We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Afternoon tea was a birthday present for me and it was wonderful. The hotel is lovely and looks very impressive as you drive towards it. The afternoon tea room is beautiful. Staff very attentive. Lots of choices of tea or coffee. Sandwiches (choice of fillings) cakes and warm home made scones. Portions really good and we sadly couldn't eat it all - though we tried! My husband chose traditional scones but I tried two different - blueberry and buttermilk - absolutely delicious. I was so impressed that I have bought an afternoon tea voucher for a friend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your Afternoon Tea experience. It is lovely to hear you have a wonderful time and enjoyed the delicious blueberry and buttermilk scones. We’re sure your friend will also have a great experience too.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    185
    85
    39
    10
See reviews for
198
677
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for two nights with a group of friends for a girlie weekend.
The setting is spectacular, hotel beautiful, staff very polite. But very slow. Appreciate there was a wedding on both days but our extras bill would have been at least double if they moved a bit, just a bit faster. Brasserie food average, shame we did not get to try fine dining as it was fully booked. The bar/restaurant manager (Spanish gentleman) was extremely helpful and a real asset to the hotel. Room was good, very comfortable bed but bathroom needs tlc.
The best thing was the Spa. Five of us had different therapist and if seems they were all fantastic. However it might be a good idea for a hotel of such calibre to get another set of hot stones... Biggest compliments to all spa staff.
Breakfast was a real let down as service was even slower an buffet an hour before the end of service was not replenished and just looked sad. Cooked breakfast was ok.
It is a shame as the setting is so beautiful, spa wonderful but the staff shortage really lets the hotel down. Would love to revisit once this is addressed.

Room Tip: Main building so you do not have to walk in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JurateN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your girlie weekend here. We appreciate your comments regarding slowness of service in certain areas and are working very hard to rectify this. We are delighted too that you enjoyed your Spa experience and hear your comments about not enough stones for the Hot Stone Massage. In fact, we have very recently purchased the equipment to carry out Bamboo massage, this is fantastic for deep tissue massage and works In a similar way to a Hot Stone Massage so next time you must try this. We look forward to seeing you again so you can experience this and The Beaufort Dining Room food.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After spending two nights here for my sisters wedding, I can recommend this as an indulgent luxury hotel, a few pointers for room for improvement, but overall level of service was exemplary.

Appreciate this venue manages to host several functions all the time, but residents being evicted from the brasserie I felt was awkward and left several guests lost.

Noticed in our room (Room 54, separate building away from main hotel) bathroom marks on the toilet seat lid, admittedly this is trivial issue but considering the exceptional standards held throughout the hotel this was a surprising let down. However the room and bed were amazing!

We relocated to a different room (Room 19, in main building) on the second night, as we were part of the wedding party. The transition was seamless, and room even more spectacular! Through no fault of the hotels we weren't able to enjoy this as much as we were too busy enjoying the wedding celebrations.

Food and drinks served both in the restaurant and as part of the wedding breakfast were of high standard. Although £12 for a single glass of wine (after having to return two glasses for serving corked wine) seemed a little steep. I accept and appreciate a hotel of this stature can command the best prices, but only if the quality is on par.

The breakfast included was as expected of very high standard.

Lovely touch to find mints and chilled bottle of water waiting for us in car upon our departure.

Unable to comment on the Spa as I didn't have time to use the facilities.
Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Firstly, we hope you enjoyed your sister’s wedding and lovely to hear you found the hotel indulgent and luxury. Secondly, thank you your comments and a few pointers for improvements. We always welcome guest’s feedback, no matter how small and will ensure that we will consider all of your points raised.
We hope to welcome back soon where you can also enjoy some time relaxing in The Spa.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is a magnificent collection of buildings set in a beautiful park-like setting looking down towards the Cheltenham race course. It cries out elegance and class, all the assets a five star hotel should display. It's a pity the service didn't match the concept. But let me say the staff were willing, attentive and eager to please. So what went wrong? First of all the check-in people didn't look at us, they looked through us. They didn't see an older couple clearly not as spry as once they were. I say this for they put us in a room with the bedroom on one level and the bathroom on another up a steep angled set of stairs. Surely they know that older people tend to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. At three in the morning do they expect us to climb stairs by the half glow of a night light, fumbling for glasses and direction? We travelled for ten weeks and enjoyed wonderful concierge service wherever we stayed. The staff eagerly marked the Tourist Town Maps with restaurants, points of interest, museums et al. The Park had no concierge desk and no town maps. The clerk at check-in made a call and a fellow duly appeared. We asked for a map of Cheltenham and asked if he would mark on it the nearest supermarket and, because we wanted to visit two specific Cotswold villages, the main road out of town towards Oxford. He said he would have to print it out and came back moments later with a MapQuest set of driving instructions to Oxford. We ordered toast and coffee at breakfast and the waiter forgot it. The second morning the waitress brought the coffee but again forgot the toast. Being North American, and I'm sure the Park gets many of them, we are fond of our morning coffee but found the pot provided rather a small amount and the contents were gone in quick order. To simplify matters I asked the waiter to have the kitchen send us out a pot each. He came back and said 'The kitchen said no. You can only have one pot at a time.' .A five star hotel and the kitchen said NO to an extra pot of coffee? I rest my case. This place needs a severe service overhaul.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room where the bathroom is up a flight of stairs. In the half light I took a tumb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear you found the hotel elegant and class. We shall investigate your comments regarding concierge and service and are sorry that you considered certain standards were not met. We welcome many North American visitors and I'm sorry that you were disappointed.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We recently came away for a long weekend and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The staff was polite, obliging and respectful. Food was delicious and all round, we just felt taken care of. Would highly recommend a break away to the serenity of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkysassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you ‘felt taken care of’ our teams here will be delighted to see this. Thank you for taking the time to tell us.
We hope to see you again soon for another long weekend.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'd planned a trip to the theatre in Great Malvern but decided to stay at Ellenborough Park and enjoy the countryside.

The location of the hotel is perfect, impressive views and some lovely walks around the hotel. The restoration of the original country house to a hotel has been done sympathetically and each room has been carefully designed. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and well equipped.

The Brasserie and Bar provide a good selection of lunchtime fare, the sandwiches are highly recommended. For us the highlight of the stay was the food in the Beaufort Dining room.

The tasting menu was carefully put together and excellent value at £55, the wine pairings selected by the sommelier also showed some creativity and imagination. As has been commented on by others the service was a little hit and miss in the dining room but it soon became clear that it was one young waitress's first week. It seems that speed of service has been a regular problem, we didn't really have an issue with the leisurely pace but considering how few people were dining on the night that we were there, it seems that the problem may be in the kitchen. The breakfast service seemed much more switched on and my Full English Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked which makes a pleasant change.

The staff on reception and the concierge were very professional and arranged a taxi transfer to Great Malvern for our Theatre trip at half the price I was quoted. All-in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I plan to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Room 63 in the Annex was quiet and comfortable with good views of the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and wish to return. Thank you for your kind comments on the food, wine pairing and rooms.
We hope you enjoyed the theatre and hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

On arrival I was given a room upgrade to a huge room with a huge bathroom. The staff printed out a walk I could do which turned out to be amazing with beautiful views. I was on my own but never felt out of place. The food was delicious and the service was great. I would stay there again next week if I could.!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always lovely to hear guests enjoying the local surroundings and enjoying walks around the Hotel and as you rightly say there are some beautiful views, we have our very own mountain –Cleeve Hill on our doorstep. We look forward to seeing you here again to enjoy the food, service and take in the Cotswolds air. We hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
20.6 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing