We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness personified”
Review of Alice Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alice Guest House
Ranked #41 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Congleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kindness personified”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife , Vee , and I had a very enjoyable weekend stay at the Alice Guest House because
it was lovely and cosy and the hosts so warm and friendly . In fact I didn't know when to
stop chatting as they treated us almost like family ! I even got to practise my French with
one of the hosts .
We enjoyed our Chinese buffet at the Brewery only because the lady host told us about it-
we had no idea this dining area existed in Cheltenham and were delighted to find it so
near to this guest house. Very convenient .
Also enjoyed the large screen on the tv in our room and the continental breakfast in the morning.
Will definitely stay here again. Much nicer than at a hotel .
David Trembath

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
24
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Unfortunately wasn't made aware before booking that they only accept cash or cheque so had to head out to a cashpoint after arriving late in the evening and there isn't parking. The room I had inside the main house housed the boiler which made a racket for an hour before bedtime, making relaxing a challenge. The shared bathroom was lovely but acquired a strong smell of sulphur in the morning, which almost put me off what was a lovely breakfast. The owners were friendly and accommodating and the price was great, but perhaps the outside rooms would be a better option.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678MissE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked here for 1 night. I emailed the guest house direct to ask if the double room I had booked for 2 adults could accommodate my 5 year old son, They emailed back no problem.
Arrived, very nice owner, very clean little wooden chalet in garden all as expected but no bed for child just one small double. I was told by owner that she has no air bed/put up bed and she had not known I was bringing a child???!! As a result my husband spent a very uncomfortable night on the wooden floor and me and child had the bed.
We were too tired to argue as also had a long drive the next morning.
I would like to hope people can be honest and if cannot provide extra beds then they should advise prior to booking- This ruined what would otherwise have been an excellent little b and b and yes I am going to request a part refund-

Room Tip: make sure you ring if your booking is not done direct and you have special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunflower M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is my time leaving a review and this B & B totally deserves it!! i paid £40.00 which compared to other hotel and B &B's in Cheltenham is one of the cheapest but a proper hidden gem!

As soon as you ring the bell, you are greeted by the really pleasant and friendly owners who make you feel right at home!

I stayed in a standard double room with a shared bathroom. both which are very big and very clean!

the next time i stay in Cheltenham again, ill be back to this B & B for sure!! :)

just a little tip : the guest house does not accept credit cards. Be sure to have the cash with you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hua7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The owners and their children do make guests feel very welcome. Clean, charming room and no problem sharing the bath. Nice price. I was jet lagged so slept from the time I checked in (after a welcome cup of tea) to the next morning, undisturbed. Jean speaks both French and English. Guests should know that the guest house does not accept credit cards. Be sure to have the cash with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

just got back from cheltenham ukulele festival after staying at this gem of a b and b.nothing was too much trouble from owners,slept in a massive 4 poster bed,only, 7 minutes from town.lovely and clean with good continental breakfast. well recomended and for only £35.00 a night.will hopefully will return next year

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vespapx200e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

The owners Karen and Jean were so welcoming and hospitable which made my first visit to Cheltenham a fine and memorable one.

The guest house is situated pretty much in the city centre. It is approx 20 minutes walk from the Cheltenham Spa Railway Station and 10-15 minutes walk from the high street where you will find a broad selection of shops and restaurants including the harvester pub and grills in 'the Brewery' where I went dining after dropping of my luggage and nipping in and out a number of shops.

Although from what you can see on the map, this guest house is right next to one of the main roads but it was strangely quiet than I thought it would be once I entered the front gate through to the accommodation area. The chalet where I stayed faces their well loved and looked after garden bordered to this discontinued rail track on top of this peaceful looking old tall wall. The room is nicely decorated with African ornaments and well equipped with all facilities that one needs including a wall-mounted flat screen TV, little bar corner where the kettle and tea, coffee are.

My stay was most comfortable and I was made to feel like a VIP by the owner couple. Alice, oh how I look forward to staying in your wonderland again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirawat_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.9 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#24 of 70 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#5 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#40 of 70 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Little Manor
The Little Manor
#11 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Guest House

Property: Alice Guest House
Address: 141 Swindon Road, Cheltenham GL51 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alice Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Alice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing