We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reliable Thai”
Review of The Vine

The Vine
Ranked #66 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good reliable Thai”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited The Vine a few times in the lays year and have always enjoyed it. We came this time for a family birthday, and as always the good lived up to expectations. We shared a starter platter for four, every element of which was very good. We then moved on to mains from both the main menu and the early evening menu. The Pad Thai was good, and the various curries all hit the mark with plenty of meat and good tasty sauces.

The pub has a good range of real ales (three when we visited). I only tried the Shagweaver but it was very good.

Allin, very nice indeed, and for a fair price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommend avoiding if you plan to eat”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure how this place received so many positive reviews. The "Thai" food tastes like it was made out of a can from the grocery store. It has that preserved taste to it that is characteristic of canned curry paste. I ordered the jungle curry and it was more like a soup than a curry. Sure, they advertised that it had no coconut milk in it, but that doesn't mean it should be pure liquid! I've had many jungle curries and this was way off the mark. I did enjoy the heat at least, which helped to mask the canned curry flavor. The one nice thing about this place is they have a decent beer selection and might be enjoyable if you are only planning to drink. But don't come here for the Thai food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank blackmamba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My boyfriend and I love this place!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Everything about it. Food. Drink. Staff. Location.

Only complaint i have is that others have not rated it the 5 stars!!

Well priced and well fed.

Keep it up guys and girls

Helpful?
Thank MrCinGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Can't beat it!!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great food, great value, great beer, and great music. If you want an informal meal out you just can't beat it. We'll be back......

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albrighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spot-on”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have visited this place twice in recent weeks and cannot recommend it highly enough. The choice of beer and wine is very good. The service is great. The guys and girls who serve the food and drinks always serve with a smile and are all very polite. Now the food - it is to die for, absolutely fantastic. Great quality and plenty of it - very tasty. I will be going again in a week or so – cant wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vine also viewed

 

Been to The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing