We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lypiatt House
Ranked #25 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2012

A perfect Hotel in one of Cheltenhams quieter areas. The rooms are superb, the breakfast is evrything you could wish for and there is off road parking. The main town is a 10 minute walk away with many restaurants just around the corner.
We have tried the multinational chain hotels which always leave us feeling we are intruding on their space, at Lypiatt House we were made to feel at home.
Our future stays in the area will always be at Lypiatt House.

Room Tip: Front of house rooms facing car parking may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

We got a good value room at this hotel when the one we usually stay at was full. The room was a little smaller than I anticipated with it being in the eves of the house, but it was well furnished and decorated and had a very modern shower room. It was perfect for a one night stay. I am sure there are bigger rooms if you pay a premium for them.

The location was great with the added bonus of parking on site. An easy walk to town or to some restaurants that are just out of town. Breakfast was an excellent spread with lots of fresh fruit choices and pastries etc. There is a conservatory with an honesty bar which I think is a lovely touch and we had the place to ourselves when we sat there in the afternoon with a glass of wine! The owner was very friendly and helpful and happy to make recommendations.

We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Lypiatt House offers a comfortable, quiet stay with probably one of the best breakfasts yet. Our room was tastefully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The location is ideal for a visit to Cheltenham's shopping precinct and offers on-site parking, which was a definite bonus.

Only improvement I could suggest is a little more flexibility on the breakfast hours; 7:30 to 8:30 leaves little time for a lie in on a break.

Room Tip: I shared a twin room with my daughter, the Montpellier was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nice accommodation but very poor customer service. Despite confirming my arrival time by email the gentleman denied all knowledge of this and made me feel both unwelcome and uncomfortable. Even showing a copy of their email response to jog his memory fell on deaf ears! i was left to take my two heavy bags up two sets of stairs on my own and was given no information about breakfast or any of the other facilities. I certainly will not be staying here on my next trip to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We venture to Cheltenham every now and then and for our last 3 visits we have stayed at Lypiatt House. Initially this was because of it's close proximity to Le Champignon Sauvage restaurant - a 5 minute stroll - but it has proven to be our accommodation of choice. The location is first class, it has private parking and the hosts are lovely. We were given the 'Andover' room on this particular stay and we were more than happy. The floor to ceiling windows and beautiful period detail are lovely and the shower was as good as any hotel 'power' shower - just what you need to wake you up first thing in the morning !. If you read the guest comment book, you'll see numerous compliments for the breakfasts they serve, all of the compliments are spot on and well deserved. A suberb spread with the freshest fruit, pots of coffee for you to help yourself to and a 'cook to order' full breakfast menu to add to this. We have never been disappointed with our visits to Lypiatt House and will continue to stay here when we return to Cheltenham. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SockMonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is the best bed and beakfast we have ever stayed in. Excellent service from the proprietors; very attractive public rooms, quality breakfast, comfortable room. The hotel was a bit difficult to find because there is no sign outside. The name is painted vertically on the gateway.

Room Tip: Montpellier was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

A lovely Victorian house close to the Montpellier district. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in our Standard Double Room as it was a tiny austere room located in the attic, which would have been the original servants quarters. And there was no help with our luggage up the stairs. There was only a very small cluttered cupboard for our clothes and there were five tiny drawers not suitable for anything but socks. There was no desk, no dressing table and just one easy chair. Hardly suitable as a double room. The tiny television, smaller than my laptop screen, suffered frequent signal dropouts totally spoiling my viewing of the Olympics. There was no TV in the downstairs lounge either. The room upgrade was unacceptably expensive for a couple but oddly, not for a single occupant. No surpise they were mostly empty. Although the breakfast is only served between 7.30 and 8.30am weekdays the fresh fruit is beautifully prepared and the English breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: The Standard Double Rooms represents poor value and would only suit single business travellers. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthLondonMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lypiatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lypiatt House

Address: Lypiatt Rd. | Only 5 Minute Walk From Centre - Free Parking, Cheltenham GL50 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £96 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lypiatt House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic central location with FREE PARKING - only 5 minute walk to the centre - grand Victorian villa, inspired by the Regency era and set in it's own lovely gardens, Lypiatt House Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable, stylish experience for any guest who stays with us. The Lypiatt still retains it's elegant features with a modern twist. Situated in Montpellier, Cheltenham's very fashionable district and only 3 minutes walk into town where you will find fabulous restaurants, bars, wine bars and of course some of the best shopping outside London. Lypiatt House stands quietly away from the hustle and bustle so if you are looking for a relaxing few days or a break from business, you will find it at Lypiatt House. Cheltenham is a wonderful Regency Spa town with a great buzz. Lots of festivals, including the famous horse racing happen here, so always something interesting and stimulating to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lypiatt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lypiatt House Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing