We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exciting Thai menu!”
Review of The Railway

The Railway
Ranked #130 of 473 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: £12 - £20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We’re tucked away just few minutes walk away from the bustle of Cheltenham town centre. We are free of tie and proud to be stocking some of the best independent and local brands of beers, wines & spirits from around Gloucestershire and neighbouring counties, We are excited to bring you amazing food from Smokey Phi Phi, providing the hot, smoky, fresh taste of genuine Thai street food to you from the smoky wood and fiery coals of our very own barbecue throughout the year. Come down and enjoy our glorious beer garden or roaring fires, bring the dog, bring a friend and we look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Had a meal at the railway last night and tried out their new Thai Menu. The food was great, very fresh and exciting. Quality of the food is very high and from reading the menu, it appears as if the meat is sourced locally, which is nice to see. The staff are excellent and have a very good attitude towards the customer. All in all, highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deanmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Popular venue, mainly younger folk but they don't mind oldies like me.
Quiz was good and beer fine. We came second. Helpful, knowledgeable and attractive staff (can I still say that).
Pub much bigger than it appears from a walk by.
We'll be back.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kieranWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We really enjoyed vegan sausage and mash here. So good to have a separate vegan menu. Lovely place,friendly staff.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vacvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

The decor was beautiful and plenty of outside seating was great for a summers day. The chef also gave out some free samples which was greatly appreciated. The female bartenders service could have been better hence 4 instead of 5.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank amymurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2017

About 15 of us went to celebrate the end of the academic year, and successful completion of their degree studies. There was a terrific barbeque, excellent folk singer; good beers on offer. And a quirky 'garden'/ outside area.....just a delight.

Staff always friendly and helpful; we went for our Christmas bash last year....sure we'll go again....oh, and the sausage and mash specialities are cracking!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArmenianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Railway also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.