We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Almost a fantastic stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Really nice hotel, the décor and the rooms are first class. Staff are polite and friendly and are always happy to help. Beautiful location close the all amenities but without being noisy during the evenings.

Only two things marred our stay.

The hotel was full and we were advised to come early before 9am to avoid waiting for a table. We arrived at 8:30 and to be fair were seated immediately even though the restaurant looked full. But from there it took a over 10 mins to get a menu, then another 10 min to be offered tea and coffee and then when our breakfast did come out they go the order wrong 3 times! Our food had to be retuned over and over again as they keep forgetting one thing after another. It was such a mess we didn’t bother with it the next morning as just looking at the poor staff getting flustered was giving me a headache, I felt sorry for them.
I know they were really busy so I have a suggestion, its called a buffet. They had a continental buffet but all they have to do is add a few extra hot trays and their problems will be solved.

The other thing was the room. We had booked a delux room but looking at my friends room who was also a delux it was pretty obvious ours was significantly smaller. I believe we may have been given a lower class room but still charged for a deluxe. The other delux rooms I saw (3 in total) were all about twice the size of ours but then again they didn’t have hot water for the whole stay so swings and roundabouts I guess.
Overall a very nice hotel, but they desperately need to sort our weekend breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABZ_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked 6 standard rooms here for my hen do. The majority of our rooms were split across all 3 floors which wasn't really an issue but the rooms really differ in size considering the price is the same. We weren't disappointed though (except 1 of our party who banged her head as she was too tall for shower!) and the facilities and decor of the rooms was great. The staff were really friendly, and one particular guy went out of his way to provide us with drinks and snacks in the early hours of the morning on our return from a night out.

The lighting was quite poor in the bathroom for doing make up so we ended up using the hidden mirror in the desk. Breakfast was average but some of our party were told they were too late for breakfast, even though they arrived 30 minutes before it was due to finish.

We didn't use the restaurant for an evening meal but the menu looked delicious. The ipods in the room were a nice touch and meant we could hook up our own ipod for some tunes to get ready to! Also the fridge contents are complimentary, just take a bottle opener with you as ours never arrived when we requested it!

Apart from the few little niggles, overall it was a great stay, beautiful hotel, excellent location for seeing cheltenham and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a modern hotel located close to the centre of Cheltenham. The rooms are large, modern and well furnished. Good quality bed, everyone should be able to get a good nights sleep. Modern bathrooms, but lacking a bit of light for shaving. Plenty of storage space.

Very friendly moderns reception area, check in is by lap top. Pleasant staff but without much authority to deal with problems.

Excellent bar staff, 'London' quality knowledge of cocktails and spirits and friendly service. A destination bar.

Breakfast is a la carte, good quality food, a little on the slow side, but no queues, even at weekend rush hour. Some skimping on the quantity. Order a round of toast and you get one slice, with a small dab of butter. Breakfast finishes at 10:30 on weekends, which is a bit mean, but they have other plans for the restaurant during the day

Restaurant, good quality cooking to a menu set by an Executive chef. Lacks character. Not a destination reataurant.

The accountants who undoubtedly run the hotel do work their asset. Expect wedding parties to be dominating the public areas by the day, and the bar may be sold out for afternoon tea. The private dining facilities mean the restaurant cannot always accommodate casual booking by guests. Book in advance, of better still, book somewhere else in advance, there are so many good alternatives within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel does accept booking from hen and stag parties. Sound insulation is poor so it could be an issue. I was woken at 2am, but they did not keep me awake.

The spa is OK, but staffed by someone who doubles as a waitress. Not a destination spa.

This is very nearly, a very good hotel. If the hotel is quiet, or during race meetings, I think it could probably be highly recommended. However for a quiet weekend, the busy nature of the hotel probably reduced that to a recommendation with reservations. The bar is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RallyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel with our dog. She was warmly welcomed and given a dog bed and bowl. We were given a feature room on the ground floor in the modern block. A big spacious room with wooden flooring and a bath and shower in the same room as the bed, which was rather fun. It was very comfortable, but it was frustrating not to be able to let the dog out into the garden as there was only a huge window but no door. This hotel has a lovely conservatory where one can have lunch, snacks and tea and is open to non-residents. The location is wonderful - just a few minutes walk from Montpellier and the lovely shops and restaurants. Another plus was the free mini bar - it only had a couple of beers, water, coke and a bar of chocolate, but a nice touch and replenished every day. The only negative was the room temperature. It was not a very warm day outside, but we could not get the air con to go below 19 degrees, and it was far too hot at night. We were told that was the lowest temperature we could have, so I definitely wouldn't want that room (no 8) in mid summer.

Room Tip: If you bring your dog you get a feature room which is slightly more expensive. Remember to mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We selected The Montpellier Chapter as our base for a 4-day Cotswold exploration, and we are very happy we did so. We decided it would be a good idea to drive around with the car all day through the villages and return to Cheltenham at night to enjoy its restaurants.

We got a really nice offer for 3 nights incl breakfast and 40pounds to spend over dinner. We would have prefered the spa offer, but unfortunately spa was closed when we got there. However, we were happy to be announced upon our arrival that we had gotten an upgrade! The room was spacious and the bathroom lovely, with excellent little products (shampoo, conditioner etc)- only problem with the room was the fact that it didnt have view (was looking over the car park). Complimentary mini bar is also much appreciated, we dont find this in most hotels, and we are wondering why. Service was impecable, breakfast rich and dinner an absolute surprise.

Room Tip: Tip: get one of the rooms in 1st floor as we were told they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a second visit to this beautiful hotel. The staff are all friendly and helpful and find nothing too much trouble.
We were upgraded to a feature room which
was very big and comfortable. Although a previous visit in a premium room was good too. Loads of space. Fab bathroom, lovely fluffy towels, free mini bar, everything one could want. There is interesting art through the building. A wonderful conversion of a typical Cheltenham place.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

my sisiter, my wife and i were extremely pleased with our afternoon tea, the food was great and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing