We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prestigia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
sallymarch
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom

Lovely stay meeting up with friend

Review of Lypiatt House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Sept 2016
My friend and I had two of the top rooms here during our recent very pleasant stay. The hosts were welcoming, helpful and friendly, offering advice in eating out and directions. My room was a small double that I had to myself. Spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast had super choice of fruit, cereals etc before a freshly cooked English. There was also a comfortable lounge and conservatory with an honesty bar. Location very easy for walking about the town.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£89
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£72
  • HIExpress.com
    £72
  • Priceline
    £72
  • Expedia.com
    £72
0.9 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£104
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£251
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from Lypiatt House
Booking.com
£70
  • Doubletree
    £70
  • Trip.com
    £63
  • Priceline
    £70
1.9 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £91
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £138
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Algotels
2.0 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    £63
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cheltenham
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
109
67
22
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
67
22
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is a quality boutique hotel ,white linen , a classy lounge and very easy to reach the city centre with good quality restaurants nearby.
We booked this hotel as we had a long drive home from Cornwall,the hosts were very pleasant and could not have done any more for us.
Breakfast ( which for me is a measure of quality) was perfect,well cooked and hot when served.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank derekmarples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely gem of a hotel. Victorian design with tall ceilings & old fashioned charm, with up to date facilities and great service. Tania and Frank, the managers, were very welcoming, good humoured and helpful when it came to finding out about Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. We saw a lot of the area in a short time and we will always be grateful for Frank's recommendations.
Do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We have been at a family wedding and stayed at the LYPIATT - not a good experience. We were in the 'apartment' - this consisted of two very poorly lit rooms with no space to hang an evening dress and a shared bathroom. The owner was an exceptionally rude lady both to us and other guests, expecting payment on arrival, even before we had seen our room. In fact her whole persona was one of rudeness.

The weekend did NOT improve and the final straw was having milk in the room for coffee that was out of date in April 16 - one lump of conjealed milk or two!

The term 'hotel' I somewhat over rated - this is a bed and breakfast facility and a very poor one at that!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Devon1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed for 2 nights unfortunately did not read reviews beforehand. We booked online and did not really take notice if was for specific room. Unfortunately we ended up with very small room at top of house. Room was spotlessly clean but bed very small double. Also lighting was awful when trying to do make up and get ready to go to a wedding. Although the staff seemed pleasant, the lady I think was the owner was very rude to one of the other guests at breakfast. Do much so that on our second morning we did not bother to go down for breakfast. Although advertised as 5star luxury boutique hotel, I would not rate the room we had as this, as was very small.

Room tip: Do not choose attic room on top floor
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank TraceyC374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Unfortunately this beautiful b and b, in a fantastic location is heavily let down by a shocking landlady who has left us feeling cold. Paid just over £130 for a room (which we were more than happy to pay for something a little special) but we couldn't wait to leave. Having now read some previous reviews about the owners we now wish we had stayed somewhere else. We were left shocked at some of the comments made during our stay to us and in the breakfast room. We feel these people do not want to make your stay as pleasurable as possible for you but you as the customer have to work around their stresses! Do not expect to have a leisurely breakfast. We were made to feel that we had to eat and get out of the restaurant as quick as possible. We didn't even receive all of our breakfast and just decided to leave. It's a shame as the main breakfast was tasty and well cooked. For many people, going away for the weekend is a special treat, we felt tense and uncomfortable while staying here. We can see some lovely reviews here and that we were some of the unlucky guests who had a very negative experience, but we are not alone in this. My advice would be to read the reviews, and spend your very hard earned money at a place where you will be warmly welcomed and made to feel like they are pleased to have your custom.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank sandbanks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews