We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best roast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Jug - CLOSED

Brown Jug
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Chreltenham
1 review
“Best roast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Best roast in Cheltenham. Amazing value for money, great service, faultless food and lovely atmosphere. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomOsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheltenham Races Breakfast great to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent for Cheltenham Races. The staff at the Brown Jug fed, watered and looked after our needs! The races saw to the rest. Excellent staff. Brilliant food. Atmosphere was great.
This is a proper pub.
It's my local. I love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stourman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Hen Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Thanks so much to Rod and Alicja. We held a welcome reception for a Hen Party at The Brown Jug. The staff were incredibly warm and welcoming. I emailed with fairly short notice and they bent over backwards to deliver great food and wonderful drinks at an incredibly reasonable price. We will definitely be coming back. My mum and I also had lunch at the pub the week before the party and we enjoyed a lovely lunch in the bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SdeL1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great Sunday lunch. Food was hot and tasty. Good choice of desserts as well. Good value for money. Will definitely come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank wyliemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Sunday roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I was always wary of a pub roast as invariably, they contain flabby meat and sigh veg but the Brown Jug's roast chicken was DELICIOUS! The meat was juicy and tender, the mixed vegetables flavored beautifully and the Yorkshire pudding and gravy as good as any I have made at home. Would highly recommend this friendly pub and I'm so pleased it has revived my love of pub Sunday roasts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Jug also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Woodmancote, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing