We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location & lovely room”
Review of The Bradley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bradley
Ranked #5 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location & lovely room”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the four poster room for one night, it's huge and we loved the decor being in keeping with the history of the house as well as the modern bathroom.
Chris & Sue made sure our room was ready when we arrived, breakfast was lovely and didn't finish too early (10am on a Sunday) and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 4 the four poster room was great and a big bathroom with shower an desperate bath, however, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you for your generous review. You are right our 4 poster room is just super.
We are always happy for people to arrive early if we know they need too, if we have a day or two's notice its easy to do. We always like people to be able to relax and enjoy their time in lovely Cheltenham. But thank you for mentioning it.

We are happy to read that your enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we do hope that if you ever find yourself in Cheltenham again you will pop in to The Bradley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
241
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I and my teenage son, booked a 'Self' catering apartment in The Bradley. We stayed there for 3 nights. It was absolutely perfect. Chris and Sue (The owners) were very friendly and welcoming. We absolutely loved everything about the boutique hotel, everything was to perfection. A great location and close to all amenities. Cheltenham is a really lovely place, The shopping centre itself is just amazing. There are lots of restaurants and bars to choose from. Whilst staying in Cheltenham , my family and I travelled to Gloucester, Bourton on the water, and Stow on the wold ( Cotswold's) and to Oxford, all great places to visit. Over all my family and I would definitely stay in 'The Bradley' again.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockbank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
ahhh thank you for such a lovely review. To be able to please a teenager too is a real compliment :-) Seriously though, we are so thrilled to read that you all had such a lovely time with us here at The Bradley. Chris and I love sharing our home with people, so to read your review was a real pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to write one for us-much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had another lovely overnight stay here. Rooms are well appointed and the bathroom and toiletries first class. The owners have thought about every detail. Water, tea, coffee and fresh milk, perfect. Breakfast is also top notch, great produce and beautifully cooked. With cereals and fruit all you could want. Already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Praise indeed from such a great reviewer as yourselves. Thank you so much.

Chris and I are so delighted that you found The Bradley to be so good. We do work hard and try to think of the details, but to read a review from a seasoned traveller which is so generous in praise, we feel very proud to have created a great little B&B here in stunning Montpellier Cheltenham.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked a room at The Bradley at short notice en route to Wales. The owner was really helpful and welcoming. We had a gorgeous room, which had been decorated with a lot of thought. The house has been in the owner's family for a long time so she really looks after it, but is not there overnight and it is a very big house so you don't feel like you're staying in someone else's house. The B&B is in the town centre and close to many restaurants, which the owner (sorry I've forgotten her name) was very happy to recommend. Breakfast was fantastic, and featured the most wonderful fruit salad I've every had (plus pancakes, full Englishes and other unhealthy but delicious options!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
We are so lucky to have a house that has been in our family for 102 years now. With that privilege comes a responsibility to care for the building. We are listed grade II but Chris and I have tried hard to restore and decorate in keeping with the period features of the house, whilst ensuring that modern day facilities, such as bathrooms, are top notch.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for one night before exploring the Cotswolds. The size of the room is good, very clean and all the towels and bathrobes very high quality. The smell of the softener for the towels is out of this world. I haven't been so pleasantly surprised for years in a hotel. Good choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itistul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
The Bradley loves to think that all its guests can have a relaxing stay - thank you for taking the time to say so here on Trip advisor. We do really appreciate it.

We have a variety of rooms, all individually styles and priced to suit different people and budgets, so it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Our lovely fluffy towels and robes are such a treat - many people ask me if they can 'buy' their robe to take home!

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last week as a base for exploring the Cotswolds. What a great choice - immediately impressed by the magnificent house - 1887 Georgian architecture, very high ceilings, beautifully decorated lounge area.

We had the smallest room (2) which we still considered a very reasonable size - it had a very large balcony area. Very clean and tidy with high quality fittings, decorations and lovely bathroom.

Breakfast excellent in all respects including cereal, fruit and hot choices. 0730 to 0900 allowed for an early start.

The B&B is in a great location for walking 5-10min to the town centre and perfect for the Cotswolds. Cheltenham unexpectedly turned out to be a beautiful town with plenty of green areas, bars and restaurants - a destination in itself and far nicer than Gloucester which we also considered. The hosts were friendly and helpful with great advice on touring the Cotwolds area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us here on Trip advisor. Chris and I really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was good to talk with you about the building and its history. It is unusual to have a house, such as ours, stay in the family for over 100years. So it naturally has a lot about it.
We are so glad, that although you chose the smallest of our rooms, you were still able to appreciate its history and detail. The fireplace is very pretty. Having french doors out onto the balcony not only gives access to the huge balcony, it also allows the room to flood with light.

We hope that the rest of your trip was a successful as your stay at The Bradley and your touring of The Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to The Bradley and we were not disappointed. We love this place. It is a home away from home. It is chilled and relaxed, super clean, fresh and tidy. Sue and Chris are super and cannot do enough for you. You have the luxury parking permit, enabling you to park just by The Bradley. Super, thoughtful little extras and luxuries in your room, a fantastic power shower. We have tried the Art Deco room and now the standard double room with the balcony. We loved the Art Deco room. The standard double room is smaller and feels like a small double, but the private balcony is such a luxury and super to have a glass of wine on or a morning cup of tea on. Sue and Chris think of everything and go the extra mile every way they can, making The Bradley exceptional value. We came away feeling totally refreshed and revitalised again, following our stay and yet another delicious breakfast. We stayed at The Bradley to celebrate our first wedding anniversary - it was the most obvious and perfect choice. We will be back just as soon as we can be and will very much look forward to it - thank you Sue and Chris.

Room Tip: We have tried the Art Deco room and now the standard double room with the balcony. We loved the Art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodylady078, Owner at The Bradley, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Wow - Faultless! How kind of you. We are so delighted that you love spending time away here at The Bradley.
When people return, Chris and I always feel its such a compliment. Thank you.
Being able to park for free in the centre of town is such a treat these days, we are glad that you consider being able to park on the road right outside was a bonus to you.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that we might see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bradley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bradley

Property: The Bradley
Address: 19 Royal Parade | Bayshill Road, Cheltenham GL50 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bradley 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bradley is an award winning, 5 star boutique bed and breakfast in a listed Regency town house in the fashionable area of Montpellier in the centre of Regency Cheltenham. We believe in 'old fashioned' customer service and encourage our guests to give us a call so that we can provide you with the very best information about our rooms, the area, or talk through any requirements you may have. Owned by the de Savary Family, the property has recently been restored, retaining the period features whilst adding all modern comforts. Superbly comfortable, The Bradley is decorated with period furniture and object d'art. Check-in is available from 4pm onwards. Supper and snacks are also available. Only 5 minutes by taxi from the rail station, The Bradley is conveniently close to shops, restaurants and bars. There is a private garden to be enjoyed on sunny days as well as Pashley bicycles to hire, the perfect way to explore Cheltenham. The Bradley is licensed to serve alcohol. The Bradley can be reserved for exclusive use. As we are located in the centre of Cheltenham onsite parking is limited, however, there are plenty of pay and display parking spaces close to the property. Cheltenham is secure, although we recommend valuables and bags are either removed from your vehicle or placed out of view in the boot. On your arrival, we can inform you where best to park. A charger point is available for electric vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bradley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing