We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Lypiatt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lypiatt House
Ranked #24 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is the best bed and beakfast we have ever stayed in. Excellent service from the proprietors; very attractive public rooms, quality breakfast, comfortable room. The hotel was a bit difficult to find because there is no sign outside. The name is painted vertically on the gateway.

Room Tip: Montpellier was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

A lovely Victorian house close to the Montpellier district. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in our Standard Double Room as it was a tiny austere room located in the attic, which would have been the original servants quarters. And there was no help with our luggage up the stairs. There was only a very small cluttered cupboard for our clothes and there were five tiny drawers not suitable for anything but socks. There was no desk, no dressing table and just one easy chair. Hardly suitable as a double room. The tiny television, smaller than my laptop screen, suffered frequent signal dropouts totally spoiling my viewing of the Olympics. There was no TV in the downstairs lounge either. The room upgrade was unacceptably expensive for a couple but oddly, not for a single occupant. No surpise they were mostly empty. Although the breakfast is only served between 7.30 and 8.30am weekdays the fresh fruit is beautifully prepared and the English breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: The Standard Double Rooms represents poor value and would only suit single business travellers. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our room was beautiful- Montpellier. Bed really comfortable and furnishings of a hgh quality. Breakfast very tasy and piping hot, lovely exotic fruit salad available. Fantastic location for a 5- 10 min walk into town. Only thing that could have been better was the hosts, whilst polite they were not over friendly or welcoming- no offer of help with luggage . But overall a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Montpellier beautiful, as were rooms on top floor- just a bit smaller and restricted by the sloping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleBigDaveandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lypiatt House Hotel Friday and Saturday night - our room was the Painswick Room on the first floor. A young lady gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our room. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and the bathroom was well supplied. The bed was very comfortable - only drawback we find a sheet and blankets too heavy, preference would be for a quilt but thats our personal view. Both of us did get wet trying to fill the bath and were unable to turn the shower head off.

The proprieter was polite but not over friendly which we prefer.

Hotel very close to shops and restaurants.

Holsts house and St Marys Church is worth a visit.

Enjoyed our city break very much but Cheltenham is not a city we would make a return trip to in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor Painswick room overlooking the road. We slept with the window open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiritfrombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at Lypiatt House last Saturday night with my husband, parents and cousins. We were stunned by the beauty of this hotel, it is perfectly decorated, luxurious furniture and a very enjoyable stay. My cousin had a room on the first floor which was just beautiful, I was very jealous! My parents, husband & I had the two top rooms which were very comfortable, clean and well supplied.
Reffering to a previous review, no, there isn't a seperate dressing table, and lighting isn't great in the bathroom, but the mirror on the bedside table was more than adequate for applying make-up. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and lovely :oD
My only disappointment was with the owners lack of friendliness and warm welcome, there was little enthusiasm in our arrival and activities and when returning to collect our bags after a wander round Cheltenham, the lady of the house was particularly stand-offish and didn't hang around to see us off. Such a shame.

Room Tip: For added luxury, ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Initial impressions very good. Immaculately clean, beautiful lounge and fresh flowers. We stayed in the Painswick room on the first floor. spotlessly clean, water and tea and coffee provided. Beautiful big bath but the only minor criticism is that both the bath and shower attachment came on together. We used the honesty bar for a pre dinner drink and the rates were very reasonable. Sue and robert were charming and work very hard to provide guests with everything they could need. The crowning glory was the breakfast, 5 star service and lovely hot plates and food. I ordered poached egg and bacon and my husband had the full english. spotless presentation and we fond the proprieters charming. we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Lypiatt should have impressed us as it has other reviewers - but somehow we left feeling a little let down. It is beautifully furnished, the breakfast was enjoyable and we thought the honesty bar a welcome touch. Our room was small (top floor) but we expected that due to other review comments. So why our reservations? We decided it was due to detailed flaws. Some examples. We received a polite welcome but were not shown to our room. There was nowhere that provided a 'dressing table' function; drying hair & applying makeup whilst sitting on the floor? It should not be so. The bathroom only had lights at one end - so the basin and beyond was gloomy. Why the oversight? The young lady serving breakfast was nervous and awkward. Are any of these things show-stoppers? Not really, but they eroded the professionalism and value of Lypiatt, such that we would think twice about returning.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are small and compromised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruachcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
1.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lypiatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lypiatt House

Address: Lypiatt Rd. | Only 5 Minute Walk From Centre - Free Parking, Cheltenham GL50 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £91 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lypiatt House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic central location with FREE PARKING - only 5 minute walk to the centre - grand Victorian villa, inspired by the Regency era and set in it's own lovely gardens, Lypiatt House Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable, stylish experience for any guest who stays with us. The Lypiatt still retains it's elegant features with a modern twist. Situated in Montpellier, Cheltenham's very fashionable district and only 3 minutes walk into town where you will find fabulous restaurants, bars, wine bars and of course some of the best shopping outside London. Lypiatt House stands quietly away from the hustle and bustle so if you are looking for a relaxing few days or a break from business, you will find it at Lypiatt House. Cheltenham is a wonderful Regency Spa town with a great buzz. Lots of festivals, including the famous horse racing happen here, so always something interesting and stimulating to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Lypiatt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lypiatt House Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing