We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one to beat”
Review of The Bradley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bradley
Ranked #5 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“The one to beat”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been coming to Cheltenham for four months and there really is nowhere as good as this.
Warm but unintrusive welcome, immaculate and style laden rooms, perfectly cooked and presented rooms and all at a price that typically gives change from a hundred pounds.
There are some horror shows in this price bracket, The Bradley is a cinematic delight and feels like an intimate luxury hotel and not a (dreaded) Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Some have outside areas which can be useful for those like me who enjoy a moonlit comfort break
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
241
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in a Superior room for 2 nights at the end of April. Very impressed, excellent breakfast, beds wonderful.Well situated for walking to shops & restaurants. We even won at Cheltenham races! Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiclub11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a lovely B&B and the people running it are really friendly and helpful. The full English breakfast was enormous and delicious. Parking permits were provided so you could park on the road for free, up to 11 am.
The Bradley is not cheap, our spacious and elegant top-floor room was £130 for the night, so naturally we expected the best. Sadly there were a number of minor irritations, which could be avoided with a little more attention to detail. When we arrived back at 11pm after the concerts we could not get the heating to work, and ten minutes of effort failed to get the tv to work. Lesser quibbles, the promised hairdryer was not in the room and the light in the shaving mirror over the sink did not come on nor did the vent which I suspect was on the same fuse.
Chris did provide a hairdryer on request muttering apolgeticaly about guests sometimes .... Sue said we should have called her even at 11 pm to help sort out the heating, which did come on in the morning, seems its a thermostat thing. Sue insisted on giving us a handsome reduction in the room rate, which I felt a bit reluctant to take but on the other hand perhaps it will remoind them to check the rooms more thoroughly in future.

Would I recommend you to stay at The Bradley? Most definitely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Trying to write a positive response to a review like this is very difficult. After the guest checked out, I went to straight to the room to check out his complaints.

The TV was working perfectly
I checked the radiator for air but just water appeared with the turn of the bleed key so the heating was working perfectly.
The fan in the bathroom is a silent one
The hair dryer was hung up in the wardrobe in a bag that said in big white letters "hair dryer" on it.
We did explain this to you and it is also mentioned in the room information pack.
However I did provide you with another hair dryer as well as soon as you mentioned it.
We also apologised and gave you a big discount (that my wife said you were very happy to accept) and to be honest we felt cheated after you left as nothing you have mentioned was true. I would also like to point out that £50 of the room price was paid for by a friend of the reviewers so they paid less than £50 for our biggest luxury room.

We are a small family team that work hard on paying attention to detail and I think this is reflected in our other reviews on here.
Negative reviews that rubbish an establishment especially a small one like ours can have a negative impact. We and our small team of staff work very hard as we all rely on the revenue that is generated. Maybe the reviewer will pay more attention to highlight facts that are based on some sort of truth.

Chris Light

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Sorry for the odd title; it really was the highlight of our trip.(Hint: Birthday card hehe)
We stayed for 1 night for my 24th Birthday. Chris was very knowledgable and gave us a handy map.
The bed was super comfy - my partner and I were a bit disappointed when we realised the curtains don't go all the way round. (That's probably just our fairytale view) The bathroom was like something out of a MTV edition of cribs! Very celeb modern.
Chris was lovely, as was Sue. The mushrooms at breakfast time were scrumptious ;)

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom has a massive bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoshihiMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were booked in as a birthday treat and what a fabulous treat it was . The Montpelier area is so classically beautiful and this wonderful b&b compliments it totally . From arrival where you are greeted so warmly from the owners Chris & Sue to the beautiful rooms in which you are supplied with everything you could possibly need . The whole premises is so elegant and the atmosphere so calm and relaxed .We stayed in the Art Deco room and I have never had a night in such a comfortable bed - wow . Breakfast is served in a lovely room and the menu choice superb . The quality of the breakfast is outstanding and I am not in the least surprised it has received awards . Chris & Sue are wonderful relaxed hosts who provide a truly lovely place to stay we will definitely revisit.
James M

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisbech
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We experienced a fantastic service from the moment we arrived,as we were about two hours early and thought that we wouldn't be able to get into the apartment but Chris was just great and said it wasn't a problem at all and that we were most welcome.
When we were shown the apartment all I can say is wow... What an apartment,nothing disappointed at all and by far exceeded our expectations,all amenities were catered for, even down to having our own patio and parking space.
Breakfast in the dining room was excellent and well deserves the latest breakfast award it has been given,everything was so relaxed and comfortable we could stay here for weeks.
Nothing was too much trouble for Sue at breakfast and she catered for everybody's needs very professionally, we would love to return to this lovely B&B and would recommend it to everyone.
Well done Chris and Sue you have everything just spot on...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abbyWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the day before.
Lady was so nice
Room was clean, huge, awesome.

Didnt have breakfast has i normally never eat breakfast, but i must say it smelt lovely

Would i stay here again,? YES!

100%

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bradley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bradley

Property: The Bradley
Address: 19 Royal Parade | Bayshill Road, Cheltenham GL50 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bradley 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bradley is an award winning, 5 star boutique bed and breakfast in a listed Regency town house in the fashionable area of Montpellier in the centre of Regency Cheltenham. We believe in 'old fashioned' customer service and encourage our guests to give us a call so that we can provide you with the very best information about our rooms, the area, or talk through any requirements you may have. Owned by the de Savary Family, the property has recently been restored, retaining the period features whilst adding all modern comforts. Superbly comfortable, The Bradley is decorated with period furniture and object d'art. Check-in is available from 4pm onwards. Supper and snacks are also available. Only 5 minutes by taxi from the rail station, The Bradley is conveniently close to shops, restaurants and bars. There is a private garden to be enjoyed on sunny days as well as Pashley bicycles to hire, the perfect way to explore Cheltenham. The Bradley is licensed to serve alcohol. The Bradley can be reserved for exclusive use. As we are located in the centre of Cheltenham onsite parking is limited, however, there are plenty of pay and display parking spaces close to the property. Cheltenham is secure, although we recommend valuables and bags are either removed from your vehicle or placed out of view in the boot. On your arrival, we can inform you where best to park. A charger point is available for electric vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bradley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing