We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for special occasion”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for special occasion”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for one night 22 Feb and absolutely everything was wonderful. Have no complaints and whilst expensive it really is worth it if you have something to celebrate - or even if you don't!
I did ask for a room in the main building which we got and we did use the spa as well - very hot in there! All food and breakfast were good as were the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank for reviewing and for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and were able to use the Spa facilities.
We look forward to seeing you here again to enjoy, perhaps two nights next time.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    201
    92
    41
    15
See reviews for
216
723
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip, and the it was beautiful from start to finish, the staff were so polite and helpful, it really is the small things that make a difference. carrying bags, valet parking, holding umbrellas for you in the rain whilst walking to your room, and even using a torch to walk you back. My room was gorgeous, the bed was massve and the pillows are amazing. I used the spa facilities (not the pool as its outdoors and it was very cold when i stayed) but the sauna, steam and jacuzzi were very nice. the food is very tasty, dinner and breakfast. I would definately recommend stying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review regarding your business stay here. We are very pleased that you were able to experience and enjoy the Spa facilities as well enjoying your room and your meals here. We look forward to seeing you here when the heated outdoor pool is open.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights after our wedding. Everything about the experience was exemplary from from the greeting when we pulled up outside. The staff are knowledgable, well trained, efficient and polite but without being overwhelming.

Highlights included afternoon tea in the main hall and dinner in the Beaufort restaurant. This was a true fine dining experience and worth every penny.

Many thanks to Ellenborough for a wonderful experience which we'll look back on fondly throughout our marriage.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all good rooms, staying in the rear building is probably better in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshRudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Congratulations on your wedding we hope you will be really happy. We are delighted that you enjoyed your two night mini-honeymoon here after your wedding and that the teams ensured you had a truly wonderful experience.
Have fun and we look forward to seeing you here again to celebrate your anniversary.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over Valentines in a luxury room in the new block.

Firstly the negatives. The first night was foul weather - this is a problem in the New block as you have to walk outside to get to the main building and in driving rain with high winds this is not a great precursor to a romantic meal. More Hounds of the Baskervilles than Jane Eyre. Secondly the Spa does not have an indoor pool which limits its recreational use. Thirdly service at breakfast is more seaside B@B inefficiency than 5 star hotel standard. The young staff are willing but under trained and supervision is poor.

That's the poor bits done the rest makes up for it. The room was spacious and the bed itself one of the most comfortable ever. The pillows were outstanding. The bathroom was very well equipped with a large bath and even larger walk in shower. I always like it when the audio for the TV is piped in and a lit shaving mirror is a god send to we older men with failing eyesight.

Service at reception and on arrival was exemplary.

We had lunch and dinner on the second night in The Brasserie and it was fine - not destination food but acceptable. We took our own wine both for dinner on both nights (£25 corkage) and the wine was really well presented with the red decanted and the white burgundy served at the correct temperature ie not over chilled.

On the first night we ate in The Beaufort Room and had the tasting menu all of which was really well prepared and the service (from Sayuri(?)) was excellent. Highlights were cooked egg yolk with asparagus, the sous-vide smoked salmon and the chocolate ganache.

Room Tip: Probably best to be in the main building if there is any chance of inclement weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your full and interesting review. We are very sorry about the 'Hound of the Baskervilles' weather, it was a very wet Valentines occasion this year.
I am delighted that you managed to enjoy most of your experience here and we have looked in to the areas in which we have not excelled.
We hope to see you here again when the weather is perfect and you see the hotel in more 'a town like Alice' (Hot and Sunny)
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Ellenborough for 2 nights as on a birthday getaway weekend in February 2014. The staff was super friendly and attentive and the hotel offers a very cosy and warm. It is close to all attractions around the Cotswolds, but also with many activities around the estate.

Room Tip: Ask for the top tower room, great view with a Rapunzel character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you managed to escape during the dark months of February. We do believe we are the ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds as we are central to both north and south Cotswolds. We look forward to seeing you here again to see the hotel in a different season and to possibly walk up Cleeve Hill.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Ellenborough Park in May 2013, and left thoroughly impressed by the experience.
The service was impeccable from the arrival and valet parking, until we left the next morning.
Upon checking in we were offered a tour of the hotel, which allowed us to see some of the facilities that we may otherwise have missed. (We plan to make use of the boot room on our next stay)
Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed, with a view of the lawns and the racecourse in the distance.
We enjoyed dinner in the Beaufort restaurant, with cocktails and canapes in the main hall beforehand. Our drinks were top-notch, and the sommelier worked with me to find a great wine (at a surprisingly sensible markup - although we may have got lucky as it was a bin-end).
Dinner was a wonderful experience. Service was excellent without being obsequious or intrusive. Food was very good indeed.
Sadly we were unable to fully enjoy the comfortable beds as my fiance was taken ill during the night (Not related to the meal !), and we required an ambulance to accident and emergency at Cheltenham hospital. The night staff were excellent in guiding the ambulance staff to our room.
We fortunately were able to return in time for breakfast, and our car was waiting for us on checkout, along with a small gift and a personal message from the manager.
We will certainly return, and with luck will be able to enjoy the night without the disruption of a trip to A&E.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Firstly, we hope your Fiance has made a full and speedy recovery.
Secondly, we are very pleased that you were well treated by both Ellenborough Park and A&E in Cheltenham.
Finally, thank you for taking the time to review your stay despite the emeregency, we do appreciate when people find time to tell us how we are doing.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your meals and the fines wines. We hope you both visit again soon and manage to steer clear of the hospital.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just love this place. It's so peaceful and relaxing. We have stayed here a number of times. The spa is amazing, the staff could not be more helpful. Generally the service is fantastic, although on our recent stay we were somewhat disappointed not to be able to book a table in the brasserie before 9pm, we felt the manager was a little less than helpful. This will not put us off of going back again though

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are so pleased you like Ellenborough Park and are flattered that you have stayed a number of times. Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the service and The Spa. We are pleased too that you will come back and will make you feel most welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing