We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ellenborough Park”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ellenborough Park”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

By far the best place to stay in Cheltenham- I loved every minute. It was expensive compared to other places but you certainly get what you pay for. Friendly staff, excellent food and extremely welcoming

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your review concerning your stay at Ellenborough Park. We are delighted that you considered your stay to be the best in Cheltenham and that your found our staff friendly, our food good and everyone very welcoming.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    203
    95
    42
    15
See reviews for
218
732
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Risch, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the New Year's Eve package with a two nights' stay, and it was memorable.
Our room was beautiful and huge, and so was the bathroom. The personnel was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There were very comfortable public salons, and the scones - a choice of four different flavours - were the best I had ever had in my extensive English afternoon tea experience. By far.
New Year's Eve Dinner started with a splendid Champagne reception. Dinner was served at common tables. We shared ours with three couples unbeknownst to each other. And we had a wonderful and merry time! Dancing was a highlight of its own. A singer with her band. At midnight we enjoyed fireworks an a hot toddy.
On New Year's day, we were taken to the nearby Cheltenham Racecourse. Though the weather was ghastly, we had a good time.
All in all, an extraordinary, splendid festivity break!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review regarding your stay here for New Year. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience on this special night and that despite the New Years Day weather you were able to have so much fun at the Races.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon and here's to a very Happy 2014.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I found Ellenborough Park to be a real disappointment, but lets start with the positives – it is a beautiful building from the front, the spa is very nice and the provision of walking boots (and wellies) and raincoats for guests use is a very nice and useful touch.

Now for the downside – it is extremely overpriced for what it is – we paid £375 per night for one of their “De Luxe” rooms – the bed was supposed to be a kingszie bed when in fact it was two doubles pushed together with not even a mattress protector placed on top to cover up the gap. In fairness when we asked to move to a room with a proper kingsize they did agree to - but if the hotel had been full it would have been a real detractor from the enjoyment of our stay.

The brasserie restaurant is average at best – the food was a constant disappointment and it took them three attempts to get a lunch order right for me (not exactly subtle when you see the chef come out of the kitchen to check the menu for the item you ordered, then give you something else, then attempt to re-use what he served you and merge it with the dish you did order). However – I would say the Beaufort Dining Room is a good restaurant and worth eating at.

On the face of it the service would appear good – staff try to be very friendly and helpful, but do fall short of the mark, such as; failing to tell me they had not managed to make a dinner reservation I had requested until my arrival, failing to collect laundry and left waiting for a long time for the keys to our car.

All in all – I wouldn’t stay here again, it’s four star at best and there are far nicer (and better value for money) hotels in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: If you want a kingsize bed then make sure it is a proper kingsize and not two beds pushed together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bsadb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review concerning your stay here. Naturally I am disappointed that you found some elements of your stay not to your liking. If you would like to contact us directly to go into a bit more detail regarding your stay I would be pleased to hear from you.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phian
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a special anniversary and enjoyed every second. The staff all appeared to actually enjoy working there and did everything they could to make us comfortable in the hotel, brasserie or spa. The Hotel even provides walking boots for anyone wanting more than just a stroll in the beautiful grounds.
All the fittings and fixtures are of a high quality and the cleaning is of an exceptionally good standard.
It is unfortunate that the main restaurant was closed for the two nights of our stay but the Brasserie was very good and the staff suggested a wonderful establishment in town for the actual evening of the anniversary - The Daffodil - another great choice.
For anyone going to the races at Cheltenham, Ellenborough Park would be the right place. They have a private track to the racecourse and provide transport for big events.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Ellenborough Park for your special anniversary and we are delighted that you enjoyed every second. I am very pleased that you found our teams so professional.
We are sorry that the Beaufort dining room was closed but pleased that you enjoyed your meals in the The Brasserie. Perhaps you might like to come back to experience the Beaufort in the future.
We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I visited the Ellenborough Park for the first time today and was pleased to discover that it lived up to its five-star reputation. I'd already heard loads of good things about the hotel from my friend David Keffler of Azure Chauffeur Driven Luxury Cars in Cheltenham (the only private-hire licensed Bentley and BMW X5 in Gloucestershire). The reality matched the perception. The facilities are stunning; the buildings and location similarly so. And my breakfast was delicious. Well done to the Ellenborough Team. I say go and try it for yourself – and if you want a special treat, ask David to drive you there (or while you are there)! Both are highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your praise concerning our 5 star rating, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you also enjoyed your breakfast, the faciliities and the location.
We look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for new year in this superb hotel which gave us first class service, excellent food, very comfortable bedrooms and if you are into horse racing then you can go cross country in the hotel's chauffer driven 4x4!! Even though the weather was very wet, we were made very much at home with so much to do in the hotel. This hotel is quiet expensive but if you require a relaxing few days to pamper yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIGEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your stay here over the New Year we are very pleased that you found everything regarding your stay excellent and that your found the perfect place in which to be pampered. We hope you return during the summer months so you can enjoy some dry sunny, weather while walking in the countryside round here.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband had booked a 4 night stay at Ellenborough Park for my 30th birthday which is at the beginning of January (always a terrible time of year for a birthday) but this year it was a special birthday and I am also 6 months pregnant! It ticked all the boxes for me with a beautiful room, top notch service, incredible food, lovely afternoon tea, a fantastic Sunday lunch and a choice of 2 restaurants both with excellent food.
We loved being able to make use of the boot room and were able to go out for 2 long walks just up the hill from the and onto the Cotswold way in no time in our Dubarry coats and boots - which kept us very warm indeed.
I wanted to stay somewhere that was nice enough to want to stay around the hotel in the day and evening if we wished - Ellenborough Park certainly delivered there. We visited the spa twice which was fabulous and I had a beautiful pregnancy massage on my birthday itself. On return to our room after my massage my husband had a birthday cake with a candle with a personalised message in chocolate, perfect!
The Great Hall was a lovely setting to come back to after dinner with a drink and in the day for reading in front of the fire or an afternoon tea. However we did feel it was missing some gentle back ground music, occasionally you felt that you should speak in hushed voices as it could be quite quiet. It's just nice to add to the atmosphere.
Breakfasts couldn't get any better and there was a lovely range. We opted for breakfast in bed on my birthday which was fun and presented beautifully on the trays.
The staff were all friendly, very attentive and always professional- nothing was too much trouble. A fabulous place to stay! I think we will be going back for that great Sunday lunch again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Firstly Happy Birthday, I hope it was a birthday to remember, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much right from the Sunday Lunch through to the walks in your Dubarrys.
We are pleased too that you enjoyed your Pregnancy Treatment in the Spa as much as the Chocolate cake. We hope you get the opportunity to return soon for another Sunday lunch or two.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
797 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing