We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful friendly staff, beautiful ornate small gem of a theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Everyman Theatre

Everyman Theatre
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very helpful friendly staff, beautiful ornate small gem of a theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Everyman is a relatively small theatre, which means that all the seats are 'good' and not too far from the stage and adds to the great atmosphere.
Right from the very helpful booking staff, the bar staff, the door staff & the Manager all helped to make the experience an extremely pleasant one.
The show was brilliant.
Parking in the Regent Arcade is joined to the back of the theatre and for £2.50 for the night after 5.30pm ... very convenient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmandaDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    88
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been to this theatre many times over the past few years and have always had a great time. The shows are wonderful and we have always come away from there smiling or laughing.
It's a must go to place for a great afternoon or evening or even for a morning coffee in their coffee shop.
Catch a show soon, you will love it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyn_attwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What have they done?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went to the Everyman recently, the first time since the refurbishment - what a disappointment!! How the poor staff at the ticket office hear anyone speaking is a mystery. There has never been a lot of room to move anywhere in the theatre and it seems worse than ever. The ladies toilets are just terrible - women that were queuing had to stand between the wash hand basins so that people could get passed to go out and there was only room for about four women to queue. I will go to one of the local pubs for pre-theatre and interval drinks in future so that I can move! The auditorium is lovely but the seats don't seem any better than before. I have always felt that you have to choose the show carefully as the stage is so small that I have seen performances where the actors and/or dancers are almost bumping into each other! That said I do think we are very lucky to have a lovely theatre in Cheltenham (well two in fact) but there are some shows I would rather travel to a bigger theatre to see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morwenna40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super little theatre - and surprisingly opulent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I come here from time to time with my wife. It's a great little theatre, well run with good refreshments and comfy seats. The auditorium is something to behold; Cheltenham regency opulence at its best! Staff are generally friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice small traditional theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were staying in Cheltenham and called in to see if any tickets were available that evening,
the lovely lady in the box office had just received a cancellation so we were in luck. With the
play due to commence in less than an hour we elected to stay in the very small but very comfortable bar/café at ground level. Excellent light meals on offer - very good service from the
staff ( lots of them ). The theatre itself is rather nice and traditional, the sell out play was excellent. The loos let the theatre down, I have never, ever encountered such a narrow room
with ladies all trying to squeeze past each other - not easy even for the stick thin, I can only
assume that this is the only possible arrangement. All in all a very good visit, best bit was the
lovely lady from the box office who came to sit down near us during her mini coffee break.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsuzy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everyman Theatre also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Everyman Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing