We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yes it has the wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“yes it has the wow factor”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

If only all weekend retreats could be like this , at first you are in awe of the beautiful façade , inside it has been renovated in a contemporary style , then our room really had the wow factor complete with bath beside bed . All I had been hoping for . Even a nespresso machine .
Breakfast could have been a little more creative ,not a lot of choice on the non cooked buffet .
Service really friendly at front of house . Not your typical reception area , just a laptop perched on a table that resembled a piece of modern art . Very tasteful !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendini_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was the much loved Kandinsky Hotel. It went through what seemed several years of renovation before opening as the Montpellier Chapter. If you don't know Cheltenham, this is a perfectly located hotel in a town which has something for everyone. My room was very well appointed, if slightly cramped, lovely Ren shampoos, fresh milk for tea making (hooray), perfect towels and bed linen, great breakfast, great bar and areas for relaxing, incredibly helpful staff. Yes, it is expensive but you're worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

only spent 1 night in the Chapter but enjoyed it. We had a standard room with breakfast. We were on second floor. It is a small room but for short stay great, The bed is extremely comfy in fact its very much like the ones you get in USA. Bathroom lovely, bril shower. All mod cons. I believe it has been refurbished, well they have done a good job. Lovely bar come library area and outside terrace to relax. We had breakfast, what ever you wanted they did, smoked salmon, omelettes. Great service. We also booked in for Sunday lunch £17.95 for 3 courses it was fantastic, I had the sole. This hotel does not have the normal reception , when you walk in you are greeted by someone who takes your name looks on his laptop, gives you your room card and away you go. Staff are excellent. Free parking. Would recommend a short stay in the standard room but if I was there for more than 2 days I would book a bigger room. Thoroughly loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a fabulous little find tucked away in a picturesque corner of Cheltenham. From the outside you have a beautiful and imposing facade which looks very traditional, but on the inside everything is very informal and relaxed. The decor is cool, modern and clean (verging on Nordic) with lots of unobtrusive lounge music helping to set the mood. The rooms are a good size, the decor is pleasing on the eye and plenty of mod cons (each room comes with an i-pod and a selection of music to chillax to while you're soaking in the rather lovely bath). The hotel spa was nice without being exceptional. The spa staff were friendly and the treatments were good but the decor and environs didn't stand out. Where this hotel does excel is in the kitchen. I have eaten in the restaurant three times now and each time the food was delicious - especially if you sample the locally sourced beef. Good wine list too. I also really like the staff - the service throughout the hotel is always professional and attentive without ever being too in-your-face. I liked it so much, I went back. I'd highly recommend this place for a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Look out for special deals on their website - they seem to do a lot of special offers with half-pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Have stayed here twice now... Once on business and once on pleasure. I went back as I desperately want this place to live up to its potential as it has a lovely feel to it but it never seems to live up to the price tag.
The rooms are lovely and the property itself is a beautiful Georgian building but the service always seems a little erratic and the restaurant is hugely disappointing . To me nothing sums up this place more than the bacon sandwich they offer ... Hugely over priced and trying to be fancy by cutting the crusts off ?! ... Sometimes you can try too hard. Equally the spa was also average at best and the meeting room staff didn't seem to be used to dealing with agendas... Refreshments were late for every single break over a two day event. The worrying thing for me was that having raised some concerns on both visits ( and even writing to the manager after the first visit ) , staff just don't seem adept at dealing with anything that goes wrong
The library room bar is a beautiful space and a lovely part of the hotel to chill before dinner
It's a lovely place and a nice location but personally I would recommend you eat somewhere else

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel. As we arrived and walked though the restaurant a waiter immediately noticed we were carrying a champagne box and followed us to our room with an ice bucket without even asking. We stayed in a feature room which was really modern and stylishly decorated, loved the iPod preloaded with cool tunes and the rainfall shower was so powerful I could've drowned. We did not try any of the hotel amenities so cannot comment on them. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go away for a special weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here for an weekend with some friends and could not have been happier with our choice. We had a lovely room, with a few special touches that just added to our weekend.

The staff are incredibly helpful - all dressed in suits with converse trainers - and the food and drink, whilst pricey, was very good.

The location is great - a 10 minute walk into Cheltenham, which was perfect for a day of shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing