We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service does not live up to the funky appearance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Service does not live up to the funky appearance”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The ultra modern appearance of this hotel is a matter of taste, but the service for our business meeting was repeatedly late and slow. The meeting room, billed on the trip advisor description as private dining was actually an airless below ground room with no natural light. They would appear to have spent more on iPads for the wine list than on training the staff. That said the room was comfortable, I just felt that a better all round experience will be available elsewhere for the same or less money.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worthing, sussex uk
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed overnight with my wife and overall enjoyed the experience. The room (115) was at the front of the hotel in the old refurbished part and was of a good size and generally good value for money. I particularly liked the i pod with all the hotel and area details on it and also the complimentary mini bar was a good touch. I'm not sure how well the feature bath in the middle of the room works but its certainly unusual. The bed was also really comfortable so no complaints there either. On the negative side the light in the room and the hotel in general is terrible and far too dim for me. My wife however thought it was modern and stylish and was happy so its individual preference i guess. I do however like to see what i'm doing when i shave and also a bit more light to adjust the room controls would have been good;
Breakfast was excellent and really good quality with local ingedients, bar service good and staff polite and helpful.
Would stay at the chapter house again in the future but maybe in another style of room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed at the montpellier chapter this month and couldnt of had a better evening. My friends and I enjoyed cocktails in the bar before our fabulous dinner in the restaurant. Great service, great wine and a room that I thoroughly enjoyed. My feature bath and rain forest shower topped off our perfect stay.

Room Tip: Loved my cresent feature suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00-dinkytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Beautiful property and location. Very professional staff and lunchtime meals were good but expensive - try the Bramble Hedgerow Mocktail - worth the visit alone. Very pleasant Conservatory for taking a pre lunch drink. Now making the mocktail at home!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Many good things about the hotel, but too many negatives happened over my 3 day stay.

Worst thing was that my hot shower went cold after 5 minutes at 705 AM. Unacceptable that any hotel should not have enough hot water for showers at peak time on a weekday. The apology I received when I mentioned it was that they would move me the next day if the problem repeated itself, which is basically saying we'll do nothing really unless you are inconvenienced a second time. One colleague mentioned he had the same issue that day.

There was also an issue with my bathroom fan coming on and off every 10 to 20 seconds. A staff member came to my room and said they would have maintenance in the next day. The problem was manageable as long as the bathroom lights were out and the door was closed, but for some strange reason as soon as you opened the door or turned on the bathroom lights, it started again. The next day it seemed at first like it was fixed, as the bathroom door was open and the fan was silent when I got back in the evening, but the same thing started up again. I just slept with the bathroom door closed.

The last issue was the breakfast service. Generally OK, but more than once over three days at least one of the 5 of us got something incomplete or just wrong or done wrong. For example, on day two I ordered eggs Benedict and the yolk of one was cooked solid. I left it to show the waitress, but either she didn't realize that yolks are supposed to run in eggs Benedict, or she didn't care, as there was no acknowledgement of anything wrong when I pointed it out.

As for good things, the location can't be beat and the decor was good. As well, the free minibar was a nice touch, and some of the staff was friendly and pleasant.

This could be a really great place, but the staff needs more/better training (one colleague commented that they seemed to hired for their looks rather than their abilities), and some basic maintenance issues need to be addressed.

Too bad!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashorcredit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed in room 8 on Saturday 12 th January. Although the room was a bit weird as the bath was in the centre of room & not a feature bath ( eg roll top or brass slipper ) everything else was really lovely. The free mini bar had proper milk/ chocolate & lager & if I had been staying there for work I would have been extra pleased.
I thought the staff were super professional & worked very hard to make it seamless .
Breakfast was stunning & a steal at just under £10.
it's a very well designed Hotel....it makes the best of the Architecture but is buzzy & modern.
The location is great & the parking underground is ideal.
Today I received a very stylish letter asking for my mailing details so that I can receive offers on other Chapter hotels.
Ordinarily I don't like chains but I would happily stay at a Chapter Hotel again
My only minute complaints would be that the coffee machine could have had slightly better instructions as I'm totally Luddite re new machines.
9.89 out of 10

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaAndCaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My friends and I dined and stayed at the hotel through recommendation. The food, service and ambience in the restaurant was outstanding. The bedrooms are superbly appointed with modern technology and even a complimentary minibar.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay the location of the hotel is perfect, all the staff where cheerful, friendly and helpful.
We also treated ourselves to a treatment in the spa, best facial I have ever had definitely great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing