We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but few nigglies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stylish but few nigglies”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The superior double was very stylish with ipod controller, free mini bar, lovely high ceilings and best of linens.

But, door knobs were stiff , not designed for easy grip ( although beautiful); I was locked in. And hand pumps on bottles of shampoo and soap did not work well.

However, these were minor irritants. I liked the informally dressed reception staff, the casual registration process ( in the lounge, with fresh elder water served) and their friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed one night. Bath in the room looks good in photographs but not good to use, a bit like trying to get in and out of a free-standing boat. No proper towel rail by bath, sink so shallow one got splashed, no towel rail by sink, great shower. Noisy air-condition system, very large room with good size windows but dark thanks to the bath tub in the corner. Also, no light above bathtub and if the curtain was drawn in the evening one sat in the bath in total darkness, as the lighting in the room as well as in the hotel in general is kept far too low. Booked alarm call which didn't come. Dinner - starter quite skimpy, main dishes fine and well presented, awful bread like out of tesco plastic bag. Same at breakfast - bland scrambled egg with slither of salmon, poor selection at breakfast, cheap looking milk jugs, terrible toast. Staff seemed efficient but disinterested, not engaging with diners, blank looks at breakfast. Drippy girls at reception, we greeted them before they greeted us! The staff here need training properly to be aware of customers at all times and not stand and chat among themselves. They didn't look as though they loved their jobs. The general feeling is that everything has been sacrificed for the designer look - the resulting faults make for disappointment at a fairly high price for rooms as well as food. This hotel must improve the staff, the food and the lighting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during the Royal Wedding.... We got a "walk in" rate of £90 per night. The Room was well appointment with complimentary Mini Bar and top range toiletries, Great shower, Very Very comfortable bed, ipod docking station & free News paper in the morning. The Breakfast was wonderful, both the buffet continental and the cooked breakfast! The hotel is right in the heart of Montpellier, with lots of bars and restaurants and shopping. The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive and the bar area is very relaxing. A great Stay and would definitely go there again..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I stayed at The Montpellier with my husband and 6 month old baby on a saturday night over a bank holiday. We were actually travelling back from Newcastle to Devon and wanted somewhere around half way to ease the journey with our baby.
On our initial telephone enquiry as we booked on the same morning the staff were very helpful and had no problem that we were bringing our baby with us and offered us a travel cot if we didnt have one already.
We arrived around 7pm and the hotel car park was full so the staff were very helpful and took all our bags into the lobby whilst they found an appropriate space for my husband. The hotel was busy and bustling (apparently the restaurant is very popular and you can tell by the amount of people meeting friends outside and also in the bar,so i would assume the restaurant is used quite a lot by non-residents)
A very helpful staff member lead us to our room which was on the ground floor. We had to walk through he restaurant which was unfortunate not only for us but fellow diners with all our luggage and baby in tow.
We paid for a 'Feature' room which is open plan and very modern in decor, it had a huge bath beside the bed and a monsoon shower (toilet seperate) there are curtains in between the bed and bath for more privacy if required.All the hotel information is on a Ipod Touch along with the Room Service Menu. I cannot fault all of this but I was dissapointed with the size of the room. I think it was really small and not much space to walk about unless you were in the 'bathing' area. Dont get me wrong all the little touches like the ipod,complimentary mini bar were great but i found the room really small and with all these touches you want to make the most of the room.
We also had a problem with the air con and even though the temp was at the lowest the room was really hot and we slept with the window open all night. We did mention it to the staff and they promised to come and have a look but they never did and seeing we were only there for one night and we'd arrived at 7pm we could really be bothered to chase them up as all we wanted to do was relax.
Our room was a stones throw from the restaurant which was really busy and you couldnt here much noise over the television but i was woken in the early hours by fellow guests walking past our room.
We ordered from the Room Service menu and the food was fantastic. I can recommend the cheesecake! We also had breakfast in bed and although the portions were small for £9.50 each it all tasted lovely.
Although The Montpellier Chapter is one lovely hotel I do think its overpriced and I wouldnt stay here again. All the touches are lovely but you definitely pay for them in the price of the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just back from the chapter and all in all a great time! We had an issue with the heat in our room and had to be moved on the first night, however worked out well getting a better room! Upgraded for the free mini bar, however would not say that it was worth it! Bar staff really friendly and food in the restaurant was tasty! U even get to choose your wine using an I pad, although there could be more specific info on the wine in the app! All in all a great getaway! Would defo go back!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have stayed for 3 nights at The Montpellier Chapter and it was an amazing experience.
We stayed in a Feature Room (Crescent side) which was very spacious and comfortable.
For the persons who are familiar with the Opposite House in Beijing the design of these rooms is exactly the same.

The Restaurant of the hotel is very good and quality of food is of very high standard.
The whole design concept of this hotel is really fantastic and a real joy for the eyes.
Both the architectural features and the furniture are very harmonious and give an immediate sense of cosiness.

One of the strong points of this hotel is without doubts the excellent and high standard of service given by all the members of the staff: their friendliness and efficiency is really out of the ordinary.
A big special thank you to Johnny and Hugh from the guest experience team for their professionalism and advice: they have really made the stay at the hotel a wonderful experience.
I would recommend anyone going to Cheltenham or visiting the Cotswolds to stay at this hotel, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Feature Rooms in the Crescent or Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My Girlfriend took me to this Hotel for my Birthday a couple of weeks ago. We've stayed in many hotels in many countries over the years and have become used to a fairly high standard, which often leaves us disappointed when photos on a website are a far cry from the result. This Hotel on the other Hand is quite the opposite, I cannot find a photo or description which truly lives up to the actual experience. From the exceptionally helpful and polite staff to the spacious and impreccably clean rooms there was no single detail overlooked or spoiled which could let this hotel down. We even thoroughly enjoyed the selection of music found on the rooms iPod, again every little detail looked as if it had been meticulously poured over.

We enjoyed 2 nights of sleep in absolute peace and quiet, no noise from adjacent rooms or hallway, no street noise (considering it's conveniently a stones throw from the town centre) and a breakfast which the chef had clearly prepared with the utmost of pride and care. Not to mention one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, my girlfriend loved the big bathtub as did I the private storm cloud that was the separate shower cubical. Lastly, but not least, upon arrival we enjoyed fabulous cocktails from a bar which clearly has a bit of a reputation as far as its atmosphere, gorgeous decor and cocktails are concerned, as many of the guests appeared to come to the hotel simply to enjoy the relaxed surroundings of the bar.

I really hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#14 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing