We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little theatre.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheltenham Playhouse

Cheltenham Playhouse
Ranked #20 of 60 things to do in Cheltenham
Attraction details
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Lovely little theatre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely little theatre, very grand inside very traditional.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Parking an issue, especially at busy times.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely Traditional Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Last night I went to my favourite theatre in Cheltenham, The Playhouse. Such a lovely small intimate theatre with friendly staff and reasonable prices. The play 'Love in the Mist' was excellent and so well acted, five characters played so well by just two people, Paul Scott and Rachael Prudden, I give them a mention because of the excellent performances of these two talented people.
We have already bought tickets for 'Steel Magnolias' and 'Fiddler on the Roof' and look forward to our visits in the next few weeks.
Thank you 'The Playhouse' so such good entertainment at reasonable prices so that we retired folk can afford to have a good night out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“amazing theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

lovey place to visit with friends... good quality show... great seats.. good choice and not too expensive..a lovely theatre :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely old fashioned theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an old fashioned theatre in need of some renovation but it has a great charm and the shows are of a high standard. A lovely place for a good night out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheltholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“pretty and traditional inside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went there nine years ago to watch my daughters school perform, the theatres entrance and outside was a little weary and needed some kind of face lift or even a paintbrush!
Last week we went back and what a difference very beautiful inside and out!
Nice surprise.
Be aware of the one way system in Cheltenham!
Opposite the theatre there's a fee paying car park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheltenham Playhouse also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cheltenham Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing