We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good course to Play”

Naunton Downs Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naunton Downs Golf Club is an 18 hole, par 71 golf course, situated in a beautiful area of outstanding Cotswold countryside just outside Cheltenham in Gloucestershire, known for it's charm and tranquility. The Cotswold golf course was designed keeping the natural features and landscape in mind, and offers a challenge to suit golfers of all ages and abilities. The purpose built stone clubhouse sits quietly among the downs, and offers societies and players a comfortable and relaxing place to enjoy a meal or a drink with their friends after a game. We like to keep all the traditional qualities of a members golf club, such as good golfing etiquette, club committees and standards of dress. Naunton Downs is dry and playable during most of the winter period and is rarely closed. A premier Cotswold golf course set in a stunning area of outstanding natural beauty in the Cotswolds, near Cheltenham Gloucestershire, UK, Naunton Downs is amongst the most beautiful golf courses in England.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good course to Play”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Friends who had been there before recommended the course to us. The area does not have the top 100 courses but as a local course this is well worth playing. It is very well laid out and is easy to walk. Speed of play is good and the course is a nice challenge for a mid handicapper.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDGC, Manager at Naunton Downs Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your honest review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and I hope that you will come back and see us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon round ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyed a late afternoon round and absolutely great value for money. Saturday twilight at only £20 per person after 4 p.m.
The course is always in great condition and a challenge, we try and play here at least once a year, and are always made to feel welcome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7Simon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDGC, Manager at Naunton Downs Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are glad our Saturday afternoon rate is to your liking. With the course in great condition all year round it certainly is good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A Great Golf Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This course, in a lovely setting, has matured nicely over the years with each of the holes providing a different challenge. The bar with outside seating provides a good finale to what is always a challenging time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahOB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDGC, Manager at Naunton Downs Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to hear your positive comments. I hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
615 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice morning out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice Sunday morning golf with mates. Course in good condition and all main greens and teas. Course drains very well so good in all weathers.

Nice round and finished with a nice coffee and egg & bacon sandwich.

Good morning out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDGC, Manager at Naunton Downs Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time at the club. There is nothing better than a relaxing round of golf with your mates in a great environment. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Golf in all weathers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The only course to be open during this wet weather. Beautiful countryside, well kept challenging course and great catering. The only down side was the pro shop which had hardly anything for female golfers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy Beatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDGC, Manager at Naunton Downs Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are really proud to be the most free draining course in the area which stays open when most are unplayable and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your round. The lack of ladies things in the pro shop is unfortunately as a consequence of a small shop area. We do stock essentials for ladies such as balls, gloves, hats, shoes, socks and have tried in the past with ranges of ladies clothing but for us it didn't work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naunton Downs Golf Club also viewed

Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham
Charlton Kings, Cheltenham
 

Been to Naunton Downs Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing