We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy luxury with great service”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently booked a 1 night stay with spa treatment. Fabulous hotel. Started with a superb lunch. Rooms in the oldest part of the hotel was great with little touches that made it a 5 star experience. For example a proper cafeterie, real milk in the fridge (not the awful UHT). The next day we stayed on into the afternoon and the hotel allowed us to store, ice and then drink some champagne we had brought and couldn't take back. Excellent service - in particular Daisy at reception who did everything to get a taxi a short notice, organise the wine bucket and afternoon tea outside. The spa treatments were good - a bit pricey perhaps ? One area of improvement was the breakfast which was disorganised, slow and in the end not of great quality for such a 5 star place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review and lovely to hear you found the hotel classy luxury with great service. We think our special touches make the difference, especially the small ones like real milk for a good cup of English breakfast tea. We are delighted you were able to enjoy Afternoon Tea outside and you thought Daisy on reception gave excellent service. This is lovely to hear and we will make sure we pass on your kind comments to her. I apologise you found breakfast service disorganised and shall investigate as to why this was the case on this morning. We always want to make sure our guests have a perfect experience from start to finish and will ensure this is the case when you return in the future.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms in the main part of the house are fantastic, beds comfy, everything spotless, just as you would expect it to be! Having stayed here a few times on a dbb package we have always enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning. Food is delicious :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank xvanillaskyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Great hearing you love staying here and found the main house enjoyable. We always enjoy hearing of return guests enjoying every stay they have with us and especially when they are able to enjoy the restaurants as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of the trip to the races and our whole experience was absolutely perfect. The room was impeccable, the staff can't do enough for you, the spa was lovely, food delicious and our bed was like a cloud!
The private shuttle to the racecourse topped it all off!

Thank you to the team at Ellenborough Park for making out stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay here during the races. It is lovely to hear that the room was impeccable and overall your experience was perfection.
We hope you had a successful time at the races and perhaps see you again when the jump racing returns home at Cheltenham in October.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent a night at Ellenborough Park just before a business meeting there the next day - it was absolutely brilliant. Top notch service, friendly and totally lovely. Welcomed in the car park, where the car was taken away and parked, lovely welcome from reception, great show to room and a General Manager who was hands on in getting our event ready - what more could you ask for? The food was delicious and the service perfect. Finally, a handwritten note from the General Manager in my car when it was brought back to the front of the hotel on departure. I would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McAllisterandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay the day before a business meeting at the hotel. We always strive to ensure all guests have a brilliant experience of the hotel whether they are here for leisure or business or both.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you recommending the hotel.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I agree wholly with the 4 Star review below. The hotel is lovely, we loved our bedroom and the bathroom especially with the under floor heating and roll top bath, the bed was very comfy and facilities good. Food was amazing at lunch time we had a 3 course roast dinner and my husband and I said the beef was the best we have had. The chocolate pudding wasn't that great but the main course made up for it. Dinner in the brasserie was quite nice although I could not eat my chicken ceaser salad as it was absolutely drenched in dressing. I told the waitress but as we were so full from lunch still I didn't need a replacement.
Unfortunately the spa is a massive let down , we couldn't go swimming as it was too cold for the outside pool and the indoor spa is a tiny jacuzzi with two loungers, sauna and steam room. The changing rooms are also tiny but quite nice. My treatment was ok - a full body massage but I have been to a lot of spas and would say it was average at best. I'm sure it did not last 55 minutes and also a bit slap dash. My husbands treatment was good he had a deep tissue massage. The treatments are expensive which I don't mind if I think they are worth it but unfortunately felt dissapointed after my treatment.
We had a lovely breakfast the next morning with plenty to choose from, the eggs royale were amazing and there was nice fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and toast.
Overall I would say the room and the food are the best things about the hotel but would not recommend it for the spa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay here. It is lovely to hear you found your room and bathroom lovely. It is also lovely to hear the Sunday lunch beef was the best you have ever had.
We are disappointed about your comments on The Spa experience but glad your husband’s treatment was good. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience.
Breakfast is always an important meal of the day and we think it is vital our guests leave having enjoyed this time of the day. We always ensure there is a wide range of breakfast items to choose from and are delighted you found the meal lovely.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future and will strive to ensure your experience is the best it can possibly be.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A friend treated myself and parents to morning coffee and light lunch. Coffee with biscuits is £4.50 per person but well worth it. Was lovely to relax in the grandeur of the great hall. We had a cafetiere of coffee which meant we were all able to have two good cups of coffee.
We had a stroll around the beautiful grounds and then had a light lunch in the Brasserie – we didn’t want much and the staff were really accommodating and let us choose just a starter each. Food was very well presented. Staff were attentive without being intrusive.
Loos lovely and clean
I might mention that I have previously been for afternoon tea with friends. I booked for the great hall a long time before the actual date. Sadly when we arrived, we were shown to a table on the terrace. It was a particularly hot day and in fact far too hot to properly enjoy the tea. The umbrellas did not provide any shade and even the cakes melted. Not sure that I would go back again for afternoon tea – too many sweet things and not enough sandwiches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your time here at Ellenborough Park. It is lovely to hear you were able to have a relaxing morning and lunch and enjoyed parts of the hotel to its full extent. The Great Hall is an ideal room for a morning coffee and is the oldest part of the main house and we think dates back to 1485.
Thank you for as well for your comments on your Afternoon Tea experience you previously had at the hotel. We shall take your comments into consideration and ensure the terraces are suitable for the hot summer days we may have later on in the year.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Some aspects of this hotel are fantastic but it is certainly didn't live up to its tripadvisor award as a top 10 luxury hotel in Europe!

The plus points

- location
- we got an upgrade
- room was available early
- good service
- amazing food
- very nice room
- great cocktails and wine

The negatives

- our toilet bowl was dirty upon arrival
- spa was very very poor, small and overrun
- the restaurant (Beaufort on a Saturday night) had no atmosphere at all


We are in two minds about this place, a lot about it was great but in a few areas it was very disappointing. The Spa was a big letdown. It was dirty, the changing rooms were not kept clean, there were no lockers left with robes/towels in, then the facilities were tiny. A small jacuzzi and small steam room and sauna. Three couples were in there and when anyone else came in there was nowhere to sit (4 chairs) and most people left very quickly.

Upstairs in the spa there were relaxation rooms which were full of dirty plates, mugs and half eaten fruit. The juice bar wasn't serving juice! For the price of the hotel you'd want more.

Food was outstanding at the hotel. Service in the dining room was very good too. The wine selection was one of the best I've seen outside of London. What let it all down was the atmosphere. The dining room is split into small rooms. 5 tables were in our room, no music, no background noise at all. Everyone at their tables were whispering to each other because talking meant everyone in the room listening (you couldn't help it as it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop). We've never experienced such an odd atmosphere before.

A couple did make a big fuss about their food being poor and service slow. The service was how you'd want it in a fine dining establishment and the food was faultless. The rhubarb and custard dessert was the second best desert I ever had, only bettered by Koffman's famous pistachio soufflé.

We made use of the boot room and went for a walk. It was a great unique touch and I'd recommend it!

Our room, other than the cleaning oversight was faultless and well furnished. The cleaning oversight was a fairly major one, its not hard to clean the inside of a toilet but failing to do so is grim.

We had a lovely weekend and I'm not sure I'd go back and would rather spend the same money at a similar hotel with a better spa. For us that is Pennyhill park which is the same price but you get far more for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPAP-SHLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here. We are delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel and are of course disappointed some parts of your stay were not up to our usual standard. I apologise for the cleaning issue in your room, this should not have happened and The Spa size with its issues there. It is lovely to hear you thought the food was outstanding whilst dining and we will take your comments about background noise seriously. The Boot Room is popular and ideal for walks in the grounds and up the local Cleeve Hill.
We hope to welcome you back in the future and will ensure you do not experience any negative issues during your next stay.
Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
382 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
480 reviews
14 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,071 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £118 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing