We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of The Bradley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bradley
Ranked #4 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What a delightful professionally run establishment. Typically English with style and panache.
The rooms are comfortable and upmarket while the lounge and breakfast room make you feel like you are at home. We love places that are run with a desire to please and make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely B&B in a great location. Room 3 was large, comfortable & contained many interesting pictures and decorations, including a top hat! We couldn't fault it at all. The lounge was cosy with comfy sofas; a great place for a glass of champagne before heading out for a meal. Breakfast was very tasty, cooked to order & plenty of choice. We will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendricks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A surprise two night stay in Cheltenham organised by Annie to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a stay it was. From the moment we arrived at the Bradley Sue could not do enough for us. From help with a rather heavy case to useful information when needed.
Our room (No.2) had a lovely decked outside terrace and despite the rather inclement weather was used both evenings for a night-cap.
Decor in the dining / sitting rooms was brilliant and showed the true majestic grandeur of the old house. The bedroom was comfortably appointed with even a little fridge on the landing for fresh milk!!! A lovely touch.
Breakfast was to die for. The full Bradley was wonderful, the Classic likewise all cooked to perfection by Chris.
The owners supply you with a parking permit, which allows you to forget the car and explore Montpelier with its quirky shops and bars.
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Start with the Bradley and forget the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieandMikeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked the Bradley after looking for a romantic getaway after our wedding. The Bradley did not disappoint in any respect. On arrival we were cheerily greeted and welcomed for our early check-in and handed an on-street parking permit.

Shown around the sumptuous home you could have been forgiven for thinking you had stepped back into time. The Bradley is a classy guesthouse rather than a hotel, and you can sense the care and attention that 3 generations of the family have poured into every aspect of the place.

The location in the Montpellier quarter is perfect for exploring Cheltenham on foot, exploring the local streets you will find quaint delicatessens, boutique style shopping and lovely bars and restaurants. The road itself is not a main thoroughfare, but is reasonably busy during peak periods.

All rooms were superbly apportioned with high ceilings and generous light and airy bedrooms. Our room was the four poster room (#4) overlooking the street and was delightful. The lovely finishing touches and the additional hearts adorning mirrors was a very sweet touch. The bathroom was large, modern and as other reviewers have said, has good plumbing. The attention to detail extended to lovely Penhaligon's toiletries, and hand soap. A small (siletn) fridge with bottled water, some treats and a jug of fresh milk for tea and coffee :o)

The beds and bed-linen, as you would expect were sumptuous and comfortable, though it did get rather warm! I think mainly due to my mis-setting the thermostat.

Breakfast was wonderful with local produce in evidence and the choice of the full Bradley was inevitable for me, though the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs would have been equally delicious. All round perfection. We will definitely be coming back for another visit.

Room Tip: If you need absolute silence then ask for a room on the back of the hotel overlooking the garden, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A perfect example that you do not have to search the web pages etc to find a quality establishment which is smaller in size than the large hotel groups. The Bradley takes on the responsibility of providing excellent accommodation, superb breakfast and a most welcoming atmosphere, which should be to the requirements of all guests.

Situated in a very pleasant part of this lovely town, all facilities including shops, restaurants etc. are in easy walking distances for most people. The hotel is run professionally yet unobtrusively by Sue and Chris, helped by the delightfully friendly Claire.

You really will find it very difficult to beat this small hotel for your stay in Cheltenham.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed is top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrubber077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A luxury B&B with some very nice touches and good attention to detail. Sue goes out of her way to provide convenience and service. Nothing is too much trouble. New (north American style) plumbing which was greatly enjoyed. Also "on demand" heat - also enjoyed. The Bradley is a Regency townhouse which has been well modified to accommodate modern living. Very central in the town (Cheltenham architecture is pure Regency and a delight for those who appreciate it) but quiet, and well positioned for visiting the Cotswolds. We visited Chavenage House from here - a private period property that's open to the public but little known. Tours of the house are given by family members - all eccentric and all highly entertaining. The house is often used for filming period dramas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been coming to Cheltenham for four months and there really is nowhere as good as this.
Warm but unintrusive welcome, immaculate and style laden rooms, perfectly cooked and presented rooms and all at a price that typically gives change from a hundred pounds.
There are some horror shows in this price bracket, The Bradley is a cinematic delight and feels like an intimate luxury hotel and not a (dreaded) Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Some have outside areas which can be useful for those like me who enjoy a moonlit comfort break
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jondi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
1 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 69 in Cheltenham
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bradley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bradley

Address: 19 Royal Parade | Bayshill Road, Cheltenham GL50 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £99 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bradley 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bradley is an award winning, 5 star boutique bed and breakfast in a listed Regency town house in the fashionable area of Montpellier in the centre of Regency Cheltenham. We believe in 'old fashioned' customer service and encourage our guests to give us a call so that we can provide you with the very best information about our rooms, the area, or talk through any requirements you may have. Owned by the de Savary Family, the property has recently been restored, retaining the period features whilst adding all modern comforts. Superbly comfortable, The Bradley is decorated with period furniture and object d'art. Check-in is available from 4pm onwards. Supper and snacks are also available. Only 5 minutes by taxi from the rail station, The Bradley is conveniently close to shops, restaurants and bars. There is a private garden to be enjoyed on sunny days as well as Pashley bicycles to hire, the perfect way to explore Cheltenham. The Bradley is licensed to serve alcohol. The Bradley can be reserved for exclusive use. As we are located in the centre of Cheltenham onsite parking is limited, however, there are plenty of pay and display parking spaces close to the property. Cheltenham is secure, although we recommend valuables and bags are either removed from your vehicle or placed out of view in the boot. On your arrival, we can inform you where best to park. A charger point is available for electric vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bradley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing