We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic and luxurious hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic and luxurious hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights attending my friends wedding and I was blown away by the hotel. The surroundings are very picturesque and the building itself was beautiful. When I checked in, staff were very friendly and took my bags to my room. My room was very spacious and immaculately clean.

Dinner was fantastic although I never quite made breakfast either of the days I stayed! Would definitely recommend staying here if you want a romantic break away for the weekend.

Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasg0wB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Ellenborough Park. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and I do hope your friends had a fabulous wedding. We have such beautiful surroundings, perfect for a wedding. I'm sorry to hear you didn't make it down for breakfast on either day but we are always here so you'll have to come back to visit us again to experience that!

I hope we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Oliver Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    180
    84
    39
    10
See reviews for
197
662
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2015

On arrival the spectacular gardens were laid out in front of you, as you drive towards the hotel, definately the WOW factor. After being assisted with my luggage, I was checked in and taken to my beautiful room and shown where everything was!
Luxury on another level!! The Brasserie staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient, the food was great, and a fantastic choice at very reasonable prices for a 5 Star hotel.
Breakfast was memorable, beautiful breakfast room, delicious choice of food, happy bubbly staff too!
I didn't have time for a Spa treatment, but did have a look round, and read through the list of treatments available - definately a must for next time.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone, for afternoon tea, lunch, or a special weekend.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaineyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Thank you for your brilliant review. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the WOW factor drive leading up to Ellenborough Park and that the rest of your stay matched this. It sounds like you had a fantastic time and I will certainly pass your comments onto all of our teams at the hotel.

I hope we will see you again soon, maybe you can book in for that Spa treatment that you didn't have the time for.

Kind regards,
Oliver Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2015

on the plus side a lovely big room with gorgeous views and a stunning looking hotel. I confess though I found the service poor - my wife came with me for business but found the breakfast service disappointing. Came away with the impression that the staff didn't want to be there - asked for poached eggs, only one arrived, didn't take plates, didn't ask if we wanted more t and coffee - the waiters couldn't be bothered. The asked for cheese - but no crackers and then a 10 minute wait. In fact the service at breakfast was so poor we decided to have lunch elsewhere.
The spa should be open later than 7 pm, its too early to close - there should be bags for swimming kit etc - it shouldn't be necessary to ask.
we wanted to be blown away but it was just average.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe613London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Many thanks for your email and I am pleased that you were very happy with your room, the hotel and the gorgeous views.
We apologise for the delay in serving breakfast to you and for the incomplete order you received. We will be discussing the points you have raised with the relevant teams and should you wish to discuss this matter further, please do get in touch directly.
As you will see from our other reviews, guest satisfaction is an area that we dedicate ourselves to and I hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future so you may see for yourselves that Ellenborough Park is a special destination.

Kind regards,
Mervyn Parrish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2015

Highly recommend this hotel. We booked very last minute on the morning of the day we were going. All the staff we extremely friendly and professional, they clearly had been trained very well. Our room package came with a number of perks we were not expecting, such as a free 3 course dinner in the Brasserie on the first night, breakfast included on both mornings and a bottle of prosecco on arrival in our room. We also requested a late check out which the accommodated with no fuss - 1.5hrs extra!
It was a lovely weekend, the food was good (breakfasts were lovely!), the staff were great, our room was lovely with a huge bathroom and bed.
We swam in the heated outdoor pool even though it was nearing 2 degrees outside - It was lovely! They have a boot room with hunter wellies, Dubarry boots and Dubarry coats for anyone to use for walks.
Would recommend driving to Stow on the Wold and Burford which are beautiful towns and Stow has some great country pubs.

Highly recommend we had a fantastic weekend.

Stayed November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank HendoLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments on your stay at Ellenborough Park. I am thrilled that you had such a tremendous experience and it certainly sounds like you made the most of the facilities... it is great having a heated outdoor pool that is open all year round.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon and I look forward to it.

Kind regards,
Oliver Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2015

Our room was excellent, very spacious and spotless. We only had one night here as it was a gift from our daughter.The room was on the first floor and had a feeling of peace and tranquility(no noise from any other guests).The hotel staff were very nice and polite. We would return to this venue.The only downside of our visit was the breakfast, which was cold and insufficient.For a hotel of this calibre, it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themanfromthepru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 8 January 2016
Happy New Year!

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay at Ellenborough Park. I am pleased that you had a lovely visit. Apologies for your experience at breakfast, I will ensure that this is fed back to the necessary teams and we appreciate all comments, both negative and positive, to be able to ensure this is rectified in future.

We hope to welcome you back to Ellenborough Park again soon.

Kind regards,
Oliver Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015

Very luxurious spacious room with super comfortable bed. Very nice staff, friendly and helpful. Weather was too poor to try the pool but hopefully next time! Good food, especially breakfast. Would like to come back and spend some time in the spa!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daftlupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at Ellenborough Park. I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time and we would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. Hopefully weather permitting you can take a dip in the pool too.

Kind regards,
Mervyn Parrish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2015

Have dined here several times and the entire experience has been outstanding each time. From coming up the drive, relaxing in the lounge and having dinner, the Ellenborough oozes class. the staff are friendly, the premises sophisticated and the food excellent. Truly a 5-star hotel and Cheltenham's finest

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, 20 November 2015
Thank you for your wonderful comments on your experience at Ellenborough Park. It is always a delight to hear that our guests have had such an 'outstanding' time with us and I will certainly be passing your feedback onto the teams here who play such a big part in making it an experience for you.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Mervyn Parrish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
20.6 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing