We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and charming hotel”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish and charming hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I highly recommend Ellenborough Park after a memorable two-night stay in April. What a special and extraordinary hotel this is. From the moment I arrived I felt a sense of calm and wonder, greeted by a stunning stone mansion graced with flowering plants, ancient Cedrus trees and views over lush rolling hills in all directions.

There are many features to recommend. All of the staff I talked to over two days were polished, welcoming and friendly and clearly shared a professional service ethos that you would expect in an upmarket London hotel. A porter gave thoughtful directions on visiting neighbouring towns, staff in the spa were charming, and the restaurant service both nights was polished. The room was plush and well appointed with a modern take on country-style. They have achieved a great balance between smart luxury (e.g., beautiful stone bathrooms and tasteful fabrics) that evoke country styling without being twee.

For those who want a quiet stay, I encourage you to request a room that is not in a designated dog-friendly area. I was initially accommodated in a wing of the hotel beyond the main house where two neighbouring guests had barking dogs. I requested to move later that day as I was hoping to have a restful stay. The front office staff handled this situation very thoughtfully.

Many thanks for providing such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manypixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Is it lovely to hear you found the hotel ‘special and extraordinary’. We always want our guests to have a relaxing stay whilst they are here and we are glad to hear you thought our staff were friendly, rooms well-appointed and the hotel stylish and charming overall.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    197
    90
    40
    11
See reviews for
205
704
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in June for a conference and really enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. it really is a home from home, nothing is too much trouble for the friendly hard-working staff.
The hotel is very impressive, the food was excellent, the setting is amazing. The boardroom is the best I have been in, seats about 16-18 people. Private dining in the library for the same amount, flexibility with anything that you require, just ask. I have stayed in most room types and they are all very nice, the upgrades are about £40-£80 per night for deluxe/luxury.

I must congratulate Erika Steward for her attention to detail and excellent work, having organised events for several years, Erika is the best event organiser I have worked with by a country mile!
This was my fifth trip to Ellenborough for various events and I have thoroughly enjoyed every visit.
if you are fortunate to stay for the horse racing, the staff will drive you into the course by range rover, past the helicopter landing area, a great way to enter Cheltenham races, worth the extra cost during race days. Reception will arrange tickets for you too.

a great Place to stay!! Tip: Breakfast in the room, well worth the extra £5 tray charge.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread about the four corners of the hotel so you should be able to get something to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words on our staff, especially Erika. We are always delighted to receive comments such as yours and are thrilled you have enjoyed our services over the last few years. We strive to have the best business and leisure facilities to suit all our guests and work hard to ensure every guest has a lovely stay.
We hope you are able to stay for another meeting in the future.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

First, don't stay here. Concierge will NOT do anything as implied in their website. You must make ALL your own plans. Laura is the only employee with follow through.
Get off Kemble train station. Cheltenham is a rundown, suburban town that quickly takes you from your expectations of rolling countryside. Stay at the lower slaughter inn. Ideal location to visit around.
ABSOLUTELY a disappointment. Very expensive with very little guest assistance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annettemiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are naturally very disappointed that your stay wasn't as you would have wanted. All our front of house team work very hard to accommodate all our guests' requirements and on this occasion despite our best efforts and with such short notice we were unable to book you your tour of The Cotswolds, we contacted every tour guide and chauffeur and they were all busy. Thank you for your kind words about Laura.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in the most fabulous setting over looking the famous Cheltenham racecourse in the distance. On arrival you will be delighted by a rustic old world charming hall with additional wings added to form the hotel. These buildings are clearly new but built to blend well with the main hall. My room was spacious, spotless, and very well appointed. A high quality bed and bedding made for an excellent nights sleep. Bathroom, same quality and attention to detail applies, very well done to the designers!
We dined as a group in the Brasserie which was excellent with lots of choice and variations. The head waiter could not do enough to ensure a smooth operation.
Breakfast was served in the main hall restaurant to a very high standard with the best ingredients served by attentive and polite staff. I wont hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am delighted to hear you found our setting fabulous. The view towards Cheltenham Racecourse really is brilliant and we are so lucky to be positioned here. Your kind comments on the rooms, meals and service are lovely to hear. We strive to provide the very best service in the restaurants and use high quality local ingredients wherever possible.
We hope to see you again very soon for another great stay.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recently attended a conference here and couldn't speak more highly of the staff. The hotel has a lovely location with views over the racecourse and near to rural Cotswolds, Cheltnham and Gloucester - all worth a visit. It has a lovely elegant, gentrified atmosphere, although the service is modern and top class. Definitely worth considering if staying in the area

Room Tip: Overlooking racecourse is the best view, or one of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Your comments on the hotel are lovely to hear and we are glad you found the hotel elegant and the service top class. I hope you enjoyed the conference and we look forward to seeing you again soon. There is much to do in Cheltenham and the Cotswolds and we are pleased that you were able to see some of these places while here.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked a half day spa session and ended up staying for lunch as well. The full body massage was amazing. The sun was shining to the outside pool and terrace were reminiscent of a holiday in Italy. So tranquil and relaxing. The indoor spa facilities were beautiful and the staff were incredibly courteous.
We ate in the bistro afterwards which we had not originally planned to. They accommodated our late request. The food was fantastic, as was the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummy2012andbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review. It is lovely to hear you found the massage amazing and were able to enjoy lunch on the terrace in the sunshine. Your comments on our employees are delightful and I shall make sure to pass onto the Spa team.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I always like to start with a positive or two, so I will say that the area is GORGEOUS, as are the grounds of this hotel. Another positive: Antonio, the brasserie manager, is one of the most gracious and welcoming hotel staff members I've met in all my travels.

This is a very nice hotel, for sure, and our stay was fine. However... given the price and hotel class, we were overall disappointed.

We traveled with our six month old (and obviously all the luggage that comes along with him!). As we arrived, the woman who checked us in, even before saying "Welcome," asked, "Do you need a wake-up call?" An odd first question (and hilarious given our baby who is our permanent wake-up call). She then walked us to our room across the property which included about 25 stairs, never offering to have anyone help us with our baggage or stroller, etc. The funny thing is, it turns out there is a much easier way involving little to no stairs that she could have used. An odd "welcome," and from there on out, we found the hotel staff to be unhelpful and not so warm (except Antonio!).

There were also two weddings taking place over the weekend and the hotel staff was running around the place saying "We're so busy," and consequently we got the short end of the stick because breakfasts were late etc and we felt almost like we were in the way.

Our friends stayed at a B&B down the road for 1/5th the price and were thrilled with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay here. It is lovely to hear you found the area gorgeous and were able to enjoy our grounds. I am sorry on this occasion you felt the welcome you received was not up to our usual high standards. This shall be investigated fully as we always strive to have our guests welcomed and feel looked after during their time here. Antonio will be delighted with your kind words.
We hope we can see you again soon and are sure you will enjoy one of our usual perfect stays.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing