We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub could be So much better”
Review of Norwood Arms

Norwood Arms
Ranked #244 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
200 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pub could be So much better”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Ive been to the Norwood several times, but this is first time eating since 'refit'. The pub has always been blighted with getting served, it's a nightmare and this visit was no exception.

Ordered some food and it took 40 mins to get to table, and then only after we complained. Sat in front terrace trying to soak up sun and ambience but found it difficult as chefs dance music was pumping out from the Kitchen at high volume. We quickly eat our food and then queued up 4 deep at bar to pay tab off. Guy serving behind bar on his own then had to stop serving to go and serve food to table. Luckily an off duty member off staff could see queue growing and helped out.

No complaints on the quality of food or drink, if only they could up their game on the service. The pub is such a busy venue for food, I would have thought it would be viable for waiting staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank DavePGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    43
    30
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Found this place by accident and so glad I did, staff brilliant, food excellent and lovely decor, whish I could have spent more time there, well done

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff do not care”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went in here last Sunday, approx 5pm. There were about 25 people waiting to be served at the bar, with one disinterested server, who was more concerned with looking sultry than serving.
Food took about 50mins to arrive, and was dissappointing. We could hear another customer having to send her food back because it was cold and microwaved. Obviously a bit of money has been spent with the decor, but they need to motivate their staff. The Lansdown (also a Greene King?) seems to get it right, with efficient staff!! Will not be returning to the Norwood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1230918736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A little characterless but overall it's fine”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Norwood Arms looks every bit a chain pub. The bought-in 'character' is typical of the family chain pubs that Britain is full of. However, it is quite well done, and it is much better than a lot of similar-style places.

It is quite a large pub but has lots of nooks and crannies so you can always find a quiet spot. The bar staff are always friendly and they have a good range of drinks, particularly real ales (which they will serve in a handled glass if you wish).

The menu is typical pub-grub, with the usual assortment of sausage and mash, pies, ham, egg and chips etc. The food appears reasonably priced at first, although the quality of the produce is slightly below par for a modern pub. Nonetheless, you'd probably be happy enough, given the cost.

There is a large-ish garden to sit out in during summer and there is also a car park, which is a refundable pay-and-display affair.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Decent food, and they were open!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were looking for someplace to eat at 5 p.m. on a Saturday evening (since the place we planned on was fully booked). Up and down the street restaurants were either already closed or not serving so early. I was delighted to find someplace that served all day. There's lots of seating capacity both indoors and outdoors, and we were quite content with our food. The pub is very kid friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank organicprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norwood Arms also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Gloucestershire, England
 

Been to Norwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing