We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Greatfield

The Greatfield
Ranked #208 of 453 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: US$8 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Visit The Greatfield in Cheltenham for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Cheltenham, we’re a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our weekly quiz, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Visited here for a meal prior to a wedding ceremony.
Had the two courses for 6.95, food was good quality, fresh and hot.
The chocolate brownie was the best I have ever had!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nati18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    26
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham Spa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better all the time.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I started off with a low opinion of this place but during the last year it has improved beyond recognition. The staff are now well trained and helpful and friendly. The food is pretty good. I think this is up to bistro standards. The menu is quite extensive but not expensive. I think we will visit more frequently in the future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian29CheltenhamSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been a regular customer of this pub for 20 years. I usually have a pleasant time, but tonight on the 31st of Janurary at closing time (last orders just called) the toilets were locked, so asked a member of staff why they were locked. Her reply was "pee outside" she reluctantly unlocked them. When challenging this on my way out I am asked to keep my voice down. No one then seems to find this an issue. It it normal to "pee in the park" on the way home. Am I the only one that finds this offensive?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, setting and low on cost”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I visited this pub/restaurant for a works christmas meal and was pleasantly surprised. The food was lovely, huge portions and with most people all trying different dishes in our party there wasn't anyone who was left disappointed. Also the cost for the christmas meal being 3 courses was brilliant as I have eaten out several times this month and nothing compares to this menu for choice, value and great food. Highly recomend it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmudgerSJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I usually come here when I visit Cheltenham and have a catch up with my friends. I ordered the chicken chimney pie but it was so dry inside, the puff pastry was burnt and the shortcrust pastry wasnt quite cooked. I asked for chips but they still gave me crushed up baby potatoes. The veg was overcooked and withered, tasted bitter? The waiter was probably new as he seemed confused and when I put up my hand to indicate the eton mess was mine, he just left it on the edge of the table about 2 metres away from me! Yes the food is cheap but bit hit and miss.

Helpful?
Thank clockface123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greatfield also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Greatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing