We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant evening with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross Hands

Cross Hands
Ranked #169 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely venue with a nice menu. Food was served hot and in good time. Price reasonable. Staff very friendly and willing to please. Will certainly visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    39
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ålesund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible all Round!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My 7 year old daughter chose that she wanted to go here for her birthday meal.... ok I won't go into a full rant but some of the issues...

- food, ok it's a beefeater so you don't expect the best food in the world but it was poor, my wife's veggie burger in particular was basically cardboard in a crappy bap with a few nasty fries
- service. It looked busy, reason for that was it was soooo slow. We were in there for over 2 hrs when we wanted a quick meal
- staff. Plenty of them but just not interested. Just chatting, looking at the floor and not responding in any way.
- toilets. Nasty, very nasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tinmanbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stick to the burgers and steaks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have frequented this restaurant many times but never on Father's Day. We turned up at 2p.m. Dad's beefburger was excellent, my husband and I chose a roast beef dinner. This was very disappointing, it was very dry, like it had been under a hot lamp for a long time and the roast potatoes were inedible. The service was a bit indifferent too, although the restaurant was half empty after the lunchtime rush.
My advice is, when ordering, stick to what Beefeater do best; steaks and grills. The other stuff is either mediocre or cooked along time before it is ordered.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayneycatperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely poor! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this restraunt last night for a birthday meal, (party of 15) we were seated upstairs, table wasn't ready for us, they were moving tables & chairs around as we were supposed to be bring seated, lady came to take orders only to be told no rump steak! Advised we could all have sirloin, although this is actually £2 dearer. Staff not willing to compromise on the bill. When ordering the steak we were asked how we would like it cooked. Simple question so you would think! Apparantley the choices are : blue, med/rare or med/well. Why not just medium? The waitress was extremely miserable & very rude ! We then proceeded with having to wait for an hour for starters to arrive. When the main meals eventually arrived, they had made a total mess of it, meals were arriving incomplete. Steak sauces had been ordered but not delivered. We had also ordered bottomless chips, complete waste of time as we had all virtually finished when asked if we wanted a refill. When ordering drinks from the table it was at least 20 - 30 mins for them to arrive. Much quicker to go downstairs to the empty bar to get it! Finally after speaking to the manager for the night she agreed to take a couple of meals off the bill to compensate for the poor service. She informed us that there had been a supply issue with the rump steak & that they would be getting more in on Sunday! Not a lot of good to us! However she did try & sort something out for us. Overall I would not reccomend this resteraunt & I will certainly not eat there again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rdusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is one of our favourite restaurants and we always enjoy our food here. The steaks are well worth the money and there are always special offers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Hands also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cross Hands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing