luxurious, the food outstanding. i cannot stop telling everyone about the hotel and cannot wait to go back again. Although the best part of the stay was the celebration of the wedding!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rclarke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Firstly, congratulations to your brother and his wife, we wish them a long and happy marriage. We hope we gave them the best possible start to their life together and that all guests had a good time.
We look forward to you staying here again to fully experience everything that the hotel has to offer.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in October. A break away from the kids. The hotel is pricey, however, as a special treat well worth it. The location is fantastic for the race course and walks in the Cotswolds. Its quiet and has a feeling of seclusion. They have a boot room so if you have not come prepared they can provide jacket/boots! The room was a good size and well appointed. The main hall with a log fire made was an excellent romantic room for drinks. We ate the first night in the Beaufort Dining Room. The chateaubriand was excellent. ALL the staff were more than helpful! We ran out of time to try the spa/outdoor heated pool but it looked good. We ate locally at The Royal Oak at Prestbury as recommended by the concierge. A traditional cosy pub. A good variety of food was on the menu at good prices. I would fully recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Classic room (10) in the main building, it was a good size and very quiet. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your child-free stay last month and that the escape was worth it. Next time you stay perhaps you would like to try The Brasserie and the outdoor heated pool. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The best hotel we have stayed in by far, the location is great, the grounds are fantastic and the staff will move mountains to ensure you have a good stay. The food was also excellent. I cannot praise this hotel or its customer service enough. Only niggle was the heat of the room due to one of the radiators stuck on a high setting despite the staff trying to help!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind reviews regarding your stay here.
We are delighted that everything was as enjoyable as you could have wished for. Please accept my apolgies for the heat in your room. Next time you stay the temperature should be more controlled.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

All in all, the best hotel experience I've had. The room, food, value and service was unreal. From the second we arrives up until we left on the Monday everything was perfect. The spa was small, though there was no one there when we went so it wasn't a problem. A great way to get me out of the doghouse!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lucb769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for sharing the fact that your stay is the best hotel experience you've had. We are delighted that you chose Ellenborough Park to extricate yourself from your particular doghouse.
Next time you need another excuse please think of us and even if you do not need another excuse you are most welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited Ellenborough Park in April. It was a pre birthday weekend away and my boyfriend had got an amazing deal with 2 nights for the price of 1. The hotel is beautiful.

Our room was across the way from the main hotel and we expected to get a slightly substandard room due to being on a deal, but whilst we were at the top of a steep staircase the room itself was lovely.

We really enjoyed our meal the first night in the bar, great food, great drinks. On the second night we ate in the main restaurant and the food was equally as nice but we were in a room at the far left of the restaurant and unfortunately a slightly loud and over keen or perhaps nervous guy was clearly on a first date and felt he needed to be the entertainment for everyone. This is not the hotels fault and it was all meant in good humour but if you were there celebrating a special occasion it could have dampened your evening.

There was a wedding on in the hotel on the Saturday and unfortunately they did close the bar area to residents in case it was wet and the wedding party couldn't have their reception drinks outside. This was a bit of pain for all the other guests and whilst the hotel were serving lunch in another part of the hotel a lot of guests were just milling around wishing they could just relax in the bar rather in the rest of the more formal rooms. As it turned out the bar was re-opened to all earlier than expected.

I didn't try the actual spa treatments but the spa area itself is very small. There are 4 loungers around a jacuzzi which would seat 4 comfortably, maybe 6 at a push. The sauna can only really seat 2-3 comfortably and the steam room maybe 3-5.

So if you are purely looking for a spa hotel this is perhaps not the best in terms of facilities especially if the hotel is busy.

It does have an outside pool but sadly the weather was too chilly when we went.

All in all it was a great weekend and we came home very relaxed.

I would definitely return but because of the small spa I would perhaps only pay if another deal was on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boofs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much and can only apologise for the nervous gentelman near you.
Perhaps if you can manage a mid -week break you might feel tempted to try the Spa and some treatments, it is sometimes a little quieter. The outdoor pool is heated to between 28 and 30 degrees so its very warm, maybe next time you can take the plunge. And if it's still too cold you can sit by the fire and read the papers. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a four night stay at Ellenborough Park and cannot wait to return. The property is beautiful, with the manor house dating back to 1500. The staff is outstanding. They are professional yet friendly. We booked using an American Express package which included an upgrade if available. We were given room #11 and found it huge and elegant (see photos). The hotel opened in 2011, and employed Nina Campbell for the interior design. She lived up to her stellar reputation.

We dined the first two nights in the beautiful oak panelled Beaufort Dining Room, then in the less formal Brasserie our last two nights since the Beaufort room is not open on Sunday and Monday evenings. The food and service was extremely good in both restaurants. The Brasserie was a pleasant surprise, with the food being excellent and the staff delightful.

Enough cannot be said about the quality of the staff and the attention to detail. Every member of staff appears to take great pride in the history of the property and the comfort of each guest. From the moment we arrived until we left, this was in evidence. In fact, when we were ready to leave, our luggage was packed in our car, along with two bottles of water and a tin of Ellenborough Park mints. On the Sunday of our stay, one of the staff noticed that we had a flat tire. It was raining, and we sat in the Great Hall enjoying a drink in front of the fire, while Tall Jonathan (there are two Jonathans) arranged to have the tire changed and replaced at 8 pm. Antonio heads up the Brasserie staff, where perfection is enjoyed in a comfortable setting. Seth, the bartender, has put together an amazingly well balanced and unusual selection of single malt scotches at very reasonable prices. Ginette is in charge of housekeeping and has an ever present cloth in her hand ready to wipe away marks that I defy other humans to even see. Cleanliness is maintained at highest standards throughout, second only to the wonderful attitudes of the staff.

This place is a real winner, overlooking the Cheltenham Race Course and extremely well located for visiting this part of the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Room #1 is a suite, but absolutely magnificent. We loved room #11, which is certainly large enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your very detailed review following your four night stay here. We are very pleased that you found your room 11 to be perfect for you. Your comments regarding the food during your stay are also very pleasing for our Executive Head Chef and his team. Thank you too for mentions of Antonio, Seth, Jonathan they will all be delighted to know how happy you were with their service.
We hope that when you come back to further explore The Cotswolds that you will stay at Ellenborough Park.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had such a wonderful three night stay at this beautiful hotel in October. Delicious breakfast, beautiful hotel and views across to the racecourse. My sister and I shared a classic room but found both the bedroom and the bathroom extremely spacious. The staff were all lovely, friendly and welcoming. I hope to return again, and soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for the review from you and your sister, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your room with its beautiful views. Thank you for your comments regarding the teams that work here we will ensure they see this review. We hope to see you again soon too!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £117 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing