We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Away - Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Brill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend Away - Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely room - on the smaller side. Everything worked. Bar was lovely with a staff who engaged well with a nice cocktail list.
Dinner absolutely disappointing - menu was unappealing, would have been more suited for a gastropub. Given the place tries to be high tech with ipads and ipods everywhere you would think they could update the wine list easily. Asked for 3 different wines and got told that they did not have any. Would I stay again - if it was on a deal. Would I eat again - no. Expensive for what it turned out to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanyal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    222
    98
    52
    25
See reviews for
77
339
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I came to this hotel for one night recently.
The first thing that gave me a clue of what was to come was that I struggled to find the reception desk. Or should I say Reception Egg.
The staff all wore Converse All Star sneekers. There was art all around the place and, come the evening, there was "interesting" music piped through the public rooms.
I like all this, because it is non-corporate, but it just felt a bit too contrived.
It would have been better if they had dressed the open fire places, and been a little more welcoming upon arrival.
Nevertheless I liked the large TV in the room, the bathroom and the comfy bed.
It is easy to be critical. The fact is I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We knew we would be checking in late and leaving early so we went for the small rooms on the third floor and boy , was our room small ! Literally , we had to take it in turns to walk around the bed as there wasn't room for two . Nevertheless everything in the room worked ( tea/ coffee/bar/Tv) and was of a high standard . The bed was comfy and the unbelievably small shower room was in fact excellent with good task lighting over the mirror and a power shower . All was very clean . It was an example of just what can be achieved in a tiny space (but don't book third floor if you are claustrophobic !! ) Breakfast was one of the best cooked hotel breakfasts we've had and very reasonable ( about £9.00) with a good buffet and a chef cooking fresh .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentKritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to the Chapter for an anniversary dinner recently, the setting was ok - but quite sterile and not any atmostphere at all. The food was good, service was a bit slow but all in all there is better in Cheltenham - Coco Bistro/Daffodil/Lumiere etc are all much much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandSarahY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have been here less than 24 hours and already know that I won't stay here again. I have been completely underwhelmed by the service and facilities.
The Chapter prides itself on being cutting edge, modern and hi-tech but the Sky television wasn't working and the room service menu on the iPad wasn't up-to-date!
And as for customer service, I am yet to see any evidence of this. I don't think any of the staff have even cracked a smile.
Shocking really when you think what I'm paying to stay here each night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stres326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the weekend of our wedding. I was disappointed that, despite having informed them of the special nature of our visit at the time of booking, the hotel and staff took no steps make note of it whilst we were there. Perhaps i have watched to many films but I would have thought that a card, some flowers, a bottle of wine, glass of prosecco, glad tidings or something! But nothing and I couldn't help but feel a but sad when we left. For £200 per night in a feature roommate they could have made up feel a little extra welcome?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights here having booked through the internet. Once you realise the reception is a wooden spherical sculpture and the receptionist is the person in jeans and Converse with the iPad you get the idea this hotel is a bit cutting edge! Hub in the room to play your own music, free minibar, extensive library of contemporary hardbacks for guest use (although you would have to stay a week or be good at speedreading!) and art works all over the place. Everyone was really friendly and relaxed. This is a great template for hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHirsties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Property: The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing