We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellenborough Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
1,028
233
123
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,028
233
123
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbeaufort dining roomboot roomafternoon teathe fine dining restaurantmain buildingbeautiful hotelclassic roomluxury roomcheltenham race coursesconessteam room and saunaspa facilitiescountry housefive star hotelfour poster bedattention to detail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Amazing staff, amazing place, amazing food. I can't wait to come again! It was so beautiful and relaxing. Perfect as a romantic getaway. We dinned in the brasserie in the evening which was just perfect. The wines and food were delightful. We enjoyed chatting to the manager and nothing was too much trouble. There was a wedding going on but you barely noticed as they treated you like royalty and kept the wedding party contained. The attention to detail was what made it so special. I love the boot room!!!

We ate in the formal dining room for Sunday lunch and breakfast. Again, wonderful.

I spent the whole weekend eating their delicious fresh homemade treats. Afternoon tea is a must.

I have told everyone how impressed I was. I travel a lot but this is one of the best places I have been to. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank qualitycomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your romantic time here. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all your meals, and enjoyed various treats throughout your stay. Thank you for telling your friends we look forward to seeing them here too!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Make no mistake - this is a beautiful hotel, comfortable, well-equipped and serving delightful food & drink. But sadly we saw that some of the clientele behave badly, as if they are somehow superior to everyone else, arrogant & intolerant. The way they spoke to the hotel staff was despicable, behaving as if the staff were their servants. Sadly, it appears as if the staff are trained to accept and indeed expect this. It means that staff behave in a very subservient way to all guests and, whilst very polite, do not engage with the guests in more relaxed & balanced conversations. As a result, the atmosphere in the hotel is neither relaxed nor informal. I suspect that such behaviours may have been typical in a large country house several centuries ago (or in the caricature of last century that Downton Abbey appears to be). But not today, surely? Perhaps the hotel management should revisit the style and service that it is seeking to achieve and the guests that it is seeking to attract - relaxed customer service rather than rigid customer servility, perhaps?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your interesting comments regarding the service at Ellenborough Park. We are dispappointed that you consider the style of service unacceptable in this day and age.
We work very hard to ensure our guests have the very best experiences and it is always our intention to ensure they enjoy relaxed customer service. We will certainly review this.
Should you consider coming to Ellenborough Park again we will make you most welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently stayed at Ellenborough Park for my brothers wedding. What a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and luxurious, the food outstanding. i cannot stop telling everyone about the hotel and cannot wait to go back again. Although the best part of the stay was the celebration of the wedding!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rclarke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Firstly, congratulations to your brother and his wife, we wish them a long and happy marriage. We hope we gave them the best possible start to their life together and that all guests had a good time.
We look forward to you staying here again to fully experience everything that the hotel has to offer.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in October. A break away from the kids. The hotel is pricey, however, as a special treat well worth it. The location is fantastic for the race course and walks in the Cotswolds. Its quiet and has a feeling of seclusion. They have a boot room so if you have not come prepared they can provide jacket/boots! The room was a good size and well appointed. The main hall with a log fire made was an excellent romantic room for drinks. We ate the first night in the Beaufort Dining Room. The chateaubriand was excellent. ALL the staff were more than helpful! We ran out of time to try the spa/outdoor heated pool but it looked good. We ate locally at The Royal Oak at Prestbury as recommended by the concierge. A traditional cosy pub. A good variety of food was on the menu at good prices. I would fully recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Classic room (10) in the main building, it was a good size and very quiet. Excellent for a restful nights sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your child-free stay last month and that the escape was worth it. Next time you stay perhaps you would like to try The Brasserie and the outdoor heated pool. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The best hotel we have stayed in by far, the location is great, the grounds are fantastic and the staff will move mountains to ensure you have a good stay. The food was also excellent. I cannot praise this hotel or its customer service enough. Only niggle was the heat of the room due to one of the radiators stuck on a high setting despite the staff trying to help!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind reviews regarding your stay here.
We are delighted that everything was as enjoyable as you could have wished for. Please accept my apolgies for the heat in your room. Next time you stay the temperature should be more controlled.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews