We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again.....and again.....and (soon to be) again!”

Koloshi Indian Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is known for its regional subcontinent cooking, combining high-quality fresh products with sophisticated flavours to create refined Indian dishes. Chef Azad Hussain and his team have mastered the art of Indian regional cuisine over the years The interiors combine sleek, contemporary design with the welcoming atmosphere intoxicating mix of old and new. The restaurant's strong tradition of service and authentic food are enjoyed with this iconic and modern dining rooms.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Again.....and again.....and (soon to be) again!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've been to Koloshi 5 times this year (twice in the last two weeks - and we were 'recognised' as we arrived) and are going again in two weeks time. Each time we've enjoyed the experience with 'Koloshi first timers' - and all have said just how good it is. The menu offers something different to that of other Indian restaurants, the food is excellent and well presented, the service remains very good.
If you've read our previous reviews of Koloshi you'll know we are big fans of this restaurant - and we'll go again after the next booking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    70
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the trip - great food!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

When you drive past, this restaurant looks rather unassuming. However, we like to try new places and we are very glad we did. Quite simply, the food at Koloshi is fabulous. A really interesting menu - with lots of regional dishes - and incredibly well executed. The nan bread was some of the best I've ever had. Our starters and mains were excellent and it is obvious that there is a very good chef behind the food.
Koloshi suffers from being a bit out of town and the decor is perhaps a bit plain but the food and service more than make up for it. It's worth the trip - we will definitely return. Great value for money too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkandLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious as usual”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very friendly staff and yet again a faultless meal. They've never let us down - always delicious and always full of flavour. Not your high street curry place but truly restaurant quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxyhorse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Forget Generic!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Forget the usual gloopy, generic curries and co that you'll find on any High Street, this is Indian food at the higher end. Every part of this meal was faultless and best of all the spices could be tasted and by spices I don't simply mean chilli/heat.

Lamb chops for starters were fine dining quality - beautiful quality meat with an inspired but not overpowering spice crust - this is better than Tayhabs in London's Whitechapel where they queue around the block every night and getting a table is like finding the Holy Grail.

I could go on but little point. It's more expensive than your Raj and your Taj Mahal but its class and quality. Oh but don't forget the beetroot chutney and the gratis choice of spirits at the end of the meal.

Superb

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonjack315970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and i had a fantastic meal.

Food was amazing - had curry served in a coconut! definitely NOT the run of the meal Indian restaurant. we will be back. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koloshi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Koloshi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing