We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star stay. ”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for a week.
Hotel and grounds are beautiful.
Room was lovely. Staff are very friendly and professional.
We also had some treatments in the spa. Highly recommend the collagen facial.
The food was very nice.
We were also lucky to have such hot weather and be able to use the pool.
We took our dog along. Great place to go for a walk in the country. He was made very welcome, with his own bed, bowl and blanket.
All in all would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we are very pleased that your 6 day stay was so enjoyable. We are also pleased that we have had such a good summer that you were able to enjoy relaxing by the outdoor pool. We look forward to seeing you and your dog here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
There are newer reviews for Ellenborough Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Amazing stay!

Room - we stayed in the main house. Room was beautiful, plenty of plugs, all amenities covered, comfiest bed I've ever slept in, amazing shower and water pressure

Food - dined in the Beaufort Dining room on the first night which was incredible. Really lovely setting and felt very spoiled! Would recommend absolutely. Tip = have a drink in the lounge before dinner. The Brasserie is at the opposite end of the spectrum, no need to dress up. Food was good, but I didn't like the decor in the there (hey ho, every inch of the rest of the hotel and grounds is stunning). Also lots of variety at Breakfast, Eggs Benedict was lovely, bf gave top marks to the porridge

Staff - great, very helpful. Loved the surprise treats in my car when it was brought up from the car park! Do take advantage of the boot room before a long walk

Spa - lovely overall, but disappointed with Jacuzzi room - really on the small side. Mirrors did help to create illusion of space, but with room for only 4 loungers it is quite dinky. I would recommend the treatments, staff were lovely, but I wouldn't allocate a long time to relaxing by the Jacuzzi - a 20 min peruse of magazine before a treatment is enough. (That said, I probably wouldn't have noticed had the weather been better for the outside pool)

Top marks on the whole ++

One tiny note - why the need for cheap catering mayonnaise in the Brasserie? Homemade next time please!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank n0gg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for wonderful review, we really appreciate your kind comments regarding all areas of the hotel including your departure surprise. Next time we hope you get the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor heated pool. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Called in here on spec looking for a late lunch or possibly afternoon tea. Receptionist was very helpful and went to check what was available while we went to order a drink at the bar. Unfortunately the barman was surly and unhelpful - it seemed an effort to serve us, he failed to help us make our wine choices and told us we couldn't sit down unless we were eating; when we asked if we could eat he said did we have a booking and when we said no, but could we book he was very dismissive and said he was expecting a large party. Feeling distinctly unwelcome we sat in the atrium, where our faith in this lovely hotel was restored as 2 other members of staff explained that the chef was busy dealing with a Nicola Benidetti lunch service, but that if we were happy to wait until 3pm we could have afternoon tea. At 3pm we were duly seated in the tastefully decorated lounge, and served with an excellent afternoon tea. Tasty sandwiches, beautifully fresh scones, and a really delicious selection of cakes, which surpassed those we had recently sampled during afternoon tea at the Dorchester - and all for £20 per head! We will definitely be back - hopefully when the barman is off duty!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your generous comments despite one our team not being as helpful as he should have been. We are delighted the rest of the team here ensured your afternoon tea was as good as possible for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely hotel, very well laid out and thought of rooms (copious amounts of plugs which sounds picky but is never available, really well thought of). The food in the main dining room is very average but the brasserie is delicious. The spa pretty average although I had a great therapist (Chelsea).

The biggest disappointment was the service. I can rattle off the short list or people that were great in the hotel: Matt, Antonio, Suzy and Bobby. The rest were terrible. From the breakfast staff telling me that "water is on the table, you can get it yourself" (I had no idea it was there but funnily enough the next morning a sign on the menu says "help yourself to the buffer or our staff are more than happy to bring it to your table". To the "most tables are reserved in the brasserie except for that one there" (it was 4pm, we say and left in an hour and the place was still empty) to the "we stop serving breakfast at 10:30am, I will only bring you a coffee now but it is an exception, next time I won't be able to do so".

You are a 5 star hotel, not the Hilton. Step up your game.

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest room and it was great, I am sure the others are even better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank terrymlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review. While there are some aspects to your comments that we find disappointing with regards to the service, I am pleased that you were able to enjoy a number of things, including the rooms, the food in The Brasserie and your therapist in The Spa - Chelsea. You are also kind enough to mention a number of our team who provided you with great service, Matt, Antonio, Suzy, and Bobby. We will follow up with training so on your next visit I hope you will find all aspects perfect.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you need my review to encourage you to stay at Ellenborough park, then you obviously haven't heard too much about it!! Fully backs up its reputation of an award winning venue. This picturesque dream of a hotel is definitely in my top 3 stay's of my last 5 years. The setting overlooking the racecourse on a beautiful sunny evening just made it for my wife and I. The rooms were lovely, welcoming and cosy creating a homely feel but with a luxury standard where clearly no expense has been spared. Everything to the highest quality. That also goes for the food too. Although we only ate in the brasserie and not the restaurant, the food was perfect and the staff were super attentive, even putting on the World Cup final at the back of the bar as a cheeky favour for us so we could keep our eye on the score. Usually, when I've been to hotels of such calibre, it can be rather pretentious and overwhelming. Here, we were totally at home and treating with nothing but kindness. The spa was excellent. Quiet, relaxing and just what we needed after a long weekend. Once again, we were lucky enough with the weather so we got the gift of sitting by the outside pool and relaxing in the tranquil surroundings. I could go on, however I urge anybody staying in this area who likes the best of the best to visit the venue, even if it's just for an evening meal and not for accommodation. Very few hotels I return to as I like to try different places, however, I will undoubtably be visiting here again in the not so distant future. Absolutely loved it and let me say.... It's something special. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, our teams truly appreciate seeing reviews like yours from our guests. We work very hard to try and give each guest the best possible experience and are delighted that you loved all aspects of the hotel. It was good that you were able to keep an eye on the football without the pressure of it being your own team too. We look forward very much to welcoming you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in this 5 star hotel through a jet setter deal . I see secret escapes are also doing a deal - although they have just changed the 2 course meal to the brasserie from the main rosetted restaurant!
The hotel is fantastic. The service excellent and the room ( a classic ) large and very comfortable.
We had a 2 course meal in the brasserie , priced at £14.95 ( with a soft drink) for the Cheltenham music festival. This was good value! Paying full price, the pork and the lamb are excellent - haddock and chips not such good value.
Breakfast excellent - as you would expect from a 5 star establishment.
A good tip for you trip here is the Bourton house gardens in Bourton on the Hill. Only open 3 days a week but very worthwhile and off the tourist route!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TurleighTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments,we are very pleased that you found The Hotel a great location from which to explore the Cotswolds and a quiet retreat following a busy day of sightseeing. Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner in the Brasserie.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This review a bit late, but needed to be done.
Stayed for 5 nights in November.
Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and a great view of the racecourse.
Courtesy transport to the racecourse was a real treat.
Dined in both Beaufort Dining room and Brasserie and can honestly say that the food and staff were exceptional in both.
Breakfast was faultless on all five mornings, which really is outstanding as a lot of hotels can let standards slip in the morning, not here.
One small criticism would be not enough space in bar area of brasserie for post race drinks!
We cannot wait to return again in November.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teazle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words on the hotel. We are very happy you were able to enjoy 5 nights here last year. We appreciate your comments on the bar and are looking at ways to expand so more guests are able to celebrate after a win at the races!
We hope to see you again soon for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
815 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £155 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing