We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
49Han1985
London, United Kingdom

I can't imagine there's a better place to stay in Cheltenham

Review of Lypiatt House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Feb 2017
My mum and I stayed at Lypiatt House for 2 nights over a weekend and had a fantastic time. The rest of the guests were couples so the hotel appeals to different groups of people. The location was perfect...an easy walk into the town centre. This is a massive plus in conjunction with the on-site parking as Cheltenham is difficult to find a space in. Breakfast was included in our stay, which was great - a choice of croissants, full english, fruit and yoghurt made a great start to our day. The free wi-fi had a great connection too. The room was lovely - very quaint. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was fine. Considering what a central location we stayed in, there was hardly any noise from the roads and we enjoyed an 8 minute walk to some lovely restaurants in Montpellier. The hosts were fantastic - answered any questions we had and explained everything on arrival. I'd never visited Cheltenham before so was very lucky with our hotel choice, but will definitely return to stay at Lypiatt House.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£107
  • Expedia.com
    £119
  • Agoda.com
    £95
  • Hotels.com
    £119
0.3 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£66
  • Expedia.com
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £54
  • Hotels.com
    £91
0.5 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£85
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Agoda.com
    £82
  • Priceline
    £94
0.2 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£151
  • Expedia.com
    £151
  • ZenHotels.com
    £131
  • Hotels.com
    £151
0.4 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£72
  • Expedia.com
    £72
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • HIExpress.com
    £72
0.9 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£82
  • Expedia.com
    £82
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Priceline
    £77
2.0 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£104
  • Priceline
    £115
  • Vio.com
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £104
1.2 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£251
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £251
  • ZenHotels.com
    £244
  • Hotels.com
    £251
3.0 miles from Lypiatt House
Booking.com
£71
  • Expedia.com
    £71
  • Trip.com
    £63
  • Priceline
    £71
1.9 miles from Lypiatt House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cheltenham
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
109
67
22
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
67
22
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Spent the night in Cheltenham for my birthday. A good choice.The hotel was welcoming and ideally situated for exploring Cheltenham. this was our first visit to the town and everything was within walking distance.
The hotel was very clean and all the staff were welcoming. The breakfast was good

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Issyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Great location , nice walking distance to town. Lovely building , well maintained and spotlessly clean. We liked the owners who were proud of their town. It's not cheap but nor is Cheltenham! Our room and bed were small and there's no bar but drinks are available in the conservatory. For £110 a night in many towns and cities you'd get much more but many places in Cheltenham are £200 a night! That would buy you better facilities though. All in all a lovely weekend in a great, classy town. For a 5 star guest house I'd have appreciated a bigger bed in a larger room.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing house in a idyllic setting
Rooms are large with the whole house retaining its Georgian features.
Good breakfast with lots of variety
Hosts eager to help out where possible

No issues at all!!
Most excellent.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Worksetsyoufree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for the weekend as we wanted a central location for a spot of Xmas shopping.

We were greeted with a very warm welcome to the charming building. Out top floor room was a little on the small side but this didn't really matter. There was a very nice lounge and conservatory if we wanted more space. An honesty box for the bar was rather quaint and lovely.

First class breakfast made freshly to order proved to be a great start to the day.

The town centre was only a 10 minute or so walk into town so ideal and closely located to lots of nice restaurants.

Couldn't fault it and would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BaggiesDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Beautiful old building, super lounge, wonderful conservatory and as friendly, professional, family type welcome as you could wish for.

Great value for money and the best hotel breakfast I have ever had (more than 500 in my career).

Yes it is not cheap and the top floor is quite a climb but it is well worth it, 5 minutes from the best shopping area and restaurants, we will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews