We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful small hotel”
Review of Lypiatt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lypiatt House
Ranked #25 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Lypiat House on way home from Devon.Found Cheltenham a charming town and the Lypiat delightful.Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. There was a lovely residents lounge and an honesty bar.The hotel was full and everyone arrived for breakfast at same time as these were cooked to order we had to wait a bit to be served but to be fair we had been warned when we checked ii but it was worth waiting for. the hotel is excellently situated for Cheltenham and next time we are this way will have no hesitation in staying here

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grogandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife chose it through booking.com. First the good things: very pleasant and quiet area, beautiful house, convenient parking, generous breakfast the combination of English and modern healthy. However: Not easy to find without GPS, the owners should offer instructions, as the town centre one-way system is horrific. Maybe because of the 'offer' through an agency, we were given the top floor (no lift) room with dangerous ceilings, no A/C , albeit nicely fitted out. Worst of all, no hotel should tell you that if you arrive after 9 o/c the key will be left in the porch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the greeting by Robert, through the delightfully appointed lounge with honesty bar, the comfy beds and excellent en suite, to a breakfast from excellent ingredients and beautifully presented the say was as in the title - practically perfect in every way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Freemasonsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would not advise ever staying at this accommodation
Having stayed in many hotels and bed a breakfasts around the uk we have never been treated so rudely and experienced such a vile individual - there are obviously issues going on but this should not reflect on the way paying customers are treated - we didn't even unpack and moved to a more accommodating hotel in Cheltenham.
Being sworn at by the owner is not the way to treat paying customers!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stay here every year for business and would highly recommend it for business or pleasure. It reasonably priced and you get more for your money than some of the local chain restaurants.

The superior rooms and bathrooms are large, clean and comfortable. Each room is individually designed to a high standard and has all the comforts you need.

The breakfast is a good quality with fruit fruits and cooked breakfasts to order.

There is also an honesty bar in conservatory we have used some evenings.

It is a 5 minute walk from Montpelier where there are lots of good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Hallams_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My mum was taken here for a nice surprise visit to the cheltenham area and is recommending it to her friends..lovely cosy room with a great sleep and nice breakfast too..plenty of choice thankyou for a nice welcome x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 268daisy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This B and B is situated in a very convenient area of Cheltenham and is easily acccessible to the town. The house is beautiful and in a fairly quiet location. Our room was tastefully decorated,very comfortable and had a good bathroom.
The quality of the breakfast was good with a lovely selection of fruit and all food was cooked to order.
The girl who served breakfast was friendly, but the whole experience was somewhat spoiled by being told to get out of the breakfast room on a Sunday morning at 10.30a.m. Approximately 10 people were still in the breakfast room at the time and the lady who cooked the breakfast appeared and rather aggresively told us that she and her staff needed to have their breakfast too. It could have been said in a much more pleasant way! Customer service is not the strength here as I didn't feel particularly welcome at any time, but if you are not looking for this then it is a pleasant B and B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hembury_Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#3 of 69 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lypiatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lypiatt House

Address: Lypiatt Rd. | Only 5 Minute Walk From Centre - Free Parking, Cheltenham GL50 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £96 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lypiatt House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic central location with FREE PARKING - only 5 minute walk to the centre - grand Victorian villa, inspired by the Regency era and set in it's own lovely gardens, Lypiatt House Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable, stylish experience for any guest who stays with us. The Lypiatt still retains it's elegant features with a modern twist. Situated in Montpellier, Cheltenham's very fashionable district and only 3 minutes walk into town where you will find fabulous restaurants, bars, wine bars and of course some of the best shopping outside London. Lypiatt House stands quietly away from the hustle and bustle so if you are looking for a relaxing few days or a break from business, you will find it at Lypiatt House. Cheltenham is a wonderful Regency Spa town with a great buzz. Lots of festivals, including the famous horse racing happen here, so always something interesting and stimulating to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lypiatt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lypiatt House Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing