We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellenborough Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$276
US$269
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 131(Cheltenham)
US$410
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The George Hotel(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
1,028
233
123
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,028
233
123
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbeaufort dining roomboot roomafternoon teathe fine dining restaurantmain buildingbeautiful hotelclassic roomluxury roomcheltenham race coursesconessteam room and saunaspa facilitiescountry housefive star hotelfour poster bedattention to detail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over Valentines in a luxury room in the new block.

Firstly the negatives. The first night was foul weather - this is a problem in the New block as you have to walk outside to get to the main building and in driving rain with high winds this is not a great precursor to a romantic meal. More Hounds of the Baskervilles than Jane Eyre. Secondly the Spa does not have an indoor pool which limits its recreational use. Thirdly service at breakfast is more seaside B@B inefficiency than 5 star hotel standard. The young staff are willing but under trained and supervision is poor.

That's the poor bits done the rest makes up for it. The room was spacious and the bed itself one of the most comfortable ever. The pillows were outstanding. The bathroom was very well equipped with a large bath and even larger walk in shower. I always like it when the audio for the TV is piped in and a lit shaving mirror is a god send to we older men with failing eyesight.

Service at reception and on arrival was exemplary.

We had lunch and dinner on the second night in The Brasserie and it was fine - not destination food but acceptable. We took our own wine both for dinner on both nights (£25 corkage) and the wine was really well presented with the red decanted and the white burgundy served at the correct temperature ie not over chilled.

On the first night we ate in The Beaufort Room and had the tasting menu all of which was really well prepared and the service (from Sayuri(?)) was excellent. Highlights were cooked egg yolk with asparagus, the sous-vide smoked salmon and the chocolate ganache.

Room Tip: Probably best to be in the main building if there is any chance of inclement weather
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your full and interesting review. We are very sorry about the 'Hound of the Baskervilles' weather, it was a very wet Valentines occasion this year.
I am delighted that you managed to enjoy most of your experience here and we have looked in to the areas in which we have not excelled.
We hope to see you here again when the weather is perfect and you see the hotel in more 'a town like Alice' (Hot and Sunny)
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Ellenborough for 2 nights as on a birthday getaway weekend in February 2014. The staff was super friendly and attentive and the hotel offers a very cosy and warm. It is close to all attractions around the Cotswolds, but also with many activities around the estate.

Room Tip: Ask for the top tower room, great view with a Rapunzel character.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you managed to escape during the dark months of February. We do believe we are the ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds as we are central to both north and south Cotswolds. We look forward to seeing you here again to see the hotel in a different season and to possibly walk up Cleeve Hill.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Ellenborough Park in May 2013, and left thoroughly impressed by the experience.
The service was impeccable from the arrival and valet parking, until we left the next morning.
Upon checking in we were offered a tour of the hotel, which allowed us to see some of the facilities that we may otherwise have missed. (We plan to make use of the boot room on our next stay)
Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed, with a view of the lawns and the racecourse in the distance.
We enjoyed dinner in the Beaufort restaurant, with cocktails and canapes in the main hall beforehand. Our drinks were top-notch, and the sommelier worked with me to find a great wine (at a surprisingly sensible markup - although we may have got lucky as it was a bin-end).
Dinner was a wonderful experience. Service was excellent without being obsequious or intrusive. Food was very good indeed.
Sadly we were unable to fully enjoy the comfortable beds as my fiance was taken ill during the night (Not related to the meal !), and we required an ambulance to accident and emergency at Cheltenham hospital. The night staff were excellent in guiding the ambulance staff to our room.
We fortunately were able to return in time for breakfast, and our car was waiting for us on checkout, along with a small gift and a personal message from the manager.
We will certainly return, and with luck will be able to enjoy the night without the disruption of a trip to A&E.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Firstly, we hope your Fiance has made a full and speedy recovery.
Secondly, we are very pleased that you were well treated by both Ellenborough Park and A&E in Cheltenham.
Finally, thank you for taking the time to review your stay despite the emeregency, we do appreciate when people find time to tell us how we are doing.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your meals and the fines wines. We hope you both visit again soon and manage to steer clear of the hospital.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just love this place. It's so peaceful and relaxing. We have stayed here a number of times. The spa is amazing, the staff could not be more helpful. Generally the service is fantastic, although on our recent stay we were somewhat disappointed not to be able to book a table in the brasserie before 9pm, we felt the manager was a little less than helpful. This will not put us off of going back again though

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are so pleased you like Ellenborough Park and are flattered that you have stayed a number of times. Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the service and The Spa. We are pleased too that you will come back and will make you feel most welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for two nights for my hubby's 50th birthday and also Valentines' day. This was truly a 5-star experience. The service and attention to detail was impeccable. The food in both restaurants and bar excellent. All of the staff were professional helpful and welcoming. Only criticism and this is a minor point, is that the entry to the spa was from outside and given the wild windy and rainy weather when we stayed made it a no go for us. We will definitely go back. It is a must for couples looking for a romantic get a way in England.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind review and your comment 'perfect for couples looking for a romantic getaway in England' this is high praise and we are thrilled that you consider this hotel and the staff to be a perfect choice for you.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews